Maybelline Baby Lips lip balm in Grape Vine

4.0

76 reviews

73% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 4/26/2015 5:35:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Grey

Reminds me a bit of Clinique Black Honey! I collect BabyLips--I have almost all of them including most LE since I started collecting (except Dr Rescue & the neons! Those collections did not appeal to me). This looks scary dark in the tube but goes on slightly warm red-brown-purple tinted. Makes my lips feel soft & is kinda like a grownup's Lipsmacker. BabyLips isn't called that because its marketed for young people necessarily, (im surprised nobody has applied to to their baby as makeup for babies lol), it's coz ur lips will feel smooth like a baby's skin but I could be wrong if I am correct me!! Nobody is going to go buy a product called "adult lips" that just seems all wrong on so many levels lol. I love these & will keep buying them. They moisturize my lips well & I like the colors. I'm more of a lipgloss person than lipstick at times so these suit me well. These are a cute gimmicky product initially but they stand up to the test of time. Maybelline Color Whisper is also good. This is one of the hardest shades to find coz usually w good reason they are sold out in displays. I did not notice much taste/aroma. I've got approx ~50 BabyLips & Color Whispers combined in my stash!!



Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I own four of the Baby Lips, and I find that this one is the greasiest. Great for me though :) I guess I like greasy lip balm over waxy lip balm. But that means this won't last long. You do need to reapply it often if you want to maintain the colour. And if you aren't careful, this will smear off your lips. I'm not bothered by this though.

I don't recall which ridiculous and oddly specific claims were made regarding this product, but (as to be expected) they are horse poop. In truth though, this does make my lips look better. My lips are pretty sensitive to weather and I'm a habitual lip-chewer, but even after this has worn off, my lips are softer and look better. This seems to have a nice plumping effect to it. It fills out any sunken lines. As a lip balm, I do really like this.

My favourite part about this one is the colour. My skin is very pale, so dark purple lip colour is pretty off-limits. Overly cool-toned lip colours make me look ill. This is a warm-coloured purple shade. It's very sheer. Not natural, it's freaking purple, but it goes on sheer and not garish. Really pretty colour. I'm amazed that it looks okay on me.

I think the packaging is a touch childish and tacky, and I would feel a bit silly pulling this out somewhere public. It's kind of cute though, it is called Baby Lips so I don't think it's pretending to be anything mature :) the twist-up is kind cheap and this is a bit too soft to be a good twist-up, but it makes applying it easy.

I'll be very sad when this is discontinued, and I will continue to repurchase this as long as it is available. Way to go, Maybelline. This stuff is really great.


on 1/7/2015 5:55:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I read about these on the "Nouveau Cheap" blog, I think. I was looking for a drugstore tinted lip balm. Picked up this color, since it seemed close to what a MAC salesman once told me (15 years ago) was my natural lip color. Why, yes, I have zero confidence in figuring out what colors look good on me by myself, and always seek advice and affirmation from professionals. Anyway, initial application is fine and dandy: I get a nice hint of color, it smells good, applies smoothly, my lips look pretty and moist: yay. Then, after a few minutes have gone by, comes the sucky part: my lips feel so parched they turn weirdly sticky. It's most unpleasant, and requires immediate reapplication (which continues the cycle). I basically used up the tube just for the sake of finishing it- although my lips on average felt better if I did *not* use this- and will never re-purchase.

I did also pick up the "Fierce and Tangy" Baby Lips, mainly because I thought the fluorescent yellow was such a kick. Same results. The lemon scent is nice, but this formula just does not work for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/4/2015 7:51:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

baby lips are super cute but don't last very long for me (that might be because i'm a very avid lipwear user). it felt nice on my lips, not sticky like some people say, and the color is beautiful :D

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 12/13/2014 7:16:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I purchased this after watching a YouTube review, as I was intrigued. I typically go for more pink shades, but I thought I would be adventurous, and I'm sure glad I did! I'm a fan of most babylips, but this color is my favorite!! In the tube, the color looks intimidating, but on, it creates the most gorg rapper berry/wine/plum color. It's pigmented, and shows up beautifully. It's not opaque like a lipstick would be, but gives great color. I get a ton of compliments on this when I wear it, and it has quickly become my favorite! Def give it a try, you'll be elated that you did. And at $3-4....it's a steal!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

When I first bought this I really thought I'd eventually get bored of it and it would be sitting in my unwanted makeup pile. That is so not the case with this. I use it almost every day since it first came out and have repurchased it many times. It truly keeps my lips hydrated and makes me look more alive especially after my 12 hr shifts. I sometimes wear this under some of my super nude lipsticks and lip liners for a more wearable and flattering look. I've tried other baby lips colors/flavors and haven't had as good of an experience with them in terms of texture and flexible use.


on 4/20/2014 7:53:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I love the idea of a tinted lip balm: a slight sheen of color with all the down-to-earth benefits and ease of use of a lip balm! The bright packaging is cute and fun, and the lip balm itself smells like grape-flavored candy. The color of the lip balm itself looks intimidatingly dark purple but goes on a sheer, soft berry. I like it well enough, especially since it includes SPF. However, I do notice that my lips start feeling dry more quickly than when I use my plain old Chapstick, so I may experiment with other brands of tinted lip balms before I try other colors of this line.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

The product: color is amazing, a beautiful light raspberry. The formula is terrific; it has a creamy feel and leaves my lips soft and lush and moisturized. Love it! It smells great too, like a grape tart pie.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/18/2014 7:45:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have gone through about 3 tubes of this so far! Its moisturizing, but you do have to reapply throughout the day. It gives the best "your lips but better" type color and it smells and feels amazing! :D

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/9/2014 2:39:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The smell on this is strong, and it can get greasy and slick feeling if you apply too much. However, it moisturizes well and has a pretty tint


Popular Lip Treatments


Baby Lips Lip Balm
1503 Reviews
Prep + Prime Lip
176 Reviews
lip maximizer
98 Reviews


Back to Top