September 2, 2014 | 1671 users online

Sunscreen - Sunday Riley - Cashmere SPF 30+

no image

rated 2.4(14 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 2.4
  • 28% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.9
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 on 8/3/2014 9:57:00 PM More reviews by jchoi128

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Black

I hate my face when it's sticky because it makes powdering impossible. This sunscreen is very very sticky. It's moisturizing but very sticky which I personally don't like at all. I'm a sunscreen junkie and tried my fair share of drugstore to high end sunscreens. So I tried this product and couldn't be more disappointed. If I wear sunscreen alone, I like to use a little bit of powder down the T-zone to matte down some extra shine that sunscreen usually leaves. But this sunscreen was beyond sticky and shiny. I understand you can probably apply less and control the stickiness and shine but after all, this is a sunscreen. You know that sunscreen is ineffective if you do not apply enough product on the targeted area. So if I applied very little of this product on my face and neck, the sunscreen aspect would be useless and it would be no more than a regular moisturizer. Even if you wear this under foundation or tinted moisturizer, your makeup would take forever to set.

Second, this product claims to be sheer but I don't think it's very sheer in my opinion. "Sheer" is arbitrary but there are better sunscreens that leave better finish and less white cast than this product. Let's say that you can immediately tell that you have sunscreen on when you wear this.

I do love Sunday Riley so don't pass up on this fabulous brand. It's just that I think there are better sunscreens out there.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 7/16/2014 1:30:00 PM More reviews by FredlMcCorkle

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Grey

Unfortunately, I bought into the hype after reading such great reviews of Sunday Riley products. While the Juno, Good Genes, Star Over Eye Cream, Ceramic Cleanser were at best mediocre, I was particularly disappointed in this sunscreen. Applied over feshly cleansed skin, it left a weird white with irridescent shimmer in my face. I tried to really rub it in only to have it ball up into bits all over. I've tried different methods of application - fingers, brushes, nothing worked. But, the worst part was waking up to tons of tiny red/white bumps all over my face after using it. I don't hav sensitive skin, and do not tend to break out! This was an exorbitantly expensive FAIL!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 3/9/2014 5:02:00 AM More reviews by Laski

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Hazel

Unfortunately, I had the same experience like many of the previous reviewers - the product balled up in eraser-like bits sooner or later - which is especially annoying when you look in the mirror in the afternoon, realizing that you were wearing a nasty looking flaky white patch on your face for the last few hours, probably being the only one not noticing it. Apart from that, I wasn´t fond of the moisturizing qualities or the texture either...it is indeed very soft and somehow squishy while applying, hence the name, I guess. But once it was on my skin, it turned a bit sticky. What I liked: the fact that it contains only mineral sunscreen, SPF30, and doesn´t have a chalky finish (except when it´s flaking off...), and also that I couldn´t detect any smell, so I guess it´s unscented.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 2/26/2014 6:34:00 AM More reviews by 2ndNatureBeauty

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

At £98 pounds I’d expect it to be a high performing sunscreen and more, but I’m afraid for me it was neither. It felt quite chalky and sticky to go on and as far as I could tell did not perform any better than a standard sunscreen, then left my skin a little irritated.

The packaging claims the product is “free of any chemical sunscreen agents, which can be hormone disruptors” and yet it contains nasty ingredients such as parabens which do exactly that! This makes me mistrust the brand.

Definitely get a tester first and if you’re looking for a good mineral sunscreen to try, I’d suggest BareMinerals Sunscreen Powder SPF 30 (£20) or Dermologica’s Ultra Sensitive Tint SPF 30 (£30) both of which I’ve tried, tested, and loved.

It's way too expensive, I can't really rate the packaging as I only got a tester (though I'm sure it's nice) but overall rating i've given a one as it's crazy expensive and just does not remotely perform to this price.

xxx

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 10/30/2013 2:43:00 AM More reviews by naleareviews

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Pros:
No white cast - one lipstick given
Moisturizing

Cons:
Price
White eraser-like bits once applied and after allowing it to dry.

Suggestion/ tip: Ask for a sample prior to purchasing just in case you experience the same.

I really wanted to love this product. It had all the requirements ticked off for an effective minreal sunscreen however, an unfortunate however at that... once applied over my moisturizer, it left my face in a white mess!
*Quick note: I always shake the bottle prior to application in case there's separation.
No matter what I applied beneath the sunscreen, and even on cleansed, well exfoliated bare skin, the product would pill into what looked like white eraser bits, even after allowing it time to dry. I've tried applying various foundations and Sunday Riley's Breathable Tinted Primer over the sunscreen and that too, the outcome was the same. I've even tried this in differing climates and humidity levels around the world and all resulted in the same manner.
The sunscreen is housed in a tall frosted glass bottle with a pump that is able to lock and a cap. I didn't care for the packaging much because it was heavy and the gold finish at the neck of the bottle flaked off.
Such a shame that this didn't work out to become a lasting relationship. On the plus note, I've saved myself $125 +tax :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 10/27/2013 8:01:00 AM More reviews by MarleyXavier

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I bought this because it used natural sunscreens. This product rolls on your skin leaving white balls everywhere, Horrendous. I have tried it with different cleansers, moisturisers. even in a different country in case it was the water, still, no good, £90 wasted. Feels moisturising though.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 4/9/2013 3:11:00 PM More reviews by Nada12

Age: 36-43 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This sunscreen is expensive, very expensive and I wonder whether people will use enough to give them proper protection. While it feels nuce, it contains iffy ingredients like silicone and parabens, which in my opinion shoudn't be in there for that price. It also only contains titanium dioxide, which doesn't protect against the longer uv waves (zinc does that). So all in all a mediocre product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 12/4/2012 12:24:00 PM More reviews by 232323

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I obtained a few samples prior to the huge investment in a small size of spf30. I loved the scent and the consistency, however...
-I applied it over morning serum and it rolled right off in a white mess.
-I applied it after La Mer soft cream and experienced identical results.
-I applied it on a bare skin after washing and white smudges were left, which after an attempt of evening out...yes, once again turned into a white rolling mess.

Sadly: no.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 8/21/2012 1:25:00 AM More reviews by beautyjunkie2012

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Being a true beauty junkie I had to try this quiet line. The first day after cleansing and toning I applied this sunscreen. It immediately melted into my skin and it didn't leave me looking ashy. I applied my Smashbox bb cream and went about my day. This sunscreen does not smell like your typical moisturizing sunscreen so I was quite impressed. The next morning I woke up to a break-out along my jaw line. Painful cyst breakout. I didn't apply the sunscreen again after that and my skin eventually cleared up after two weeks. I then tried again and my skin reacted again in the same manner. So sadly it had to go back. I will be sticking to my Peter Thomas Roth Uber Dry sunscreen.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/16/2012 1:05:00 PM More reviews by lindyloo

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

After having such great results with the Sunday Riley eye cream I went into my purse to try this day cream. I am sold, hook, line and sinker! I am a 50-something woman who is a skincare junkie, trying most new products to hit the market. The money that I've wasted over the years could really depress me if I allowed myself to think about it. Girls, this product is incredible! I know everyone's skin is different, but if you are older and tend to be on the dry side, this should give you great results. A little bit go a long way, so start small. It's consistency is a little strange. It goes on with a really good slip, but within a minute it seems to feel a little dry. That threw me at first because my skin is on the dry side. What is so incredible is that the moisture lasts all day. My skin looks plumped, radiant, and any fine lines are gone! Also, the aroma is very pleasant, no "spf-ish" smell at all! I don't take the time to write a lot of reviews, but this was worth writing about.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No