Paula's Choice Skin Perfecting 1% BHA Lotion Exfoliant [NEW FORMULA]

3.7

19 reviews

68% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

2012 FORMULA: Water, Cetyl Alcohol (thickener/emollient), Butylene Glycol (water-binding agent), PPG-14 Butyl Ether (thickener), Salicylic Acid (beta hydroxy acid/exfoliant), Allantoin, Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Extract (anti-irritants), Alteromonas Ferment Extract (water-binding agent), Dimethicone, Dimethiconol (silicone slip agents), Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride (skin-repairing ingredient/emollient), Glycerin (skin-repairing ingredient), Cucumis Sativus (Cucumber) Fruit Extract (antioxidant), PEG-40 Stearate, Sorbitan Stearate (thickeners), PVM/MA Decadiene Crosspolymer (film-forming agent), Neopentyl Glycol Diheptanoate (skin-conditioning agent), Polyacrylate-13 (film-forming agent), Polyisobutene (thickener), Polysorbate 20 (emulsifier), Sodium Hydroxide (pH adjuster), Benzoic Acid, Dehydroacetic Acid, Phenoxyethanol (preservatives) ***** ORIGINAL FORMULA: Water, Cetyl Alcohol (thickener/emollient), Butylene Glycol (water-binding agent), Salicylic Acid (beta hydroxy acid/exfoliant), Allantoin, Bisabolol (anti-irritants), Cyclopentasiloxane, Cyclohexasiloxane, Dimethicone, Dimethiconol (silicone slip agents), PVM/MA Decadiene Crosspolymer (film-forming agent), Sorbitan Stearate, PEG-40 Stearate, PPG-14 Butyl Ether (thickeners), Propylene Glycol (slip agent), Laureth-7 (emulsifier), Polyacrylamide (water-binding/film-forming agent), C13-14 Isoparaffin (thickener), Sodium Hydroxide (pH balancer), Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Diazolidinyl Urea (preservatives).


on 4/27/2015 8:36:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I ordered a couple samples of this, and didn't even want to open the second one after I tried the first, entirely because the smell was so off-putting. It smells like lotion that's gone bad, and took a while to fade after I'd put it on. Wanted to like this but will not be ordering a full-size solely because of the smell.



on 4/14/2015 4:08:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is a tentative review because I've only been using this stuff for a week or so, and I've just been ordering the samples. They last a bit longer that I thought they would, which was a pleasant surprise. I use it nightly after I wash my face with PC's Hydralight Cleanser, then I wait about five minutes, and then I moisturize. My first thought was, holy balls, sudden breakout on the ride side of my jaw. But this is exactly what I wanted to happen- the BHA is forcing my stupid closed comedones to the surface. Faster cell turnover, all that jazz. It wouldn't look so bad if I hadn't fiercely tried to pop a few when they weren't ready to be popped. Word to the wise- don't try to pop a closed comedone. It just turns really red and gets worse. It just doesn't work. Not to mention I had a lot of closed comedones on only the right side of my jaw, so I was expecting this to happen. Which is probably why I'm not experiencing breakouts anywhere else. So hopefully once all my comedones have been treated, my jaw will look better. I'm very pleased to say that this stuff doesn't dry out my face, nor does it irritate my skin. I can tell that my skin is getting smoother and the pores on my cheeks are getting smaller. And the smell is nice. Like cucumbers or something.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/9/2015 3:52:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

Used for 3 weeks. Have Rosacea and sensitive skin. I can not handle 2% liquid. It breaks me out, even on my neck where i am less less sensitive.
I use this twice a week. After cleansing my face i use a pump on my face and around my eye lids and half pump on my neck. Leave on for 30 mins and rinse off.
First week i had mild pimples coming up but it went away the next day. Subsequently it was smooth sailing. Skin Texture is getting better. I am hopeful to have clear smooth skin in another month's time.
Update 09/06/15. I have stopped using for 1 month. My skin would feel dry/dehydrated the next day. Trying to recover my skin moisture barrier and will reintroduce in small quantities.
Update 26/06/15. Have discontinued use totally. Instead use a facecloth occasionally to exfoliate. Some small bumps have disappeared. Maybe Bha does not agree with my sensitive skin afterall.


on 11/25/2014 9:03:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

My skin deals well with both BHAs and AHAs but I try to keep the concentrations of the products I use on the low side, so that I don't aggravate my skin which can sting if I overdo it - especially in the exfoliating department. The 1% lotion formula of this product suits me really well and leaves me with smooth, clear skin. Only my stubborn craters on the chin need more serious concentrations.


on 9/30/2014 8:42:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Ooh, I'm starting to love this! I have lots of clogged pores on my forehead and cheeks. And mild-moderate inflamed pimples on my cheeks. I'm a week into using this product, and my clogged pores and pimples are clearing TREMENDOUSLY! I cannot believe how clear my skin looks. It's only been a week in so my skin is far from perfect, but it's definitely an improvement. I have had NO LARGE INFLAMED PIMPLES and for someone who had at least one inflamed pimple on a cheek at any given point of time, that is AMAZING!

For full disclosure, I've also been taking 30mg Now Foods L-Optizinc with Copper for my inflamed pimples, and I suspect that played a part in the reduction of the inflamed pimples... However, the rapid drop in the number of pimples only started with the use of the BHA. Two days ago, I had a baby pimple forming. I doubled-up on the BHA that night (just put a lot more than usual) and in the morning it was GONE! Omg!! Also, my clogged pores on my forehead (where there is no inflamed acne) started improving as well. And as an extra bonus, I had one cyst from a month ago that was no longer inflamed but still had gunk in it, so it was a red PIH bump on the skin. This product flattened the bump in TWO DAYS! So I'm 100% sure that it's this product which is making a difference. For reference, I use it every morning, after my Hada Labo SHA lotion, before applying moisturizer and sunscreen. And also every other evening (alternating with tretinoin 0.025%).

Will update if necessary, but I suspect nothing bad will happen. This product is literally amazing o m f g!!!!!!!! I'm going to try ordering BHAs at a stronger strength to see if that helps my skin even more!


on 9/26/2014 3:52:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I have been using this product for about 3 weeks since ordering a sample and I am over the moon with the results. I have been struggling with hormonal acne (mostly on my chin) for the past few years since coming off the pill and have tried many, many products - skincare and makeup - to try and get back flawless skin. Within just a few days this had already cleared the five blemishes I had on my chin and since then no more have appeared and I have just been through that time of the month. Wow! I have tried salicylic acid as a spot treatment before, i.e. Clean & Clear as and when pimple appears, but without success. The trick with this appears to be that it is preventative and you keep it on, i.e. unlike cleansers that wash off. I have extremely sensitive skin and seem to break out with absolutely anything plus have skin allergies to certain plastics and metals, but so far so good with this.

I know I need to use SPF with this AHA but am loathe to use a moisturiser as they always break me out so I've been using a BB cream instead with an SPF 25 (Boots 17 BB cream - not a brand I'd normally go for but it's had amazing reviews and doesn't break me out). I have also just moved to a mineral based liquid foundation (Young Blood). Mineral powders cause my dry skin to get itchy and red, but the liquid one seems fine. I previously used Estee Lauder Double Wear Light foundation and stay-in-place concealer but when I spilled some on my sink and had to really scrub to get it off, it made me think about how much it must be suffocating my skin! I have some samples of PC moisturisers with SPF which I might try (when I'm brave enough) to see if I can tolerate them.

My main concern now is trying to get rid of the red hyperpigmentation marks from old acne. I have just started using a 10% AHA to help with this (only once a week as my skin finds anymore than that too much) and it seems to be helping.

Fingers crossed the good results continue. I will update if any change.


on 8/19/2014 1:28:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I purchased several products from Paul's Choice Skin Recovery line. While I think the majority of products from that line aren't special and have drug store equivalents that are as good if not better, the 1% BHA lotion stands out. I have dry to combination skin that is sensitive, and prone to both eczema and acne. I've had to learn to just live with the acne as most products irritate my skin. I can't use benzoyl peroxide at all, and salicylic tends to be hit or miss. Sometimes I do fine with salicylic acid and other times I don't. I like that this is a creamy lotion, which may help buffer the salicylic acid. I also like that this in a lower concentration that a lot of over the counter salicylic acid products. The scent leaves something to be desired, it does have a weird cucumber smell, and a bit of a faint chemical smell. I would repurchase this as there is no other product like it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/30/2014 2:08:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I HAD THE SAMPLE AND I THINK THIS WAS REFORMULATED.
I found this to be good for dry skin but it is not overly moisturizing I think it would especially help someone with dry skin and acne. Mine oddly had an underwhelming rose scent which is okay because I like rose fragrances. I did not find the smell irritating.


on 2/1/2014 3:53:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

It's hard for me to rate this product because it seems my skin does not want exfoliants, at least regularly. Using this or even a mild AHA once a week leaves my skin irritated. I know it's not bad products, though; it's my sensitive skin. I have rosacea, eczema, and seborrheic dermatitis, so BHA is supposed to be better for me than AHA. I use this for exfoliation only when my skin is getting flakey. Any more often and my skin gets irritated. So, my dilemma of how to assess the product. I'm giving a four because I wish I could use more often, but I think it's a good product.


on 9/2/2013 1:34:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This lotion has reduced my pimples dramatically.............although my face is still not clear but i can see huge improvement with this...pimples are not as big and red and heals faster....people are telling me that my face is looking better...... i'm suprised that so many people have problems with the smells...it's just cucumber and it disappeared after a short while.....let's say i've put things on my face that smells 20 times worst than this which didn't give any improvement at all at the end....i guess it's just depends on how desperate you are...........

UPDATE: Took off one lippie because after finishing one bottle, my face has turned really sensitive with more bumps and swollen angry cystic acne and itchiness........i duno whether it's due to weather change or other reasons......I had to stop and it has been three weeks without it and my face is much better.....a cosmetician from shoppers told me my skin might be too thin for this kinda acid exfoliation or i just somehow become allergic to bha......

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Sudocrem
Sudocrem
142 Reviews
Lemon Juice
Lemon Juice
398 Reviews
Back to Top