February 1, 2015 | 1326 users online

Top/Base Coats - Essence - gel-look topcoat



image 0

rated 1.7(38 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 1.7
  • 21% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.3
  • Price: $

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 1/10/2015 3:28:00 AM More reviews by addikted

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

(Edit 23/01/15: using Revlon Gel Envy Diamond Top Coat instead now, but will keep this, as was happy enough with it)
Quite surprised to see such negative reviews, I've found this to be a great little topcoat for the $3 approx I paid at Priceline (Australia). Does it give an "XXXL" thickness of topcoat? No. Is it extra shiny? No. BUT I used this over a few different polishes and my mani looks professionally done, fairly shiny and I found it to also be self-leveling.
I let my colour polish dry only for the time it takes me to swap hands and I had no issues with it not drying - *****though I do use OPI Drip Dry drops as a last step. I think this might be the trick **** Each time ive used this with drip dry over the top, all great and quite a long lasting, professional looking finish.
Maybe the formulation has changed? My bottle has a lid the same diameter as the bottle, white lid that has a brush which is easy to handle considering the shape of the lid.
I don't drag the XXXL across my nails, rather I just let the brush splay out and let it glide/run onto my nails, it seems like a lot of topcoat but it finishes just fine for me.
The only time i didn't use OPI drip dry drops over it was not good at all..as I did have one mani not dry, was using an Essie colour with this as a top coat and NO Drip Dry - my mani got smudged and seemed to not dry. So my tip is go haed and use the XXXL top coat as liberally as it comes out of the bottle, but finish with OPI Drip Dry drops. XXXL looks like quite a lot on the brush, but I found it didn't mess my mani going on at all. Maybe this is why people are having issues with it not drying..the amount on the brush.
On another note, the two Essence Colour & Go nail polishes have been gorgeous shades and are almost one coat wonders - two coats of self leveling, quick drying, long wearing colour for a few dollars. I'm happy and will buy more of both the XXXL top coat and other Colour & Go polishes.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/16/2014 4:27:00 PM More reviews by beckyloo123

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I'm not too sure why there are so many bad reviews on this product! Maybe they've changed this polish a bit recently. I found it to be just what I was looking for! A thick and shiny coat that made my nails stronger and polished-looking. It takes an average amount of time to dry maybe a bit longer if you do multiple coats. I put it on my bare nails and it looks amazing.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 5/4/2014 10:06:00 PM More reviews by JJKZ

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

pretty much same as everyone says takes hours and hours to dry

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 4/30/2014 10:30:00 PM More reviews by jewelofdenial

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Blue

I am not a fan of this at all. I hate to toss an item in the garbage when it is hardly used but I have had it for awhile and can't bring myself to use it again, so in the trash it will go after I write this review. This caused my manicure to bubble and it took FOREVER to dry. No good!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/26/2014 2:24:00 PM More reviews by jennyb1973

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

i'v read alot of bad reviews on this after i bought it and before trying for myself.
anyways i happen to love it ! i painted my nails with wnw's party of five gitters
let it dry and added one coat of this ,it went on smooth and took a few minutes to dry
but was well worth the wait! it's smooth and shiny and has lasted so far for 3 days
and i work with my hands alot in retail and do alot of dishes by hand at home.
so far no chipping and no wear still just as smooth and shiny as day one !
i will repurchase this again for sure .

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 3/25/2014 1:13:00 PM More reviews by guitarheroine91

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

As much as it pains me to say, the reviews for this product are right. This product looks great when applied but after an hour my nails still aren't dry. The only good news is I only wasted a buck. I even tried putting drying drops on them with no luck. Pass on this.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 3/11/2014 7:01:00 PM More reviews by Corriefaith27

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Do NOT buy this! Just don't do it!

I have tried this product so many times, giving it the benefit of the doubt, and RUINED my beautifully painted nails every time. In what I'm assuming to be a moment of complete mental breakdown, I even repurchased this and was again horrified!

It looks lovely at first, very shiny and glossy, THEN it turns on you and gives you a horribly bubbled manicure. Also takes lightyears to dry.... never again

Be smarter than me and stay away from this awful product.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/17/2014 4:53:00 AM More reviews by deepseadivingsuit

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I've never used this on its own, but it is excellent as glitter food! Apply a coat of it over a glitter that dries bumpy, add Seche Vite on top and it ends up smooth as glass!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 2/15/2014 12:09:00 AM More reviews by r0san

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is part of their gel line -- I'm pretty sure you're supposed to use it with a UV light, otherwise it won't set properly. I only realized after watching Essence's youtube video.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 2/3/2014 1:52:00 PM More reviews by Definitelygorgeous

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I don't know why I didn't look up the reviews for this product before purchasing.. But I pretty much share the same thoughts as other reviewers this product. I used this top coat last night and now my nails are covered with bubbles and creases.
Why does Essence insist on making this product?

Is this review helpful? Yes No