November 22, 2014 | 1014 users online

Liquid - Pur Minerals - 4-in-1 Liquid 14-Hour Wear Foundation



image 0

rated 3.6(19 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.6
  • 52% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 on 10/13/2014 4:26:00 PM More reviews by LeilaXXX

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Green

I tested this in a store and was very impressed with the colour match (for my pale, neutral skin with very slight yellow/olive undertones) so I picked up a sample and took it home to apply over my full face. As usual I read some of the reviews here before trying it, so I knew what to expect, and it was as most people have said: this foundation is extremely difficult to blend. I religiously exfoliate, tone, moisturise, and prime before applying liquid foundation with a Beauty Blender sponge, and my skin is on the oily side - yet somehow this foundation managed to make my skin look dry, uneven, and pasty instead of glowing and healthy. Ironically, as cakey as this foundation is, the coverage is minimal - sheer to medium at best and I didn't find it to be buildable at all. And the worst part is, I'm in the middle of a mild breakout at the moment, and I think using this foundation may have just tipped me over the line into bad breakout territory. I would have been disappointed if I had spent a small amount on a bottle of this foundation, so had I actually spent full price on this, I would be beside myself at this point.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/22/2014 3:45:00 AM More reviews by Possum44

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

I finally found 'the one'! This foundation goes on beautifuly (I apply it with my Real Techniques Complexion Sponge). I have combo skin and this doesn't cling to dry patches or fade from oiliness and it doesn't cause breakouts (my skin is prone to breakouts, particularly from silicones and since this has a built in primer it made me nervous, but no problems).
I am in the shade Light and it's perfect for me. I have light skin with more pinky undertones, and I tend to wear the 2nd lightest shades and in most foundations I'm Ivory.
This claims to have a built in primer and will last 14 hrs. Well I have worn it longer then 14 hrs and it looks just as flawless taking it off as when I first put it on. It doesnt slide off my nose and chin like every other foundation have. Since it's very hot where I live to do touch up once with a powder once throughout the day but it never looks really greasy and I probably won't have to powder in cooler months. It's not matte or dewy, it's a good balance. It's a solid medium coverage I'd say.
I have sweated in 110 degree heat, exercised, and napped in this foundation and it doesn't budge. This is the first foundation I've worn that has lasted this long on my face and is exactly what I was looking for. It doesn't look cakey or streaky, it makes my skin look and stay flawless! I can honestly dump all my other foundations now. My old favorite was CoverGirl Advanced Radiance and since I went cruelty free I was looking for a repacement and this blew that one out of the water! The covergirl looked good at first but didn't last on me and this one is 100 x better. It was pricey imo and honestly the most I ever paid for one makeup item but it's so worth it as I never have to try another foundation again! Which is good cause I was trying a lot of them and always disappointed. This exceded my expectations and I highly recommend it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 9/5/2014 4:38:00 PM More reviews by timothybcat

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I tried really hard to work with this, but it seems to go out of its way to be difficult. First of all, I'm about NW15/MUFE118, and the color "Light" is just a teeny bit too dark. I could deal with that, except it's very peachy-pink.

The formula reminds me of the original Colorstay, where you have to blend quickly and work on one small part of your face at a time. And you must BLEND, my friends. I have to blend this much more than any other foundation I've ever used. It desperately wants to stay streaky, and that's when I apply it with my fingers or the Real Techniques blender sponge. Pray, tell me: how in the world does one get "brush" strokes from skin or sponge? WTH?

The coverage is not much, I'd even go so far as to say sheer. And yes, you can build it, but be prepared to work. Applying foundation usually takes me two minutes, but this one takes at least 20 minutes to 1) Get a decent amount of coverage, while 2) not streaking or pooling in my pores.

The only way I could get this to not look cakey or streaky AND provide a decent amount of coverage is with the blending sponge and a primer (Hourglass Veil, FYI). Does it last? Yes, I have to say it stays pretty steady for six to 8 hours on my oily skin even in humidity. the other thing I like is that it has more of a satin rather than matte finish. But I can take Rimmel Lasting Finish, slap it on in ten seconds and get better coverage, finish, and texture than this. No foundation is worth this amount of trouble.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/24/2014 8:57:00 PM More reviews by Giron0922

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Got this foundation because if the longevity of it and I do like it. It's a little thick and not the easiest to spread but it prefer to use it in a very sheer way. The coverage is full coverage so I like to just use it in the tiniest amount, gives me medium coverage all day. The color range is very strange I recommend getting matched because the color I got, light tan is actually darker than it looks and is also lighter than the "lighter" colors. It's a bit pricy so idk if I would buy again, plus I think it will last me forever!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/10/2014 12:02:00 PM More reviews by allthecolours

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Hazel

I got this for about £24 in Marks & Spencer (the only place that sells Pur minerals in the UK). I purchased in the shade Light Tan and am between an NC20-NC25 for reference. It is yellow based which I liked, as I am neutral leaning more towards the yellow than pink side. I have normal-dry, dehydrated skin. After wearing this foundation, I would personally recommend it for dry-combination skintypes rather than oily.

The foundation itself is thick in consistency, which I wasn't used to as I usually wear something like MAC Face&Body which is very thin. However, it is easy to blend either with the fingers or a brush into the skin. It doesn't emphasize dryness on my face at all and leaves a satin finish. In terms of coverage, I would say it is light-medium depending on how much you build it up.

It claims to last 14 hours - personally I never wear foundation for this length of time but it lasts perfectly fine for at least 9 hours I've tested out. I don't set with powder as I find I don't have to! It really does last well and even in warm weather I haven't found my skin turning shiny.

I like the packaging as it has a pump which makes it more hygienic and convineant. I haven't ha an issue with it breaking out my sensitive skin.

On the whole, I would say this foundation is a nice one but nothing extra ordinary. I wish it was cheaper as the price tag is steep. I like it for every day wear.





























.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/8/2014 12:38:00 AM More reviews by TiaBerry

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

This is definitely my HG foundation.

*Pros*
- Really DOES last 14 hours. I wore this in a SAUNA and it did not smudge.
- You really DON'T need a primer, it goes on very smoothly
- It gives a nice dewy , glowy finish.
- Comes in a big glass jar
- No scent!
- Does not break out my SUPER sensitive skin :)

*Cons*
Does not have a wide range of shades. I had to get one that is slightly darker, because the lightest was too light.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/10/2014 4:02:00 AM More reviews by Ferrishyn

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I like Pur a lot and their foundations are awesome. I prefer this over the powder foundation I first was introduced to. This reminds me a lot of Revlon Colorstay, without the chemicals. It really does last over 14 hours like it says and doesn't look cakey or heavy.

It's 4 in 1, so no primer needed, or concealer, or setting powder. It doesn't need anything with it. It's easy to blend and it medium to full coverage. I had trouble with the coloring because when I went to Ulta the sales rep for Pur matched me to light, and I am not light. It's too yellow on me. I am NW20 and when I picked this up on my own, I found I was better suited to Blush Medium, which is not medium. It's light with cool tones. Just like BE's foundation in Fairly Medium, cool toned light. No idea why they call them medium, its confusing and it annoys me, but I digress.

Good coverage, much more than the powder one and long staying power without fading or transferring. Kinda pricey though, so I don't think I will repurchase. It's just like Revlon.

This foundation dries to a matte finish and runs about $36.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/27/2013 8:23:00 PM More reviews by ping44

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I liked this pretty well. It does give the skin a nice glow which I wasn't expecting for a long wear foundation. I would recommend for normal to dry skin. It does last and keep me looking fresh faced. Would definitely repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 10/14/2013 12:36:00 AM More reviews by hpunkinway

Age: 36-43 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

This foundation really does what it claims to do: last 14 hours. It's uncanny how it lasts, and I like that as I work VERY long days during the week, without any time for touch-ups. I just want to stay professional-looking.
The texture is a bit thick, the coverage is heavy, so use a light hand. It doesn't move much after it is applied. The end result is slightly tacky.
The SPF is not sufficient, so I would advise using a higher SPF sunscreen underneath. I use anything by Paula's Choice.
I bought two bottles of this, as I was initially very impressed, but I am going to seek out lighter options when I finish the product.
Verdict: It isn't bad. It looks far more natural than Estee Lauder Doublewear. As I am 45 now, however, I am going to seek out lighter options after I finish these, as a lighter touch is more flattering to our skin as we get older. Having said that, this stuff really adheres like glue, and I love that. It still looks pretty fresh on my skin after a 12-hour plus day, just a little too "masky" if that makes sense.
I don't believe that the company tests on animals, so that is another consideration. (That is why I will not use Estee Lauder, or many other top brands anymore.)

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 9/26/2013 11:56:00 AM More reviews by Lms526

Age: 36-43 Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Cool Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Grey

I've been using this for about five days now. I have held off on submitted a review, because I wasn't sure what I thought of this foundation. I've decided that its an okay foundation. I don't hate it, but I don't love it either. There are some things I really like about it, but others...not so much.

I purchased this after thinking I was allergic to Makeup Forever Mat Velvet. I read a lot of positive reviews online, and decided to give it a shot. The color samples on the ulta website were not really helpful in choosing a color. So I did a Google search and was able to find a Pur Minerals Color Selection Chart. According to the chart, Blush Medium is the shade for people with medium skin and reddish undertones. So that is the one I purchased. I also asked someone at Ulta about the coverage and if it was good for someone with sensitive skin. I've never used a mineral foundation before. My skin is annoyingly sensitive, so that did concern me some. She told me it was full-coverage and that it was great for people with sensitive skin. It cost $36, which is a bit of a splurge, but is a price point I'm comfortable with.

First, the positives...I really like the pump on this foundation. It was easy to use and kept things neat and clean. It gave you just the right amount of foundation without wasting product. I also had no problems whatsoever with it clogging up. I also thought the Blush medium was a pretty good match for my skin. I think it was just a touch too light, but it wasn't that noticeable. I also like that this didn't irritate my extremely sensitive skin.This makeup is definitely buildable. Now, for the negatives. First, I found this foundation somewhat difficult to work with. It wasn't easy to apply evenly and it was hard to blend. After I applied it and let it set, I looked in the mirror and would see patches of bare skin on my face. The texture of this makeup is also very strange. It feels almost like glue. It's a bit on the thick side and kind of sticky. The directions on the package say to apply with your fingers to moisturized skin. I usually apply my foundation with my fingers anyway. But I found applying this foundation somewhat frustrating. I didn't try it with a brush, but I think that would have been worse.

The coverage was okay. Not exactly what I was looking for. Because of the flaws on my face ( alot of redness and small bumps) I prefer a medium to full coverage foundation. I would say the coverage for this makeup is light and buildable to medium. Even after building it up, it is NOT full coverage. It did a good job of covering up the redness. But it didn't make my face look smooth and flawless. You could still see the bumps under the makeup. It did smooth them out some, but not enough for my liking. As far as the staying power goes, it was good, but not great. Even though this foundation claims to give you 14 hours of wear, it didn't last anywhere near that long for me. Even with a primer, I was still only able to get 7-8 hours of decent wear. After that, it starts flaking off and fading away.

When you first apply it, this makeup feels very thick and heavy on your face. Once it sets, you can't even feel it on your face, but doesn't look that great while it's setting. I wouldn't feel comfortable wearing this foundation without giving it time to set. Once it dries, this foundation has a very powdery texture. I don't like foundation that is overly matte, but this one I felt wasn't quite matte enough. Especially given the fact that my face is one big oil slick.

Lastly, I noticed that this foundation has a tendancy to fade and flake as the day went on. Once it started flaking, it started looking bad really quickly. It would flake off in big patches.After about the 87-8 hour mark, I would have more bare patches on my face than makeup.

Quite honestly, I don't understand all the positive reviews. In my opinion, this foundation doesn't warrent them. In the end, I decided that the negatives outweighed the positives. I ended up returning this to Ulta. I've since discovered that I'm NOT allergic to the Mat Velvet, so I think I am going to repurchase that .

Is this review helpful? Yes No