September 2, 2014 | 1722 users online

Hair Color - Garnier - Nutrisse Nourishing Color Foam



image 0

rated 2.5(57 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 2.5
  • 33% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.4
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 8/31/2014 12:13:00 PM More reviews by Amorganxo

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I purchased this colour in hopes that would cover my brassy, light orange/banana yellow hair. My hair was dry and damaged from bleaching and I did not want to put it through another bleaching and Light Ash colours would not fully cover the brassiness. I picked up this colour in hopes that it would give me a dark ashy blonde. The application was easy enough, I saturated my hair with the colour and noticed it was processing very quickly; my hair was becoming noticeably darker. I decided to take it out at the 10 minute mark versus the recommended 25 and I am glad that I did!! My hair is on the very, very end of the blonde spectrum, arguably it is brown. Not my intention. Overall the product itself was fine; easy to apply, did not smell bad, I liked the conditioner and it did not appear to dry out/damage my hair any further (although mind you I only left it in for 10 mins). Hopefully the colour will fade with time and I will be at my desired dark blonde, ashy colour.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/15/2014 11:50:00 AM More reviews by Englishvik

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

So I decided to dye my hair from platinum blonde to a more "natural" blonde and I decided to Use Garner Nutrisse Foam in "Blonde". I chose this colour as prior experience has taught me to always choose a lighter colour than you intend on actually going and this worked perfecting. My resulting colour was what I can only describe as "Dirty Blonde" (but in a nice way, think Doutzen Kroes, Taylor Swift, Jennifer Lawrence etc)
The application of this product was easy and mess-free, and the wait time was reasonable (25 minutes)
The ONLY down side to this product was the sheer lack of it, My hair isn't long by any stretch of the imagination it falls just past my shoulders, and I needed 2 full boxes and probably could have used a third. I found this strange as in previous home-hair-dye-adventures i've managed to dye waist-length hair with one box of hair dye and have some to spare, so my advice is buy at least 2 boxes and if you're lucky enough to not need both just return one :)

Also my hair was very shiny and soft afterwards AND it smelt nice :) the conditioner it comes with it fab!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 8/6/2014 9:31:00 PM More reviews by sunshine702

Age: 36-43 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium Eyes: Green

I like how easy foam color is and this one Garnier Blonde was on sale for $6. I'm going grey at the temple and don't like it so I'm coloring my dark roots and gross grays every two weeks. On a hunt for the best price and performance and color that I can do often.

Application was pretty standard. Nice foam. Not drippy. Not too pungent. Left it on 25 minutes. Root color came out slight warm 9 neutral blonde. The orangey works for my skin tone. Was pleased with gray coverage. Was pleased with color.

The only problem I had was it didn't blend with the other color I had done previously and some double processed areas have a slight gray/cool blonde tinge to it. I'm sure it will fade and the root color is good but I don't know if I would re buy because of that. Will continue my hunt.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 7/31/2014 11:58:00 AM More reviews by chica1

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I should have read the reviews before picking this up in a hurry at Rite-Aid for $10. Drippy, messy foam; tiresome application. I carefully "rotated" the mixture, as directed, and applied a bit on the glove and then on the roots. I could only work one bit at a time, very slowly, since I didn't want to apply too much foam and have it drip all over my face. It took so long half my hair and gloves were already turning brown and I still hadn't finished. The foam also doesn't allow precise application, as you have to apply in a "shampooing" motion. Absolutely not recommended.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 7/28/2014 6:33:00 PM More reviews by MakeMag

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Black

BE AWARE OF *Dark Blonde 7*!!!

I really struggled with overal rating score for this product, but I eventually decided to give it 1, only, as although the product itself is fine-applies easily, smells ok, did not damage my hair, but it was just not the colour from the description neither the one from the picture on a packaging.

My hair was light blonde and I wanted it to be something between dark blonde and very light brown and this shade looked just perfect. Well, I ended up with very dark brown hair...It is nothing like dark blonde, it is nothing like darkest of the darkest blond. It is just very dark brown, almost black. The colour itself is not bad, quite nice and naturally looking and I actually quite like it so not a big disaster for me, but I can imagine, that most of people would be devastated. There really is something very wrong with this particular shade and there is hundreds complains all over the internet re this colour from Garnier and I think it is time they look into this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 1/11/2014 10:08:00 PM More reviews by Selderon

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

Pros:
Good gray coverage on main portion of hair
Same resulting color as the creme formula
Excellent conditioner, generous amounts

Cons:
Tends to run
Does not color maverick strays (particularly grays around the hairline)
Difficult to rinse out
Causes very stubborn tangles, increasing risk of mechanical damage

I've been coloring my hair at home to cover gray for about ten years. When Garnier came out with the Color Foam, my local store decided to replace the cream formula with the new foam formula. Unwilling to blindly switch to another brand or wait to do my research, I grabbed the Color Foam box in my color - 3-Darkest Brown.

Application
One of the selling points of this new formula was the "no stress, no mess application". While the foam mixed up easily and didn't splatter when colorant levels in the bottle were low (like the creme), it dripped when I wasn't careful to check all areas of my glove. I think the formula condensed on the glove when the bubbles burst and whatever was left behind returned to its liquid state. It was very difficult to apply the product with any precision, and stains seem to be unavoidable. They're larger and more frequent than with the creme formula.

Processing
I have had great results just coloring my regrowth every 4-5 weeks, so I applied the foam to regrowth only, contained the remaining dry hair with a ponytail holder, and went to sit (carefully) in the living room and watch some TV while my color processed. I had to get up several times to catch trickles of color trying to run off my scalp. In later experiences, I chose to smoosh the hair over the area where the trickle was starting and that stopped most of them.

Gray Coverage and Resultant Color
Around my hairline, I have some stubborn grays that stand away from the rest of the hair and won't lie down. I found these extremely difficult to color. Although I was careful to deposit foam on them, it didn't stay. After washing the color out, I found that the grays were just slightly tinted instead of fully covered like the grays in the rest of my hair. Grays in the main portion of my hair stay well covered for 4-6 weeks. The resulting color looks the same as the creme formula.

Rinsing Out the Color
Washing the color out was very difficult. We have low water pressure, which didn't help. The worst part was the texture. The foam makes my hair very grabby and tangly. It was impossible to get my fingers through the hair, much less a comb. It was like combing through velcro. The first time, it took so long for the water to run clear that I eventually settled for "mostly clear" and put a towel over my pillow to catch the transfer. My scalp was itchy and my hair bled dye for days.

After several tries with this product, I find that the best approach is to start with a very wide tooth comb and work the tangles out from the ends in order to rinse the color out. However, even using this method it's a long time before the water runs clear and I still have tangles. Furthermore, I'm concerned that all this detangling with wet hair increases the risk for mechanical damage.

The Conditioner
The conditioner leaves my hair glossy and soft, and comes in a large tube. I have very thick, hip-length hair, but one tube lasts four weeks with an initial all-over application and twice-weekly application to the length and ends after that.

Conclusion
I've given this formula a good try and I'm confident that the inconvenient application and less-than-stellar results are a consequence of a less-than-stellar formula, not user error. So although the color result is lovely, I will choose the creme formula or another brand for the future.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 12/23/2013 4:53:00 PM More reviews by Candym

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

What a drippy, runny mess! I usually use John Frieda Foaming hair color, but I decided to try something different to save a few dollars.
I chose the medium ultra intense red (5ur) Being that my hair is dark auburn and I figured the haircolor wouldn't lighten that much to match the box, I purchased this shade hoping for a redder auburn.

Previously when I used foam color, I'd apply it and clip my hair up and wait the 30 min before washing out with no worries about drippage, I assumed the same with this product. Au contraire!! It dripped all over the towel around my shoulders, down my face (I did have the foresight to use coconut oil on my face and neck to avoid staining).

In about 15 minutes into the wait I looked in the mirror, my hair was this weird orange color- I freaked and jumped into the shower to rinse the color out. The color kept rinsing out-it seemed like forever. I gave up and applied the conditioner provided. It did smell good, but I can tell it wasn't detangling. Rinsed out the conditioner, the color kept coming out.

I gave up and decided to just style it and call it good for the day. (before the hot water ran out in the shower) Omg, the texture was horrible! My ends felt so damaged and despite using every detangling product I had, I ended up cutting my ends off.

Today was hair wash day (I waited 3 days) More color came out throughout the washing and conditioning. I wrapped it in a towel, leaving color traces. ( it did wash out in the laundry).

The color is a brighter red as I was hoping for, but it seriously wasn't worth the damaged texture and the non-stop color stripping in the shower. I think in the future I'll spend the extra $5 and go back to John Frieda.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 12/13/2013 12:14:00 AM More reviews by byankitty

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Okay, not cool when my hair starts falling into my hands as I shower! I have thick hair, and it's prone to fall out but wow this product made my hair fall out! It was messy. The foam was watery. If you're going for foam, pay more for John Frieda. Seriously. I wi t post about the color because it's still wet. I'm just not impressed at all with this.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/12/2013 1:06:00 AM More reviews by Miaoudeminou

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I've dyed my hair since high school (It's now a decade later). I've always stuck with Garnier and Clairol. Every time I've wandered my hair was fried from the dyes.

This is just like any other Garnier or Clairol hair dye. It works and it does a great job. Unlike the regular hair dyes, I find foam hair dyes tend to not stain the skin as much.

I bought this in the 3UR (deep ultra intense red) color and it turned out a lovely dark red. I couldn't ask for more and will add this to my list of choices when choosing a random dye in the future (I like to switch it up).

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 12/5/2013 12:21:00 AM More reviews by helloxkittty

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I've used a few different box dyes and this was by far the worst. The application was standard and simple, like other foam dyes. I was going for what I hoped would be a very dark, almost black brown, but as I was putting it on my hair didn't look as dark as it should. I thought after I took a shower and dried it it would be darker but it wasn't. My boyfriend couldn't even tell a difference and I barely did. It also got all over everything after I washed and I was sure to rinse thoroughly until the water was clear. A few days after washes the color was almost completely faded and it defeated the purpose of dyeing in the first place. It did leave my hair smelling nice for a few days, but that is the only good thing I can say. It has been two months later and I'm wanting to color again (obviously with another product). Very disappointing, but I've never had much luck with Garnier Fructis. Waste of money and I would not recommend.

Is this review helpful? Yes No