December 22, 2014 | 1560 users online

Eyeliner - LUSH - Lush Independent black eyeliner



image 0

rated 3.1(8 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.1
  • 62% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 9/29/2013 5:38:00 PM More reviews by moniikat

Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I have yet to use the product, but in the review by Sunbaby, it is mentioned that the use of talc is unnecessary and harmful. I couldn't see why lush would EVER use a chemical like that so i did some research (as sunbaby should have). It is listed as a NATURAL ingredient on their website and has this to say:

"There have been various worries about use of talc in cosmetic products. These have all been thoroughly researched and there is no evidence to support concerns. The only cautionary measure talc requires is the same one that applies to any fine powder: when presented in a loose powder form, inhaling large amounts (more than during typical cosmetic use) could be harmful to lungs."

After some further research, Talc is harmless since we process things differently this day and age!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 7/19/2013 10:12:00 AM More reviews by LadyMedb

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Other, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

I love this eyeliner. I bought it in a pinch when I ran out of eyeliner while on vacation, and needed to buy from a cruelty-free brand, but it's now the eyeliner I reach for most. The thing I love about it is that the formula and brush allows for an easy and controlled application (even on my somewhat oily and naturally loose eyelid skin), and the formula stays put and doesn't flake off! It's not quite a true jet black (it's more of a super-dark charcoal color, but no one can see that unless he or she compares it to a jet black liner right next to it), which is the only reason I'm giving it a 4 and not a 5, but the ease of application more than makes up for this. I've been wearing liquid eyeliner regularly for nearly 15 years and I've tried practically every formulation under the sun, and this is has given me pretty much the least grief of all of them.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/23/2013 1:38:00 PM More reviews by Lulu2387

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Dark, Cool Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium Eyes: Black

My first thought if this product when I tried it out in the store was, 1. It was not a true black or jet black color, 2. It was a bit too dry when it did dry down & a bit flaky. Now that was my thought when I tested the product out on my hand ... I was in need of an everyday liner because i was not satisfied with the Buxom Lashliner ( gave me raccoon eyes ). I had purchased the Makeup Forever Aqua Black, which is amazing but only use it for special occasions. Anywho went back to lush, early February & they still had the buy one get one sale going on so I decided to buy the lush independent liner along with passionate lipstick. I decided to get it only because I still had some money left on my lush giftcard .. Long story short, I love this eyeliner! It's an off black kind of blackish greyish color. It's matte, very fast drying, long wearing, doesn't flake as I thought it would have. Easy to remove, not irritating to the eyes, easy to apply & can easily create a winged line. It looks so pretty when I finish my eyes with lush Eyes Right Mascara. Glad I bought this despite my initial thought of this product. The Emotional Brilliance Line is overlooked, great products & color pay off & longevity is better than one would have expected.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/17/2013 6:08:00 PM More reviews by Mentalelley

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

[note: read the reviews prior to mine first]

I have no idea what the other reviews are talking about. This eyeliner is fantastic. I've been wearing it for about 4 hours now and yes there is some flaking but very minimal. Note that I have Asian eyes which means all eye makeup products usually hate me.

The color is very very black and I'm assuming the other reviewer just got a bad batch. My applicator is fine and if anything I think it has too much product on the brush. I line both of my eyes without having to re-dip, I tight-line and wing it out plus connect the lines so I'm not using it sparingly here. I can see the brush being hard to use for beginners but honestly I don't have a problem with it.

I've experience no smudging whatsoever and I have Asian eyes which are massively prone to smudging since every time I blink they close onto themselves.

Lush's liner doesn't even claim to be waterproof so that's a pretty odd point the reviewer below me would bring up. But anyhow, I have very teary eyes and so far its totally fine, more flaking on the eye that tears up and no flaking at all on the one that doesn't. I don't know a single eyeliner out there that holds up after you rub your eyes. Not even MAC's liquidlast eyeliner, which flakes like mad on me (and no I'm not rubbing my eyes) and is also very uncomfortable to wear.

I was surprised to find this washes off clean, I was expecting there to be lots of residue left but had no problem at all just using Cetaphil cleanser and water. I never use makeup remover so this is important for me.

Also note that cosmetic talc is safe so people calm down. Lush actually lists their ingredients unlike other cosmetic companies. I bet you'd all be surprised by the ingredients from other companies.

Overall I think this product is great and I'll definitely repurchase.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 1/15/2013 1:51:00 PM More reviews by Sunbaby

Age: 25-29 Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I'm a fan of Lush's products in general, but the eyeliner misses the mark. The bottle is cute - it reminds me of an inky eyedropper. Unfortunately, that's where the positives end. My biggest gripe is with the applicator itself - if you like a very thin line I suppose it could work, but otherwise the the point is too fine. It also doesn't pick up enough pigment so there isn't enough liquid to line my eye in one go. I prefer a thicker line so I apply it with an eyeliner brush (Alima #31). The eyeliner isn't waterproof and is susceptible to smudging and flaking (don't rub your eyes!). Another thing about the eyeliner is the added talc. I don't understand why Lush continues to use it in their products when there are other, safer alternatives.
Edit: In response to the reviewer above me, my experiences with the product are just that - my own. Please don't assume I have a "bad batch" or that I must be a beginner (far from it). And regarding talc, it is possible to create good-to-excellent cosmetic products without it.
Edited again!: Since the talc subject was brought up again, I have one final thought: I still don't like this eyeliner and talc is something I try my best to avoid. Who cares? Makeup is just makeup. There's no deeper meaning here. :)

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 1/8/2013 3:29:00 PM More reviews by JealousyKILL

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I'm a bit of a liquid liner addict, I've spent so much money just trying to find something good, my sister bought me a bunch of lush products for christmas, and the eyeliner was one of them.
Sadly, it just doesn't work for me, maybe my skin is weird but it crusts off and just doesn't last.
Maybe I'm spoiled from waterproof liner but I won't be using the rest of this, what I shame, I hate wasting.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 11/30/2012 4:33:00 AM More reviews by girlraven

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse Eyes: Brown

Not pigmented and black enough, packaging it at least better than the mascara which arrived to me from lush BROKEN!. Didnt care for this product at all

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 8/17/2012 9:11:00 AM More reviews by savethemarianne

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

As part of Lush's new make up range, they have this black liquid eyeliner which I was super keen to try. Firstly, the bottle is adorable, it looks like a mini pipette/alice in wonderland potion bottle with a tag on (don't drink it!) For an eyeliner, there's quite a lot of product. Inside the twisty pipette cap is a little liner brush which is actually very good. I normally use a felt tip pen style as I've struggled with liner brushes in the past, but I had zero problems using this fine brush. What I would recommend is that when you pull the cap out, just wipe the excess off around the sides like you would with nail polish. Otherwise I think you would end up with a bit too much. The black (and their gold) are the fast drying more hard staying formulas. When I tried it in the shop on the back of my hand, with a dry finger rubbing at it hard for agggeesss, it doesn't budge at all. It's not waterproof though, and it will rub off with water so it will survive the day, but perhaps not a gym session!
The formula is very liquidy but dries in good time once applied.

My only two cons are:
Bit pricey, it's 14.50 for a liquid eyeliner
The black is black, but not like black black. The finish is a bit matte, and to me its like black with a hint of gunmetal grey as a result. Basically, I'm fine with that, but if you want a true black black, you might be disappointed.

However, overall personally I loved it and would definitely repurchase!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No