Hada Labo UV Moist Emulsion SPF 50+ PA+++


13 reviews

61% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$


Ethylhexl methoxycinnamate 6.49535, zinc oxide 6.105, diethylamino hydroxybenzoyl hexyl benzoate 0.7, water, cyclopentasiloxane, glycerin, isononyl Isononanoate, polymethylsilsesquioxane, butylene glycol, silica, lauroyl lysine, lauryl PEG-9 polydimethylsiloxyethyl dimethicone, acryliates/dimethicone copolymer, hydrogen dimethicone, triethoxysilylethyl polydimethylsiloxyethyl hexyl dimethicone, methylparaben, propylparaben, disodium EDTA, sodium hyaluronate, sodium acetylated hyaluronate, hydrolized hyaluronic acid

on 5/13/2015 2:03:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Fragrance free, alcohol free, slightly hydrating but it takes a while for my skin to absorb... for about 15-20 mins, my face looks slightly wet... but it eventually dries matte. This is being discontinued but I didn't plan on repurchasing as there are other sunscreens on my list to try.

on 4/4/2015 6:18:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

It's too bad that I don't have easy access to this in the States, as I think I actually found my new favorite sunscreen over my reigning favorite Neutrogena Pure & Free Liquid Sunscreen. Both have SPF50+ and broad spectrum protection. The Neutrogena sunscreen contains 1.4oz (42ml) of product and the Hada Labo sunscreen contains 38ml--practically the same amount of product. They both come in a petite squeeze-bottle that has a ball inside to mix the ingredients when shaken. And they're about the same price--US $12-13.

The way these two wear feels very different though. The Neutrogena sunscreen is a physical, titanium dioxide-based sunscreen that dispenses opaque white and dries quickly to an almost powder finish when applying, but leaves a faint white cast. It's great for lightening makeup worn over it, but by itself it does make me look a little sick and pale.

The Hada Labo sunscreen is a hybrid physical-and chemical-based sunscreen that goes on like an oil so it feels moisturizing but some might find it greasy, especially if you feel like you already have oily skin. I have combo-oily skin but I actually like how this feels--it does set to a near-dry finish, and it leaves no white cast! I don't look ghostly wearing it alone and it doesn't adjust the color of base makeup if the shade is already correct.

The ingredients are in Japanese which I'm not fluent in. But I was able to match what I did understand to a listing of ingredients on CosDNA and added them here.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 2/14/2014 9:46:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

This is really great little spf, but there isn't much in the bottle. However, the price is reasonable and it spreads well. It goes on like oil almost but somehow does not set greasy. It is hydrating but with no white sheen. I find the minerals often feel dry, but this doesn't. However, some might want some moisturizer underneath if they are really dry. This feels really light, like wearing a very nice light moisturizer. Wow! No white sheen! No pastiness. It has no alcohol either.

Other mineral based spf lotions caused breakouts, but I seem to tolerate them in makeup. So I really am not sure what's up with minerals and my skin. Still, I wanted to try this mineral chemical combo.

I tried it on my neck and nothing happened, and I decided to put it on my face, as there isn't that much and that is the real test. It is day one for that, so I don't know. It sure felt nice. Make went on like a breeze for a change. Will update how make up stayed on and if it breaks me out. I would sure love to use this, as with 50 spf PPD++++ it should really protect me. It fairs well on COSDNA. I do see other's broke out. I sure hope not.

Update: As the day wore on it felt dry, the way other mineral spf moisturizers have felt. They go on nice, but seem to suck the oil out of my skin. When I removed my make up (which also had zinc in it) I looked so clogged, though I cannot say it was this product. Oh well, I will use it up on my neck.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 2/10/2014 4:21:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I was looking for a high SPF product since I am very fair, and prone to dark spots. I bought this after seeing the mostly positive reviews. Yes, it does not leave a white cast. Yes, it spreads quite easily and leaves a smooth base. But my god, it left me with so many bumps ALL OVER my face, even places where I do NOT have problems with bumps. I had to go to my doctor to clean up my skin and rescue it. I believe its due to the oily base. I noticed that after I apply it, then wash my fingers with running water, it hardly washes off and you can see/actually feel how oily the residue is.

on 1/22/2014 3:29:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I have bought this sunscreen twice. It is watery and light on the skin, has not led to any breakout. Bottle has balls within for you to give it a good shake to mix the product before use. Good thing is that it is SPF 50+ so allows for coverage for a longer period of time compared to those with lower SPF. Given that it is almost impossible to reapply sunscreen when you are outside (with makeup and all), this is a plus plus point.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

on 11/23/2013 11:42:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This sunscreen really took me by surprise. The word moisturising put me off this sunscreen but deep down I always wanted to try it. But the price (RM50) put me off. one night I noticed it was on sale so I decided to get it.

Right after I applied it there was the usual oily sheen common with Japanese milk type sunscreens. As I massaged it in I noticed that the sunscreen started to get drier n sink into my skin rapidly even though it's alcohol free. after 30 seconds of massaging it in the sunscreen started to lose it oily sheen n settled into a semi matte finish. It ain't the smoothest but that's what I liked about it. sunscreens with smooth finishes tend to get oily faster on my skin. But the Hada Labo didn't and an hour after application, a quick test with a blotter showed that it actually controlled my oil secretions. my skin was less shiny n oily. Very surprising for moisturising sunscreen.

Reapplication a few hours later after blotting 1st was not a problem. The sunscreen settled in nicely. The sebum does break through eventually but it didn't go overdrive like some sunscreen I have used. A nice healthy glow is how I would described the amount of shine after 4-5 hours.

It is not indicated whether this sunscreen is sweat, water or sebum resistant. But after many uses I feel that it does have some sweat and sebum resistant qualities. However I won't use this if I were to engage in outdoor activities for long periods of time.

I remove this sunscreen with a cleansing oil and it goes off easily. It's probably possible to remove it with a regular foaming cleanser but im not taking any chances.

Overall a very good sunscreen that has an excellent finish that I really like.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

on 4/10/2013 7:04:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This was my first Japanese sunscreen. I usually avoid Japanese SS because most of them contain alcohol and I have dry and sensitive skin that does not tolerate alcohol in products.
I bought this from an online etailer (not sure if it was from Sasa or Adambeauty) and it is relatively cheap at around £10 for 38 ml. I like the fact that Asian SS come in small packaging as I don't like to keep SS open for long.
I apply this product over a layer of serum and moisturiser - my skin is so dry that I have not found a SS that would allow me to skip those steps. I allow the serum and moisturiser to sink in (it is usually very quick) and apply this SS. I am not 100% sure I am applying 1/4 teaspoon as the texture of this SS is very liquid and thin, so it's very hard to measure. But I do apply as much as I can, one area at a time. At first it makes my skin look really oily but then it sinks in quickly - maybe in 5-10 minutes max. After that, if you don't wear any makeup on your skin, you're good to go - as most of the protection comes from zinc oxide, it is effective immediately. I normally apply some concealer or foundation and I have to say: this is where this product really won me over. Makeup applies really well over it. Bear in mind that this is no a mattifying sunscreen at all - it leaves your skin with a "moisturised" appearance and not a matte one. But this is a good thing for those of us with dry skin.
It does not "ball up" when layered with serums (under) or foundation (over), which is great because most of the euro sunscreens I've tried ball up terribly (if you don't know what "balling up" means... it's basically when you layer products and they start to flake like crazy. Huge pet peeve of mine as it makes your face look dirty).
I am not currently reapplying this at lunchtime because it's winter now (it was supposed too be spring already, though...) and I don't sweat a lot or go out in the sun very often. But I will definitely reapply it when summer comes.
In the afternoon I normally notice my skin getting a bit dry again, but I can't blame this on the sunscreen as it happens with pretty much any product I try. I've used Accutane a couple of years ago and I am having to cope with dry skin after that.
I wish I could comment on the level of protection and its effectiveness but unfortunately I don't have the % of the actives (which are octinoxate and Zinc oxide) and I haven't used this product long enough to say whether it has helped fading hyperpigmentation. However, it is SPF50+ PA+++ which means a PPD of at least 8 (or perhaps even higher, as this was manufactured before they added the PA++++ level) and it has zinc oxide, which is a good broad-spectrum sunscreen.
I would not say it is moisturising per se, but it certainly is not drying. It contains no alcohol or fragrance. I am finishing my bottle now (good thing is that you can see how much product is left) and I will try the Whitening version, which is also SPF 50+ PA+++. I will certainly buy this again, as I expect to go through one bottle every month during summer and this is certainly worth repurchasing!

Link to ingredient list (cosdna):

Things I forgot to mention!
1) I don't know how they do it, but this leaves NO WHITE CAST whatsoever. I an NC20ish (a bit lighter) but even some chemical SS leave a white cast on me and I hate it. Although this one has zinc oxide in the formula, there is not white cast at all.
2) no breakouts. But then again, I'm not that prone to break out due to products (except LRP sunscreens which create havoc on my skin)
3) I finished my bottle today - not sure how long it lasted as I used it until halfway through it, stopped it for a while (to wear a more moisturising, lower SPF SS - Avene AntiRougeurs SPF 20 - that left me with hyperpigmentation during the English winter...) and went back to it. On my last day I decided to actually measure it on a measure spoon and I applied exactly 1/4 teaspoon of the SS. I reckon I was applying about 3/4 of that amount before... it definitely looked way more shiny with 1/4 tsp - actually my face looked completely WET for about 10 minutes, until the SS dried down to the semi-dewy finish that I normally get with it. I applied foundation over it (Bourjois HM serum) with no problems at all. No balling up, no white cast, no oily skin (but bear in mind that my skin is drier than most).
I am now about to use the Whitening version of this SS, which contains vit C and arbutin (blue bottle) and I will report back after I've used it. I have other 5 unopened bottles of SS to test over the spring/summer but I am considering buying this one again just in case - who knows if they are going to discontinue it!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

on 11/26/2012 1:46:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This was the first (and probably the last) Japanese sunscreen I ever tried. The finish was great: no balling up, no white cast, shiny only at first, then sinks in and it is fine. I don’t find this moisturizing (and my skin isn’t dry), but doesn’t make me dry either.
My issue with this sunscreen is that every time I used it I got horrible breakouts! I have acneic skin already, but when I use this product I get worst…I put it once and during that week I will get huge acne pimples. For my acneic skin, this is one of the worst products I ever came across.

7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

on 10/19/2012 6:34:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Feels really great going on; no sunscreen-y smell, feels smooth, leaves a good base for foundation. Love the texture, no powdery finish or whiteness. Looks pretty loaded with parabens and cones though, which I deducted a point for.

on 8/14/2012 12:10:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This product retails for SGD19.90. It's expensive for a drugstore product but if you get it in HK, it would definitely be much cheaper. That's the reason I give 2 stars for the price.

The texture is really moisturising. I'm not sure about the sun protection efficiency as I only use this for short walks etc. I would use a stronger one if I were to exercise or be under the sun for long hours. However, due to it being a mild sunblock, it does not require special cleansing is a bonus!

Top Rated Hada Labo Products

Back to Top