Essence gel-look topcoat

1.9

40 reviews

25% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/5/2015 5:45:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This review is for Essence XXXL Volume Gel-Look Plumping Topcoat. I found this at ULTA in a special display with some other new Essence products. I love it!!! So surprised, I even like it more than my favorite OPI topcoat.

I used it over some (real polish) nail wraps from goscratchit. I used my usual OPI topcoat on a couple fingers to compare and could definitely tell a difference. The Essence gel look topcoat was definitely thicker, in a good way! The formula was not thick when I was applying it, so it was just as easy to apply as any topcoat, but when it dried it was clearly a thicker, more gel-like finish.

Super shiny, no bubbles, and dried very fast. I usually have to use quick-dry drops to avoid bubbles but there were no bubbles here even though I skipped using drops! These nail wraps usually start peeling on me when paired with OPI topcoat after several days, especially after showering or washing my hair. But with this Essence top coat they are still nearly perfect several days later and I think this mani could easily last a week or more! Which is really good for nail wraps!

Also they do not smudge the design of the nail wraps like many topcoats do - OPI was the best I had found up until now in terms of not smudging but even that would cause some minor smudges sometimes. So I assume this will work great with stamping and other forms of nail art where you need a topcoat that won't smudge your nail art design. Great job Essence, this may just be my new HG topcoat! I think it would work great as a glitter topper or just for regular nail polish as well. Also, no harmful ingredients!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 2/7/2015 8:35:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this recently at Ulta for about three bucks. Now, granted I haven't been using it long enough to tell if it lasts a long time, but so far I like it. I didn't find it that much longer to dry than other top coats. It's very shiny and slightly thicker, although not QUITE so thick as to look like a gel manicure. It went on smooth with no bubbles and the price is certainly right. Update about a month later: Upping this one lippie. Two coats of this kept my manicure looking perfect for a week.


on 1/10/2015 3:28:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

(Edit 23/01/15: using Revlon Gel Envy Diamond Top Coat instead now, but will keep this, as was happy enough with it)
Quite surprised to see such negative reviews, I've found this to be a great little topcoat for the $3 approx I paid at Priceline (Australia). Does it give an "XXXL" thickness of topcoat? No. Is it extra shiny? No. BUT I used this over a few different polishes and my mani looks professionally done, fairly shiny and I found it to also be self-leveling.
I let my colour polish dry only for the time it takes me to swap hands and I had no issues with it not drying - *****though I do use OPI Drip Dry drops as a last step. I think this might be the trick **** Each time ive used this with drip dry over the top, all great and quite a long lasting, professional looking finish.
Maybe the formulation has changed? My bottle has a lid the same diameter as the bottle, white lid that has a brush which is easy to handle considering the shape of the lid.
I don't drag the XXXL across my nails, rather I just let the brush splay out and let it glide/run onto my nails, it seems like a lot of topcoat but it finishes just fine for me.
The only time i didn't use OPI drip dry drops over it was not good at all..as I did have one mani not dry, was using an Essie colour with this as a top coat and NO Drip Dry - my mani got smudged and seemed to not dry. So my tip is go haed and use the XXXL top coat as liberally as it comes out of the bottle, but finish with OPI Drip Dry drops. XXXL looks like quite a lot on the brush, but I found it didn't mess my mani going on at all. Maybe this is why people are having issues with it not drying..the amount on the brush.
On another note, the two Essence Colour & Go nail polishes have been gorgeous shades and are almost one coat wonders - two coats of self leveling, quick drying, long wearing colour for a few dollars. I'm happy and will buy more of both the XXXL top coat and other Colour & Go polishes.


on 9/16/2014 4:27:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I'm not too sure why there are so many bad reviews on this product! Maybe they've changed this polish a bit recently. I found it to be just what I was looking for! A thick and shiny coat that made my nails stronger and polished-looking. It takes an average amount of time to dry maybe a bit longer if you do multiple coats. I put it on my bare nails and it looks amazing.


on 5/4/2014 10:06:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

pretty much same as everyone says takes hours and hours to dry


on 4/30/2014 10:30:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I am not a fan of this at all. I hate to toss an item in the garbage when it is hardly used but I have had it for awhile and can't bring myself to use it again, so in the trash it will go after I write this review. This caused my manicure to bubble and it took FOREVER to dry. No good!


on 3/26/2014 2:24:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

i'v read alot of bad reviews on this after i bought it and before trying for myself.
anyways i happen to love it ! i painted my nails with wnw's party of five gitters
let it dry and added one coat of this ,it went on smooth and took a few minutes to dry
but was well worth the wait! it's smooth and shiny and has lasted so far for 3 days
and i work with my hands alot in retail and do alot of dishes by hand at home.
so far no chipping and no wear still just as smooth and shiny as day one !
i will repurchase this again for sure .

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

As much as it pains me to say, the reviews for this product are right. This product looks great when applied but after an hour my nails still aren't dry. The only good news is I only wasted a buck. I even tried putting drying drops on them with no luck. Pass on this.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Do NOT buy this! Just don't do it!

I have tried this product so many times, giving it the benefit of the doubt, and RUINED my beautifully painted nails every time. In what I'm assuming to be a moment of complete mental breakdown, I even repurchased this and was again horrified!

It looks lovely at first, very shiny and glossy, THEN it turns on you and gives you a horribly bubbled manicure. Also takes lightyears to dry.... never again

Be smarter than me and stay away from this awful product.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I've never used this on its own, but it is excellent as glitter food! Apply a coat of it over a glitter that dries bumpy, add Seche Vite on top and it ends up smooth as glass!




Back to Top