Skinfood Platinum Grape Cell Essential BB Cream SPF45 PA+++

3.8

11 reviews

63% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Zinc Oxide, Titanium Dioxide, Butylene Glycol, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Arbutin, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Talc, Sodium Chloride, Beeswax, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Fruit Cell Extract, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Stearalkonium Hectorite, Dimethicone, Ozokerite, PEG -10 Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Adenosine, Isomalt, Colloidal Platinum, Xanthan Gum, Lecithin, Fragrance, CI77491, CI77492, CI77499, Phenoxyethanol


on 6/30/2015 12:06:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

It's a really beautiful natural glowing look,very light and not cakey, and I only need a small amount to cover my face. The bottle it comes in is very hygienic and cute. it's my favorite BB cream so far...but not perfect!
I have dry acne prone skin that becomes oily throughout the day, not sure if I break out due to makeup or because of oily skin...because my skin just changes all the time based on skin products...but anyway, this bb cream is one of the nicest finishes, compared to the skin79 orange I use daily, it also has a good coverage and natural look, but that one wears out after a while. I do have very pale skin with yellow undertones and this matches my skin perfectly (the lightest shade) The only thing that scares me is the third ingredient...I always research the BB creams by the first four/five ingredients which hold the majority of the product's substance
Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate: (active ingredient in OTC sunscreen products) I hate using chemical sunscreen based on the things I've heard about cancer and health concerns. But it's probably a low percentage.

overall It's really an awesome BB cream and I think it would suit most skin types

Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Zinc Oxide, Titanium Dioxide, Butylene Glycol, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Arbutin, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Talc, Sodium Chloride, Beeswax, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Fruit Cell Extract, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Stearalkonium Hectorite, Dimethicone, Ozokerite, PEG -10 Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Adenosine, Isomalt, Colloidal Platinum, Xanthan Gum, Lecithin, Fragrance, CI77491, CI77492, CI77499, Phenoxyethanol

PS~ Make sure you don't get counterfeit products, that happened to me the first time I tried to buy a BB cream online

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I initially bought the light beige which is too light but use as a brightening concealer under eyes and places I want to enhance. I love how t works under the eyes, it doesn't get in creases and "marries" up with the skin as you wear it. I use other Skinfood products and love them. I am middle aged, my skin has improved greatly with use of this product. it's like wearing makeup with skin improvement benifits and just the right amount of moisture. I have combo skin and live in Florida so this works perfectly.


on 3/21/2015 10:56:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I have tried a number of BB creams from various Korean brands and a few from Skinfood, and I have to say this is one of my favourites!
It comes in a classy and cute container with a pump, and it smells super nice..like a floral grape smell. It applies really smoothly and makes your skin look great, and also oxidizes to your skin colour perfectly! I went to buy it at a shop recently but they didn't stock it which was sad, but I will be buying it online soon~

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/13/2013 6:30:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have clear, acne-free skin that is neither oily nor dry. It's pretty good skin on the whole, so I only need some light coverage to even out the skin tone and neutralise the redness around my nose and mouth, and minimize the few broken capillaries on my cheek.

This BB cream was a huge disappointment on that front. It was thick and, though still fairly easy to blend, felt like I was spreading gunk on my face. Worse, it actually made my skin look less healthy than normal by highlighting a previously invisible patch of dryness on the side of my nose.

I tried applying it with a sponge and then with my fingers. Applying with my fingers seemed to be slightly better (it sank into my pores a little less), but both methods highlighted the dry patch.

The shade (#1) is a pretty good match for my fair, warm-toned skin (probably NC20-ish in MAC). It has lots of coverage -- actually a bit too much for me. It might be suitable for someone with skin discolorations that need a lot of coverage, but whose skin is otherwise very smooth and will not have its imperfections highlighted.


on 2/5/2013 3:11:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Other, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I got this as a sample and quickly decided it wasn't for me, but I think it might be a nice product for some people.

Pros:
- Goes on really easily, blends well and feels comfortable
- Was a little ashen at first, but adjusted after a short time to a reasonable match (I got the No.1 - I am pretty fair but still have a little bit of colour left over from the summer. I think I'm about an NC20)
- dewy, but not too shiny
- no flakiness, even on my drier areas
- I found it's longevity to be reasonable

Cons:
- It sunk into all my pores and accentuated them
- It didn't even out my skin tone very much
- It seemed to also accentuate the one blemish I had on my face at the time. Even though I put concealer on top, it was still very visible even though it wasn't very big

I think this may be more suitable for somebody that has very good, though a tad dry, skin.

My skin isn't even that bad, but it did seem to accentuate the bad spots (pores, minor blemishes). It was, however, good on drier areas.

Do try a sample first!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/30/2012 10:13:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Just returned from Korea where I discovered this great brand.
I have been using bobbi brown bb (bbbb) cream for over a year and whilst I really like it, this Skinfood BB cream is possibly even better. I am a Fair or Medium in bbbb and use the No 2 in skinfood. Skinfood is better coverage with similar oil control. Packaging is elegant and hygenic. About half price (21 USD vs 41 USD) and a little bit more product (45g vs 40 g). 2 pumps of skinfood does me (its about half of what I use with bbbb).
Only neg is if you don't fit into the No1 or No 2 colour range. bbbb has more shades available.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 8/23/2012 8:51:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Silver, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I just received this product yesterday so the review is premature, hence the 4 instead of 5 lippies. However, this is by far the best BB cream I have tried. I have the #2 beige, the "darker" choice that could be even darker, but I am so grateful for the SPF45, I can live happily with the very slightly light tone. It is not grey, and it does seem to adjust to your skin tone. The coverage is by far the best of those BB creams I have tried: I apply it with a sponge which evens my skin and makes it glow. It is neither shiny nor mat, nor even very dewy. Just natural but better. I do not feel that constant dampness when I touch my face, and to put it bluntly, I am seriously improved while still looking "natural"!

I will update the review after I have given the product a reasonable period of use to see if there are hidden problems that crop up, but so far, I really am happily surprised.
And the packaging is elegant.

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 8/20/2012 5:31:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Green

Pros: VERY high spf!!! Nice fragrance.
Cons: Faaaaar too pale. Texture very thick and continued to thicken the longer it was on. It settled in and accentuated pores and lines immediately and caused and accentuated flakiness the longer it was on. It didn't feel comfortable at all on my skin.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 6/28/2012 6:56:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Love this!
Coverage is very good (full coverage) with minimum amount of product. This did not feel slimy or thick on my combination skin (oily T-Zone), scent is nice & light. Staying power for me was excellent.
This doesn't have a very heavy grey undertone compared to my Skin79 Gold BB cream.
Definitely a repurchase for me :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

The coverage is great I love the scent and I love the packaging!! Skin Food is now one of my favorite brands. I had a good experience with this bb cream. I have combination skin so a little bit of powder is always good for touch ups but that doesn't bother me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top