Hawaiian Tropic Silk Hydration Broad Spectrum SPF 30

4.3

19 reviews

89% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Avobenzone, Octocrylene, Oxybenzone Inactive Ingredients: Water, Ethylhexyl Benzoate, Glycerin, VP/Eicosene Copolymer, Cetearly Alcohol, Diisopropyl Adipate, Isopropyl Myristate, Isopropyl Palmitate, Penethyl Benzoate, Polymethylsisequioxane, Polyethylene, Sodium Polyacrylate, Caprylyl Glycol, Dimethicone, Coco-Glucoside, Ceteth 10 Phosphate, Dicetyl Phosphate, Xanthan Gum, Disodium EDTA, Paraffin, Silk Amino Acids, Shea Butter, Mango Seed Butter, Panthenol, Sodium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Tocopherol Aceate, Aloe, Papaya Extract, Mango Extract, Passionfruit Extract, Plumeria Extract, Guava Extract, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, May Contain: Mica, Bismuth Oxychloride, Iron Oxides


on 7/24/2015 3:00:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The good: Smells nice, and not too strong unlike some of their products like Island Sport. My nose is sensitive to strong fragrance. Certainly feels moisturizing on the skin. I barely started using sunscreen everyday and never wore any kind of lotion on my body before and it made my hands feel soft and quite nice. My skin wasn't horrible before, though. It just felt like boring skin; neither soft nor rough. More like a true lotion than a pure sunscreen. You get a lot for your money. 8 whole ounces for like 6 or 7 bucks! Usually daily use sunscreens are like 10 dollars and up for 3-5 ounces!

The bad: The finish is on the shiny side, but I wouldn't say it's greasy. It has shea butter and mango butter, which are good but contain Vitamin A in them. Vitamin A or any type of retinol or retinyl palmitate ingredients are best left at night because they are phototoxic (makes your skin more sensitive to the sun). This makes me really sad because I really loved it for daily use. All the other sunscreens smell or feel to gross for daily use. I have heard that it might stain certain clothing. Might be the silk ribbons. Also fragrance is not good for the skin either (I believe it is irritating to the skin) but it is at the very bottom of the list. If it wasn't for the vitamin A in it, I would compromise and still use this on my body.



Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is my HG sunscreen. It leaves no white cast, it has the texture of a body moisturizer, and it leaves a mild, pleasant scent. It does look a bit greasy immediately after application, but it is rapidly absorbed. I wouldn't recommend it to someone who is fragrance sensitive.


on 10/20/2014 10:05:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I purchased a bottle of this last Summer whle in Florida. I used on face and body and had no break outs, no burning. When returning home, later ran out of facial moisturizer so used this and have been using ever since. I'm just about finished with it but use as my daily moisturizer. It smells good, not greasy, no breakouts, and cheap! I'm debating on getting another bottle but you know how we love to try different things, lol
I probably will get another bottle just to have on hand. Great with a spf of 30 for running my weekend errands or working outside in the yard. Makeup goes on smoothly over it. I highly recommend to use as a daily lotion and splurge on other things such as serum.


on 8/29/2014 12:04:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I enjoy the coconut scent of Hawaiian tropic spf's for body.
I have not found any that are ok to use on my face. I only use their products for my body as they tend to make my face extremely greasy and my makeup does not sit well on top. It also causes my makeup to melt away very qucikly.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/24/2014 7:26:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I use this lotion when I know I will be exposing skin to the sun and need to use SPF in my lotion. The sun in the inland northwest is brutal leaving me with a very dark tan, so I needed something. This lotion is very silky and leaves my skin soft and has a pleasant smell. definitely recommend it


on 7/16/2014 10:43:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Blue

I'm so happy I decided to try out this product! I'm 21 years old and have very pale skin. I want to keep my skin looking young and youthful for as long as I can, so I knew that I would have to incorporate sunscreen into my daily routine like I have with moisturizers. I wanted something that wasn't greasy and didn't have the typical sunscreen-y smell that I found to be super overpowering.

This definitely meets those requirements. It has such a nice pleasant smell that is not overpowering at all, it actually fades away after awhile. It's super easy to rub in and I haven't seen a whitecast yet. No greasy feeling either.

For reference, I don't use this on my face and haven't tried it there yet. I use Kiss My Face for Face + Neck spf 30 sunscreen which so far is working out great. I want my sunscreens to last for awhile so I decided to separate my facial sunscreen from my body sunscreen.

But anyways, this sunscreen is definitely worth checking out. I'll definitely keep repurchasing it.

UPDATE 1-18-15: I have stopped using this within the last few months but not because the product stopped working for me. I have sensitive skin so I want to avoid any lotion/sunscreen/etc that has any fragrance in it so that it doesn't irritate it. I would still recommend this for someone with normal skin, but I personally like to avoid all products with fragrance in them.

UPDATE 7-5-15: I went to the beach yesterday to celebrate the Fourth of July and decided to use this while at the beach. I can happily say that it provides really great sun protection. I applied sunscreen to my legs and arms and they appear to be the same color as they were before I went to the beach. I didn't apply it to my feet and my feet are now sunburned. It was a very sunny day at the beach as well. So because of how great the sun protection is I am going to continue using this, but will still be on the lookout for a fragrance-free and less shiny sunscreen.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

PROS: Wonderfully moisturizing without greasiness! SPF 30. Scent is not overpowering (tropical, coconut scent). Makeup wears well on this and doesn't ball up on top of it.


CONS: If I wear it for more than 3 days in a row, I will get clogged pores from it, so I have to just save it for days I'm going to be in the sun a lot. (I am prone to clogging.)


ALTERNATES: Trader Joe's Enrich SPF 15 is moisturizing without ANY greasiness and I use it on the days I won't be out in the sun a lot.


on 6/7/2014 11:15:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

Pros:
Inexpensive. Under $10.00 cdn
Feels like body lotion
Tropical smell
Travel size is available and fits in purse
Photostable
Broad Spectrum UVA and UVB protection

Cons:
It is fragranced and it might not be appealing to everyone.

I have repurchased the large size and I refill the small travel size for purse.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I looooooooove this product! Being super fair, and prone to horrific, painful sunburns, I decided to be more proactive and take better care of my skin. When I was looking for a lotion with sunscreen, I didn't want it to be greasy, and I didn't want it to smell like sunscreen. This fits both of those requirements! It absorbs quickly, it smells delicious (I actually got complimented on the smell today), and I like wearing it, which makes me more likely to remember to apply it before I leave the house. No longer do I burn my arms, shoulders, and neck area when I'm out driving or running errands. And it's reasonably priced, available everywhere, and I got the huge size on sale at walgreens! I can't recommend this enough!


on 4/23/2014 9:34:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

AWESOME sunscreen. And I use a LOT of sunscreen! So I'm basically an expert!

I'm fair, burn very easily, I need suncreen even when it's overcast and theres no sun. I've worked several summer jobs requiring me to be outside all day during the summer. I really hate sunscreens that are thick to apply, leave a layer of slime on your skin and make you chalky white. Which is basically every single other sunscreen... but this one.

It has the color and consistency of a body lotion, it sinks right into your skin instead of lying on top of it, and no white. So, that's it. I just sold it right there! What could be easier! No more having to blend and blend and blend. No more having to wash your hands right away after applying so you dont get white over EVERYTHING. The other Hawaiian Tropic product that comes in similar packaging is no good, leaving the film and all. So be careful and look for the "Silk Hydration" and the "ribbons".

The only downside I would give this HG product is has a very specific scent, which is kind of fruity, but not unpleasant, and it will remind you of memories of summertime all year round!

If I could buy this by the crateful I would! You should at least go get the tester size which is available pretty much everywhere. And you're welcome.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Hawaiian Tropic Products

Back to Top