September 30, 2014 | 1872 users online

Eye Shadow - L'Oreal - Infallible - Smoldering Plum



image 0image 1

rated 2.6(17 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 2.6
  • 29% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.0
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 on 12/2/2013 5:14:00 AM More reviews by xxxshevampxxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I have a love/hate relationship with this eyeshadow. While I do like the color, it's definately not the same on skin as it is in the package. What makes me hate it so much is it's so messy! Always have to have makeup remover wipes on hand cuz this stuff gets abdolutely EVERYWHERE. The most effect way to apply it for me is my fingertips. It takes forever to get it to look evenly applied. There's many reasons NOT to buy this again. One of which, there's got to be a comparable color that isn't so darn messy.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 9/24/2013 8:42:00 PM More reviews by Shanplum

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

This shade is called 'burning black' in NZ, Australia and the UK. I have the US version and to be honest it's not as well pigmented or buttery as the versions we have here which are all made in italy. A gorgeous shade a plum toned black - just wish it was more plummy/burgundy toned as it looks in the jar - it is really a better version of MAC's beautymarked with more of a sheen as opposed to the obvious red glitter in beautymarked. It does stay on as promised but is definitely harder to blend and has more fallout than all the other infallibles I have tried. Still a great shade to have but not a must-have and takes a bit of work to avoid the dreaded fallout and to get it to blend however - looks great as part of a purple/plum smokey eye if you have time to make it work.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 7/21/2013 8:24:00 AM More reviews by ToxicMegacolon

Age: Unknown Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I don't get the hype over these. This is the only one I still own but this review can apply to any of the infallible shadows that i've tried over the years.

The shadow is crumbly, dry, and does not stay on the eyelids. I have tried primer, base, and everything else but there is always only minimal pigment on my eyes, and a bunch of fallout. The plum shade is a dark black mixed with berry toned shimmer, overall purple effect. But on my eyes, you may have well just smeared some coal over top, grainy and splotchy. I've used brushes, and fingers, and neither application works well.

The ONLY way I have found that this shadow works for me is if I wet the brush significantly and use the thing as a liner - hence why this is still the only one left.

I don't get it.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 5/23/2013 9:59:00 AM More reviews by BeePretty

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I hated this shadow. The great color impression provided by the window really appealed to me but the pressed loose powder formula with that extra gray piece made absolutely no sense to me. When I opened it powder exploded everywhere and got all over my hands and my dresser. For this shade in particular, the color payoff was completely different than the name and the impression. There as nothing Plum about this shadow- it when on closer to a browny black than a plum. Very disappointed and won't be buying again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 3/24/2013 1:42:00 AM More reviews by JuicyLamboMercyLago

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I have only used smoldering plum once, so far not impressed. The color in the container looks exactly what the name says, a smoldering plum. Once on the eye it looks like a grey like black. I was very disappointed. I am hoping once I play with it a little more I will be able to obtain that gorgeous color.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 1/5/2013 1:10:00 AM More reviews by mirageangelhope

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This color is beautiful shade of black/plum when on you eye can look like any color including dark brown, black or plum or any mix of those color especially depending on the base underneath.I can't stress the base enough I wish I had that figured out much faster.
I can agree that this color can be a little hard to work with esp with too much blending is can get really muddy and not be very attractive.
Once you find the right brush to apply the product(which is key).If you use a flat eyeshadow brush you get way too much product on your eye your better with a blending brush to apply.. It can look really pretty with a neutral color on your eyelid.
Keep the stopper you'll need it if it gets unpressed
If you like to throw colors on and walk out the door this product probably isn't for you.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 12/25/2012 11:24:00 PM More reviews by bnanaphone246

Age: 25-29 Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

i got this shade because it got a glowing review on a certain beauty blog. and i already had another shade from this line that i LOVED because of its rich pigmentation, limited fallout, value, and staying power. i found that smoldering plum was a little too heavy on the smolder and light on the plum. in the pot, it looks like a deep plum with a lovely shimmery/metallic finish. when applied, it looks like a weak black with only little hints of purple if you look at it from certain angles. if you brush it on several times, you can build to a richer shade, but compared to the other infallible shades, it leaves a bit to be desired.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 12/8/2012 5:01:00 PM More reviews by SHeust

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

Smoldering plum sounds like it would be a lovely, smoky plum color right? The sort of shade we all seek out but never quite find? But instead of the gorgeously shimmery eggplant shade you see in the container, on the eyelid this is practically matte and not really purple at all.

It is more of a gray/brown color and while it isn't the worst for a smokey look, it isn't what it claims to be, which is disappointing. Blendability is lacking, shimmer is lacking, color is lacking (which is not to say the pigmentation sucks. The pigmentation is good, but it's not the right color).

I really loved this line's Golden Emerald, so I had high hopes for this - and it failed to meet expectations.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 12/3/2012 8:28:00 AM More reviews by 2ksmom

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

The only Infallible eye shadow I have that I donít like :( I had high hopes for this since I love my other Infallibles, and I love purple shades, but I just canít get a good application from this one. It looks sooooo pretty in the pot, a deep purple-plum with golden flecks. But on my lids it just shows up as a blackened purple. The texture is nice, it's like a pressed loose-powder, and the lasting power is impressive. But this shade is so dark & pigmented that it just looks splotchy and uneven when I apply with my fingertip (my preferred method for applying the Infallible shadows). Iíve tried just sort of Ďpackingí it on with a stiff smudge brush, and also a lighter application with my ELF eyeshadow brush, but either way I get a ton of fall out. No matter what Iíve tried, this just ends up looking messy and dirty on me. While this particular shade was a Ďmissí for me, this is not a good indication of the Infallible shadow line as a whole (I love Bronzed Taupe, Gleaming Bronze, and Iced Latte). While I wouldnít repurchase this particular shade, I still would like to try others in this line.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 10/26/2012 2:10:00 PM More reviews by USMCWIFE2008

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

I lvoe these L'Oreal Infallible shadows and have almost everyone shade they have released so far. They have some really beautiful shades, they wear well and are reasonably priced.

My biggest complaint about these shadows is that they seem to easily break apart. I can't tell you how many times I have opened one to use it, only to find it has broken up into chunks and shadow dust.....very frustrating. While I will mostly continue to purchase these, I am determined to find another shadow that I like just as much but isn't as fragile.

Is this review helpful? Yes No