December 22, 2014 | 933 users online

Fragrances - Torrente- L'Or de Torrente



image 0

rated 3.4(44 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.4
  • 52% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 12/20/2012 8:37:00 PM More reviews by CandaceK

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have worn this almost exclusively for 11 years. I found it first in London when it was first introduced. I am devastated to find it is discontinued. On the the fragrance is perfect. Strangers stop me to ask what scent I am wearing. I have 6-8 bottles stockpiled in a cool dark place. I don't know what I am gong to do when I can no longer obtain it. I keep checking on a weekly basis to see what I can find. I may try Amazon UK to see what they might have. It definitely my signature fragrance.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 12/28/2011 3:55:00 AM More reviews by bkurant

Age: 36-43 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse Eyes: Hazel

it smelled rather nice in a small testing tube. good thing i did not splurged on it - it smells simply bad out of the bottle. like an old dusty attic full of long stored linens, ripped blankets and broken toys. someone mentioned it reminded them of the grandmother's home. yes, it does and not in a good way. putting it on you too will smell like a very old woman, someone who bought her mink coat sometimes last century.
not the image most of us want to project, n'est pas

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 8/13/2011 3:09:00 PM More reviews by awesomeness2

Age: 36-43 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

L'Or de Torrente is an easy to wear oriental that is suitable for adult women of nearly any age. Not too spicy, not too sweet, comforting & warm, unoffensive. Stays close to the skin. In my opinion, it's a nice "mom" scent to wear around teens & other adults.


I think the rose in L'Or is pretty darn fabulous & unusual. A real pleaser. If only L'Or was about roses, but it's not. L'Or is all about coffee. Every once & awhile I get a whiff of the coffee, which changes character as it drys. But also, once & awhile I am picking up something just a tad astringent like coffee is, but I think it's the cedar. L'Or develops into something like bourbon or dark rum on me before settling into its base, which is weak & bland. A lackluster ending to a nice start.

I like L'Or de Torrente, but not enough to purchase a full bottle or additional products (gels, lotions, etc), which I would need if I decided to add it to my rotation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 6/4/2011 12:32:00 PM More reviews by magnificent

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I tested both version, the Eau de Toilette and the Eau de Parfum and all I have to say is: Very different.
EDT: A crisp, fruity concoction without coffee. I gave it away.
EDP: Lovely, feminine, floral, sweet (but not too much) and I can detect the coffee note.

I own so many fragrances I love much more, so this frag is not a must-have, but I can recommend the Eau de Parfum, not the EDT.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/22/2011 9:12:00 PM More reviews by auntcyn

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I initially bought this because I noticed the notes in the perfume, as well as the gorgeous packaging gift set that I purchased. The perfume is a little sweet, but not too sweet, and I do pick up the coffee scent, although it's more like coffee with cream. Very, very pretty, but does not last long on me even when layered with the body lotion.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 7/16/2010 1:41:00 PM More reviews by tessture

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine Eyes: Brown

Tart fruits with light florals over a woody amber base with the merest hint of coffee to keep it from being a fruity floral. It's far lighter than the base notes make it sound. It almost reminds me of Kelly Caleche in that same herbal chamomile tea feel. Light but layered. Very nice, though I won't buy it as it's not my type of thing.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 7/13/2010 2:24:00 PM More reviews by elfriede

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I reviewed this about two years ago, then deleted my review because I thought my bottle might have gone bad--not fair to rate a perfume based on spoiled juice. I'd gotten the dreaded "rotten egg" note others have mentioned. For some reason I tried it again today, and it smells fine. Same bottle. Skin chemistry is strange. I still wouldn't repurchase this, as the rotten eggs might return! It's also a bit too "been there, done that" in spite of the unusual coffee note (it's very faint--I'd love more coffee in this; it's even weaker than the coffee note in Cacharel Noa). It reminds me of both Noa and Tresor--same sweet peachy rose in the heart, deeper than Noa, lighter than Tresor, with Noa's hint of greenness. There's also a lot of Casmir and/or Hanae Mori in the drydown--sweet fruity-florals with synthetic, pencil-shavings-wood notes in the drydown, but L'Or isn't as super-sweet as either of those, and better for year-round wear (though perhaps not on the hottest days). There's a deeper rose note weaving in and out, a lovely winey red rose--I'd love to pluck it out and wear it on my collar!--but it isn't interesting enough to make up for the bland synthetic sweetness.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/7/2010 2:48:00 PM More reviews by WendyWang

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

[EDP 50ml]
The beautiful bottle attracted me at first sight.
It's Fruity at the begining. Then it goes to honey, vanilla & mocha in a creamy base on me. Sweet, but not too much. The scent brings me happiness. Love it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 8/28/2009 2:07:00 AM More reviews by 9154mf

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I've read all the reviews and I agree with all of them, yes even the ones that love and hate this. It's a weird perfume and it's one of those that can come off as so different on everyone. Some get mainly coffee, some get no coffee - how can that be possible - it's the same scent?? Anyway, this scent seems to have alot of layers going on and I think what you smell mainly is due to your own chemistry, which explains everyone's different experiences - from rotten eggs, to creamy coffee, to spicy fruits! One thing is agreed though, it has alot of sillage and is very long lasting. And also it reminds me alot of Mira Bai, but this is definetely stronger. It basically opens quite fruity on me (mandarin/kiwi), there are definetely some spices and rose, and a some kind of gourmandy thing going on, but I wouldnt exactly say coffee, I can't really pinpoint it but its some honeyed gourmand concoction. I can (faintly) smell the cedar and woods in the base. I don't get much vanilla either. I can see why this is gag-worthy for some and I believe it is the roses - not just the roses but the way this single scent mingles with the others creates the faintest hint of rotten. I could still wear this though - at night, in winter and just a spray will do.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/10/2009 5:22:00 PM More reviews by tsth

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I was directed to this product after doing a search for something similar to Mira Bai. Even though this does not smell like it at all, it still has the foody/gourmand elements that are appealing to me. This is more floral than expected but very rich foody elements that I love. This is longer lasting than Mira Bai and the sillage is so much better. I think neferttiti's review described my feelings as well.

And the bottle is beautiful!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No