September 2, 2014 | 928 users online

Palettes - Illamasqua - Neutral Palette - Human Fundamentalism



image 0image 1

rated 4.6(7 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.6
  • 85% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 5.0
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 12/19/2013 5:38:00 PM More reviews by georginags

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Green

Love love loooovve this palette! I'd been eyeing this off for a few months and to be honest, the only thing that was putting me off was the price. Even though the illamasqua brand is cheaper here in Australia (the palette retails for $53 at Myer) I still couldn't justify that amount of money for 4 shades, especially when I have a matte white and matte black in all my other palettes. But I did pick this up a few days ago only because I received a voucher from Myer that gave me $20 off anything over $30. So I paid $33! Yay!

It is so smooth and easy to use and the colours would work for anybody. I haven't used obsidian only because I love the black in my naked basics palette.

But vintage and wolf are an absolute dream! Before I purchased this palette, I tried so hard to find a dupe for vintage (a true antique gold) and the closest I found was Inglot 406 and MAYBE makeup geek's 'pretentious'. I purchased Inglot 406 because makeup geek sold out of pretentious when I placed my order. So I have no idea what pretentious would be like, I was just going by photos of swatches. It's a shame that illamasqua haven't released vintage as a shadow on its own. I'd seriously stock up on it like no tomorrow

Wolf is also a standout shade. I believe you can purchase this on its own and it is a shade I would buy again. It isn't too dark so it's perfect for your crease.

Overall, it is an absolutely amazing palette. If you already have palettes with similar colours, I wouldn't go out of my way to buy it (only because of the price). I already have a few Inglot shadows, naked 2 and naked basics. The only reason why I fell in love with this palette was because of vintage. But honestly, if money isn't an issue and you love neutrals, then I'm sure you would love this.

It's pretty versatile and as other reviewers have said, you can wear it light during the day and wear it heavy at night. I've been working it into my daily makeup regime and mixing it up a little with my naked 2 palette.

Only thing that annoys me (just a little) is the packaging. It's not enough to bump it down to 4 lippies but I've recently started depotting my shadows into the Mac Pro Single Palette and I'm absolutely terrified of depotting this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/31/2013 5:58:00 PM More reviews by MissBeautyAdikt

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

It is so versatile that you can use the colours on an everyday basis for work or university but then if you're going out for the evening, you can wear it much more heavier.

The palette has four colours, three of them are MATTE and one which is a SHIMMER.

Stealth - This is a very light flesh coloured matte eyeshadow and reminds me a lot of Bobbi Brown Bone. This colour i would only use as a base or under my brow for s subtle highlight.

Wolf - My favourite shade out of the whole palette! This is an olive with a mixture of an antique gold and is a beautiful shimmery shade. This applies so smoothly to the skin.

Vintage - A chocolate matt brown shade. I would wear this in my crease for a day time look but also the perfect colour to fill in my brows. Feels very satiny on the skin when applied.

Obsidian - The blackest of blackest shade! Ideal for creating super smokey eyes but also using as a liner for people who just want to define their top lash line instead of using liquid/gel liners.

Overall i love this palette and have the feeling i will be reaching for it a lot! The size is so practical to keep in my handbag or for traveling. It has the basic colours any girl would need.

Full blog post with pictures can be found here: http://goo.gl/f6ziQ1

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/30/2013 4:06:00 PM More reviews by KatrinaEntwistleDean

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

This is the perfect neutral pallette! I get complimented on my eye makeup every time I wear this. Every colour but the bronze goes on highly pigmented, and does not fade all day! The bronze colour is a lovely colour but I find that it mixes with the black and doesn't show up as well as I'd like. Over all, I absolutely love this pallette. This brand is lovely.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/24/2012 11:04:00 PM More reviews by Tamira

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Warm Hair: Brown, Kinky, Medium Eyes: Black

RAVE!!! Let me just state for the record that after only one use, this is now my HG and I will probably ONLY wear Illamasqua shadows from now on!



I quickly and effortlessly achieved the most gorgeous smokey eye I have ever created in my life (and I'm kind of a smokey eye master)! The HUGE mirror is a HUGE bonus! I didn't even have to pull out my own to do it...



All of the colors work beautifully together. They can also be used for contouring (the brown is PERFECT for contouring and they all have a natural sheen to them and are extremely blendable) and three of them can be used as eyeliner wet for intensity or dry for a softer look. The antique gold color is GORGEOUS! It is much darker/richer than I expected and can be worn solo for a soft smokey eye, liner, all over lid, etc.



The color pay off is AMAZING! They are creamy, super easy to control and apply and don't seem to budge once on (and I did NOT use eye primer).



I looked at tons of high end palettes with similar colors, and although this one is expensive and has four colors as opposed to 6-12 like some of the other pricey contenders, I specifically wanted this combination of colors and didn't see it offered quite this well or exact in ANY other comparable palette (Nars, Urban Decay, MUFE, Lorac, etc.). But, I decided that there is no use in having three times as many colors if I'm not going to use half of them? With this palette, I will use every color often and in different combinations from a soft day look to an ultra glam, severe night look for stage! I can travel with only this palette and could literally skip bringing anything else on the trip for my eyes except for brushes and mascara.



I'm seriously in LOVE and I have NEVER raved about shadows before, so this is kind of a big deal! LOVE!!! WORTH THE MONEY - plus, the site had a 5 pounds off coupon and sent me a free $26 cream blush just for buying this palette. They often have much better deals/sales and free shipping so it is cheaper to buy it direct than from Sephora most of the time. Since I'm moving to London next year, I am stoked that I've already fallen in love with their premier cosmetics brand! YAY!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 10/24/2012 7:13:00 PM More reviews by audmac

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Straight, Other Eyes: Hazel

Got this palette a week ago because I loved Illas complement palette so much I had to try more. I was blown away by how gorg these colors looked on me when i wore them for the first time today. These are the best matte eyeshadows Ive ever worn- no chalkiness and excellent color payoff. The brown altho it looks plain in the compact turns out to be the prettiest mid - dark brown eyeshadow Ive ever encountered. The antiquey gold color is now my fav gold/bronzey color and I love it more than my prev fav similar color- half baked. This one blows 1/2b out of the water. I just want to toss half the colors in my naked palette now. I wont tho. LOL. The black shade is such a gorg pure rich black color. And the white is excellent as a base shade and as a highlighter too. These colors are extremely long lasting and havent creased after 12 hrs. I used Tartes Clean Slate™ 360° Creaseless 12-Hr Smoothing Eye Primer first (its my hg es primer) My look with this palette today was the white all over, brown in crease, gold on lid, black to line top and bottom lids and white again as highlighter and tear duct area. Cant wait to try other looks for this. Dont think Im jumping the gun when I say this is easily in my top 5 palettes ever.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/11/2012 6:57:00 AM More reviews by emilily

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I love this palette. Living in Australia, it's pretty hard to get my hands on UD Neutral palette without resorting to shonky ebay. However, at least I can get a nice mix of neutrals from my favourite brand, Illamasqua. I picked this up when Illamasqua had their Easter hunt, along with some half price blush (Hussy and Lover), and the Fundamental palette, as I wanted to try their cream pigment and their liquid metals. As a member of the site I got it for 10% off and comparing to the RRP in Australia, I got this for half price. Ridiculous, really.

I have three Illamasqua cream eyeshadows and wasn't very impressed with the quality. Even using bases and powder over the top, they were crease town! I didn't have hugely high hopes, then, of Illamasqua's powder eyeshadows. I wanted to try them, but wasn't building my hopes high.

I was pleasantly surprised to find out that the neutral palette's shades are better than Inglot (in my opinion). I had a hard time duping the colours in the palette, other than Obsidian. Wolf is quite a cool brown which is nice, but also darker than Inglot 360m. Vintage is a beautifully pigmented, rich shade. I compared it to MAC Bronze. They are sort of the same colour payoff but Vintage is an antique gold, where Bronze is, well, bronze! I compared Stealth to Brule as that is the only MAC highlight/skin tone shadow I have. Stealth is smoother, creamier and much easier to work with. I would recommend this palette to anyone looking for a simple palette for travelling, for every day looks, for space saving, for beautiful pigmented shadows.

The way I usually wear this is with an eyebase, then stealth over lid up to brow bone. Then I put wolf in the crease and vintage heavily on the lid. I use stealth to blend out wolf if needs be. It looks fantastic together. This is a day time look and you can use obsidian to darken it for a more striking effect.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 5/10/2012 5:28:00 PM More reviews by JasmineJolene

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I really love this palette and enjoy using it on a daily basis. Clockwise, it has four eyeshadows: Stealth, a creamy off-white; Vintage, a dark gold colour; Obsidian, black; and Wolf, and dark brown.

I use Stealth over the lid and Wolf in the crease for a pretty daytime eye. The staying power is great, and the actual shadows themselves feel like silk. The Illamasqua powder formulation was recently changed and although I liked them before, I love them now!

The actual palette is a little bigger than the blushers, so is easily slipped into a handbag or makeup bag. It is all back, and feels sturdy, so I don't feel like the shadows will shatter if I drop it.

It was pricey, at £30 for four shadows, and I really only use Stealth and Wolf (although the other two colours are lovely - particularly Vintage) so this was perhaps not the most frugal of buys. But I love it all the same. I wouldn't buy again though, because as much as I love the formula I'm pretty sure I could dupe a white and a brown eyeshadow!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No