October 25, 2014 | 1045 users online

Styling Products - Shea Moisture - Organic Coconut & Hibiscus Curling Soufflé



image 0

rated 4.0(26 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.0
  • 76% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.6
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 9/23/2014 12:41:00 PM More reviews by michelle2421

Age: 44-55 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

This product is awesome. I use enough to cover my finger tips and holds my curls for 3 to 4 days. Makes them extremely shinny. I have 3b thin, fine, colored hair.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/20/2014 6:12:00 PM More reviews by xxxcarol

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Other

This is working well for me. My hair is long, coarse (some gray), thick, and wavy with ends that turn into coils when it gets long enough (is that 3b/3c? I can never remember!) I guess I'm on a modified curly-girl routine--shampoo about once a week, use the S.M. conditioner as a rinse-out and/or leave-in the rest of the time, follow with the S.M. styling milk raked thru wet hair in the shower and then shake it around a bit to let curls fall into place. Once out of the shower I squeeze the ends gently with a micro towel to remove dripping water and add this souffle. MUA was so helpful in making me go easy on the amount--I use just what I pick up by dipping my fingers into the tub once. Scrunch that mostly on ends, run my hands over the top to finish, and air dry. (I try to never blow dry but had to once, and this product combo seemed to hold up well with that too.) I get waves and curly ends that separate and hold their shape but never feel stiff or crunchy--just what I've always wanted! Sure there are bad weather days or rushed days when it doesn't all come out the way I want, but overall I like the ingredients (and they don't leave any plastic-y residue) and using the whole line together makes it simple. I have a lot less hair trauma since getting this routine down but it did take a good bit of experimenting, so if you're tempted by these products I urge you to keep trying.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 8/16/2014 1:57:00 PM More reviews by Milkchocolate04

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

You really have to master this product before you can see the great results. I have coarse hair which some may categorize as 4c. I use this product in combination with the SM curl enhancing smoothie. I only use these to refresh my coils after about 7 days. I spray my hair with water, seal with castor oil, then apply SM curl enhancing smoothie to small section. Then I coat my fingertips with the SM curling souffle and finger coil only the ends of my hair with the souffle. The residue will subside after about 30 minutes. I get soooo many compliments on the little coils in my teenie weenie afro.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/14/2014 8:05:00 PM More reviews by Josie012

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I like this product. It gives my hair a lot of hold, shine, and locks in moisture, while leaving my hair feeling soft. When using this product, I would advise to use a little, or else it starts to clump and make the hair feel kind of sticky. It also has a very nice sweet smell.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/6/2014 3:26:00 PM More reviews by larelin

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

For reference, I have thick, 2b/2c, wavy/curly hair that goes halfway down my back. I initially tried this a couple times with the Shea moisture curl and style milk and had very poor results. My hair was frizzy, had no definition, and was left with a strange texture. I then tried this with the curl enhancing smoothie from the same brand and had FAR better results. It gives me smooth, defined curls and waves, and even tames the hair on the back of my head that tends to be more coarse and frizzy. It takes some trial and error to figure out the proper amount for your hair, but so far it hasn't been disastrous if I use a little too much--my hair is just a bit stiff and takes longer to dry. For my long hair I use about a quarter size dollop. People with finer or shorter hair could definitely get by with less. This product seems to need some sort of leave-in underneath, so it's up to your hair type whether you use the style milk or the curl smoothie. The smoothie works for me since my hair tends to need thicker products with more hold.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/18/2014 6:57:00 PM More reviews by pinkmouse09

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I really like this. I think a lot of the negative reviews are from those who using too much. I put this on top of the curl enhancing smoothie and air dry. My hair was so tame and looked fine when I woke up. I used way too much the first time and it was sticky. I only use a small amount and go section by section. My curls are POPPING and don't get the hard gel look. If the consistency gets too watery, I put it in the fridge for a while

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/30/2014 6:00:00 PM More reviews by meloe

Age: 25-29 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I waited awhile to buy this product due to so-so reviews but I'm absolutely happy I did. I don't typically review prodcuts but this one left such an impression I had to share! I have big, loose curls and lots of fine hair that has a tendency to frizz. I have a hard time with products as most weight my hair down or make it look greasy. I had been using the SheaMoisture Yucca Rinse Out Conditioner as a leave in followed with dry oil. This was ok but still end up frizzy and tangled by the end of the day. This product totally changed that. I now use this after using a little of the Sheamoisture rinse-out conditioner as a leave in and I've had great results. A little goes a long way; I only use maybe a dime sized amount for each side of my head. The smell is amazing too, which is a huge plus. I absolutely recommend this product (especially for fellow 3a's)!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/29/2013 3:27:00 PM More reviews by tiffany287

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have purchased this product several times. I have very dry hair and it is wavy esk with looser curls at the edges and the neck. It tends to be nappier in the center. I found that this gel if hair is properly conditioned, and moisturizer defines, moisturizes, preserves, and gives curls elasticity. What I have noticed this most is that it keeps hair from becoming matted, the curls tend to spring back. The stickiness doesn't bother me, it melts into moisturization into my hair.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/27/2013 9:59:00 PM More reviews by tabbyboots

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine Eyes: Blue

This is the best product I have tried for my hip length, thick 3 a/b hair. My hair is defined, shiny, and soft. I only need a nickel to quarter sized amount so a little goes a long way.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/13/2013 12:00:00 PM More reviews by suestew2

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I have tried dozens of combinations of products on my 3B/C hair, and nothing works better than than the combination of this gel souffle and the SM Coconut & Hibiscus Curl Enhancing Smoothie. I combine a small amount of both in my hands and apply, comb through, then rake and scrunch. I get soft curls, no frizz, and a good amount of non-crunchy hold if I scrunch again after it's dry. On top of that, I have pretty decent second and even third day hair. It's a winning combination, and I hope these two products will always be available.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No