Bite Beauty High Pigment Matte Pencil in Rhubarb

4.1

15 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Organic Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil**, Organic Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil**, Organic Cera Alba (Beeswax)**, Silica*, Organic Argania Spinosa (Argan) Kernel Oil**, Organic Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter**, Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax*, Organic Copernicia Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax**, Tocopherol*, Natural Flavor*, Trans-Resveratrol*, Vitis Vinefera (Grapeseed) Oil*, Siraitia Grosvenori (Monk Fruit)*. May Contain: Mica (Ci 77019)*, Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891)*, Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499)*, Carmine (Ci 75470)*, Fd&C Blue No. 1 (Ci 42090), Fd&C Yellow No. 5 (Ci 19140), Fd&C Yellow No. 6 (Ci 15985), Fd&C Red No. 40 (Ci 16035), D&C Red 6 (Ci 15850), D&C Red 7 (Ci 15850), Manganese Violet (Ci 77742)*. *Natural. **Certified organic.


on 2/24/2015 4:46:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Grey

Did not care for.
The color is fine (if not accurate to it's description for me, read below), but this is very drying and was even hard to apply, it tugged on my lips terrible. I know matte lip products tend to be dry, but this one is especially dry to me, and for the price, no thank you. This color only lasted barely an hour on me, more like half-an-hour, and that was with no talking, no drinking or eating, nothing.

There are similar and even better and more affordable options out there, even the drugstore has far better options and at far better prices.

I know BITE is popular, but to me, this is a dud, a fail. Also when I look at swatches online of this shade, it looks nothing like the one I have, and yes I do indeed have this in Rhubarb, but it looks almost like a brick/burgundy on my lips, and my lips are not really pigmented at all, I am NC20. Online it is described as mauve, and this is not anywhere near a mauve on my lips. I wore this with no other lip product, nothing, just my bare lips.

The cap also was hard to remove at first and continued to be difficult to remove in ensuing applications - you have to really tug and then be careful as to not have the cap mess up the tip when pulled off, as you do have to tug a little...or a lot..

Tug, tug, tug, dry, dry, dry.
No, I would not purchase.



on 2/8/2015 12:06:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

My skin tone: fair-light, N15/N15
Eyes/hair: medium brown

Color:
I LOVE this color. it might be one of my favorite lipsticks of the ~50 lip products I've owned or tried. For everyday wear, it's my favorite. It gives me a slightly darker than MLBB which is perfect - I want to look slightly but not overly made up, and this is enough to make my 31-year old self look slightly older but not toooooo overdone (which is a makeup concern of mine since I'm a prof at a community college!)

Texture & longevity:
I prefer the formula of these pencils over the lipsticks. Not too moist but not dry, either. Lasting power is phenomenal - these last on me as long as I'm not eating pizza. Even wear, easy to reapply (love how it's pencil). If I line &fill in my lips first I get something like 6 hours from these! Rhubarb is no exception. Blotting the 1st layer then a lightly applied second layer works wonders.

Packaging:
One beef of mine with the pencils is that the cap of the pencil gets totally messed up if you let it bounce around your purse for a while. Like the outer layer peels and it looks gross. Store carefully! The matte black material feels luxurious. These pencils are retractable which is handy and classy.

Cost: full size $24 at Sephora. Ouch :( I have the mini from a Christmas set but will definitely pick up the FS.


on 12/17/2014 8:54:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I had seen some talk about Rhubarb being a MLBB ("my lips but better") color for some people, and that might be stretching the definition a bit. I find it much more rosy than my natural lip color which is quite pigmented to begin with. It is a nice neutral rosy color in itself though.

The finish is natural instead of matte as there's a slight sheen, and this works well with my dry lips. It doesn't emphasize my lip lines and it's comfortable to wear. However, this comes with the tremendous trade off, that it doesn't last at all and is prone to transferring a bit too. I drink water and snack constantly so I prefer something with more lasting power, a lip product that is able to keep up with me for an hour at the least.

I also find the packaging to be more finicky than I would like. The cap needs to be placed on carefully or else the tip will smudge all over. After the tip (which comes "sharpened") has worn off, since this is a retractable twist-up, some of the precision the product first had when it was pointy has been lost.

While this is a nice enough color, the lasting power just isn't there. I gave mine away and don't plan on repurchasing more of these pencils (having also tried other colors and experiencing that the formula does not vary much between colors).


on 11/12/2014 12:58:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This does not last very long but the colour is amazing


on 11/10/2014 5:05:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I received this as one of the holiday kits for 2014. There were 4 minis in the kit and this is one of them. A redish tone mauve very nice for everyday wear. I do not find them drying but creamy. staying power is pretty good and there is a stain but you do have to re apply after eating or drinking. This in my opinion is neutral and can be worn with just about any eye lip combo and not be overly strong. Not sure about all the other colors in the kit but this is definitely one I will replace this one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/29/2014 5:16:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is currently my favorite lip color. It's a mauvey rose, which reminds me of my favorite discontinued NARS lipstain, Sayonara. The pencil format makes it easy to apply and the formula is not nearly as dry as the matte pencils. I love the scent of Bite lipcolors and the fact that they use food grade ingredients. If only they lasted longer - I tend to get lip-ring with Bite products because they don't have much lasting power and wear off unevenly.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This has become my new lip obession. I first saw it during a trip to Sephora back in March and was already impressed by how creamy and pigmented the Bite Beauty pencils are, But, I passed on it thinking "Well, I have sooo many lip products". Fast forward to the middle of July, I was on the hunt for a lip product that i could just slide on my lips and go.

I love that this lines and gives your lips color all at the same time. Rhubarb is such a perfect rosy plum mauve and compliments sooo many skintones include my NC 35-37 Skin. I apply this and then follow with Whitening Lightining Gloss in Pouty Princess. such a nice natural rosy lip.

Also, if you're trying to get the SUPER RAVED about Kylie Jenner lip, this pencil will definitely give ya the desired look. Will defnitely repurchase when I'm out.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/19/2014 11:07:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I got this in the Best of Bite holiday set (2013) from Sephora. It was $29 for 4 mini versions(0.05g) of the high pigment lip pencils which is a pretty good value. This was my first encounter with the Bite Brand so I was really excited to try them out!

I ended up trying this shade first. My lips are pretty pigmented and dark so this shade was the perfect MLBB (my lips but better) shade and I ended up wearing this all winter. One swipe and your lips are ready to go! The colours are very creamy, smooth and soft. It's almost a little too soft and if you are too quick when applying it or a bit too heavy handed, it will end up bleeding over your lips.

That would have to be the only downfall. However, I experienced this only with the Rhubarb shade, the other ones I had no problems with bleeding. Hmmmmm...maybe it's because I used it more compared to the others?

I dunno, but I still love them! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/6/2013 8:13:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

I got a travel size of this pencil in the four-piece Best Bite holiday set from Sephora. This is the first pencil from the set that I tried because I'm very drawn to berry shades on my NW20 skin. This is my first experience with Bite products and I am extremely impressed. The finish on these isn't matte, not matte like the NARS pencils are matte. These are very creamy, demi-matte and extremely comfortable to wear. I am so pleased with my purchase and will definitely be looking into the full sized pencils in the future. The travel pencils have .05 oz, which is a generous size considering that one layer will give you good coverage as these are very pigmented. Well worth the $25 price tag.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 9/29/2013 4:58:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I was pleasantly surprised by this lipstick.
It looks quite dark, but it applies lightly, with a slight sheen. I definitely wouldn't classify this as a pure matte- more of a demi-matte.
However, it does not last very long. It seems to disappear soon after i put it on my lips, leaving my lips dry.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
204 Reviews
Provocalips
89 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin



Back to Top