Rita Hazan - root concealer

3.3

12 reviews

58% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 4/7/2015 10:50:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Black

I had an interview and I couldn't make it in to see my hairstylist. I had heard great things about this product so I bought it. And it was a HUGE MISTAKE. First of all it's so matte that it looks like spray paint, it's FREEZING COLD and it gets EVERYWHERE. It was all over my sink, my floor my mirror and my hands. Probably in my lungs too. GREAT. After I cleaned up I tried styling it and it wouldn't move. It was clumped together like some kind of arts and crafts project and my hair looked like helmet so I ended up having to put it in a slicked back ponytail. I scrubbed my hands and headed to the interview. As I pushed the button for the elevator I noticed that I still had dark brown under my nails and in the cuticles, so I ran for the bathroom. This stuff would NOT come off. Also it looked like the humidity made it run a bit and my neck was now stained on the side. FYI: It also does not come off with soap and water. So I decided to leave my jacket on for the interview and hide my hands under the table.

It took 2 days for it to come off my nails, 1 day to come off my neck and it settled into the grout in my bathroom and won't come out.

Also, I did not get the job.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have this in black. I was excited to use this because although I like my colour grey most of the time, sometimes it looks dull or maybe I have an event to attend where grey hair doesn't really go with what I'm wearing. Why hasn't anyone invented this kind of product already?

Maybe cause its really difficult to get it right. Firstly, they say to keep this 6 to 12 inches from your hair which is pretty hard for spot application. The last thing you want is for this product to spray all over your face. Get someone to do it for you while you cover your face.

Secondly, the consistency is like coal. Matte, stiffish and very very dark black so it looks unnatural even on people with black hair. And don't try touching your hair after use. Your hands will be black even hours later. Also, this stuff is expensive for such a tiny bottle. I got mine at Sephora.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/19/2015 3:11:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Covering greys between salon visits is a new activity I have taken up this year. I have had medium to dark cool brown hair for years that has slowly (and initially beautifully) gone white, initally in a streak. Then, the streak more or less took over only one side of my head. The white hair against my pale skin was unflattering and left me looking washed out - not to mention the fact that my kids' elementary school classmates thought I was a grandma.

So, I am on an adventure of trying to bring back the color of my earlier days, and it takes a lot of work given where my white hair is most visible. I read reviews of Rita Hazan's Root concealer and decided to try it. I used the dark brown color.

Here's what it will do:

It will cover. No, it really will. It covered my white hair and gave me a normal brown that blended in with the foiled browns i had in the front.

It will stay put, once it dries. To be fair, I waited 15 minutes before handling, but that did the trick.

It will add body and styling structure to your hair. It made the texture of my fine hair more coarse, and subsequently added body. If you don't mind stiff texture, then you'll love the added style potential you can get out of this product - but you can also brush through it without losing color.

Here's what it won't do:

It won't come out easily. Not at all. I had to mix clarifying shampoo with conditioning shampoo - something no colorist wants you to do, right? - to get it out. You can feel and see the product (see texture note above) after normal shampooing. I wasn't wild about that part.

It won't be that easy to use. Getting application and stream right is an art, not a science.

It won't be cheap. I have gotten more uses out of my can than other reviewers, but I don't have to wash my hair more than 2-3x week.

Ultimately, I would buy this product again for the color match and the staying power, though the texture is not my favorite.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/22/2014 4:38:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This product does what it says it does but unfortunately there is so little product for the price that I only had 3 or 4 uses out of it and for the 30$ CAD what a waste! Unfortunately I'm growing out my natural hair and my roots are very bad so something like this was really my only option. Such a shame it doesn't come in a larger size.


on 11/21/2013 6:50:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Concealing roots between salon visit is a problem for so many of us. I used Root Erase, which I loved, but that has disappeared off the shelves. I got this product at Sephora at a 20% off sale. I would recommend you buy where you can try a tester. The colors are not true to the label description. I am medium brown but bought light brown. It is a perfect match. But, as others have written, much darker than a light brown. Results are instantaneous and last until next shampoo. In many ways, better than drippy color from a box all over the place. Also, it seems to give my hair more body even though I only use it on the part. I will definitely continue to use this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/11/2013 11:13:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This product does a good job on my dark brown hair that is naturally about 70% gray. It's not perfect, but it is a lot better than the grays showing. It looks like my roots are growing out, but at least dark brown roots instead of gray, and much less noticeable. It's quick and easy to apply, and even though it's only one ounce, a little goes a long way. One can of this spray has allowed me to go a long time between several colorings. I style my hair first and just spray where the grays show--primarily my part line. I wash my hair every three days, and it even stays on after only one shampoo, no need to reapply.

That's my main complaint about this product--it is too durable. I have had no problems with it coming off on fingers, sheets, or anything else. I can't even get it out of my hair when I try. In preparation for getting my hair colored, I washed my hair yesterday, again this morning, scrubbing thoroughly, then used soap to scrub my part line really, really well and even in desperation trying rubbing alcohol. Yet about 30% of it still remains in my hair. If I could find a non-damaging way to thoroughly get it out of my hair, I would likely buy it again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/28/2013 11:41:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I bought this ulta the other day because my I couldn't find my normal root concealer. I found it pretty expensive for the size of the bottle. I have light/medium brown highlighted hair and I bought he light brown spray and it was so dark it was more like a dark brown. It also made my roots sticky and if you touched my roots it would rub off. I returned it the next day and with the refund I just spent the money and paid to have my roots done.


on 9/15/2013 1:15:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This stuff is great. It matches my hair color (in light blonde), covers grays, and seems to stay put even when I rinse my hair and put conditioner in it (a necessity for us curly haired types who wash only once a week). I usually touch up my roots at 3 or 3 1/2 weeks and see my hairdresser every 5 or 6. I'm at 4 weeks and counting and I just don't feel the need. It's so much better than my previous product, color mark/touch back, which applied beautifully but wasn't quite the right color, and disappeared after a day or as soon as water touched my hair.)

The trick with application is to really try to hold it 6 to 8 inches away and spray lightly. Doing my hairline is more problematic: I use the comb that comes with color mark to protect the skin and spray it very lightly, again from far away. But I'm only covering my part and two tiny bits at my temple and ear. So far it's lasting well, although I'm always scared I'll turn around and discovered that I've touched up my towels!


on 5/3/2013 9:46:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Firstly let me say that I do not use this to cover grey hairs. I have extremely thin hair on the top of my head and I use this product to make my hair look fuller. It really works too, and my scalp is less visible whenever I use this (which is what I wanted). I do have a couple of issues with the product though, but it wouldn't really stop me from buying it again. The price is ridiculously high, I paid $37 for two tiny aerosol bottles which is way overpriced. The color I use is Dark Blonde even though my hair is light to medium red-brown. I read the reviews of this on QVC and almost all reviews said that the Light Brown color (which is the one I would have chosen) runs very dark, almost black. So the next shade up is the Dark Blonde. It is very slightly too light for my hair, but only slightly. If I spray a lot on then it is visible, but with a normal application the color difference is hardly noticeable. Once I have applied this, I brush my hair afterwards which seems to remove any harsh lines between where the product ends and where my hair color shows through. It really does last and is quite a pain to wash out. But saying that, I live in Florida where it is very humid and this does really stay put. I do use Joan Rivers Great Hair Day more than this spray though, just because it works out cheaper in the end (and the color is better) but this spray I have to say does look more natural with less product. The Joan Rivers powder I have to apply almost over my whole head in order for the thin areas to look fuller. With the spray I only need to add it to below my part because it is less dense than the powder application (if that makes sense). If this spray was made a whole lot cheaper, and the color range was expanded, then I would wear this all the time. As it is though, it does what I want it to and leaves me feeling less self conscious about my thin hair even if I can't afford to wear it all the time.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/7/2012 4:05:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have very light blonde hair and I never have the money to get my roots touched up when they are growing out soon enough at the salon. Here is my solution! This brande comes in every color ( i need platinum blonde) Just spray it on the roots and you have an instant highlight job. It lasts until your jnext shampoo---great for an event you have to go to, but no time or money for a salon! This is just so awesome!!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Popular Hair Color Products


Olia
373 Reviews
Colorsilk
711 Reviews


Back to Top