August 30, 2014 | 956 users online

Eyeliner - GOSH - Long Lasting Eyeliner Pen

no image

rated 3.6(12 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.6
  • 66% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.7
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 on 3/24/2014 10:45:00 AM More reviews by anaelleee

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I bought this eyeliner 3 months ago and it already is dying on me. I do not use it everyday and the consistency is already changing. It used to be a more opaque black but now it is terribly WATERY and GREY when it is supposed to be "Carbon Black"! I paid $15 CAD, which I consider expensive for a drugstore product and considering how it FLAKES after a few hours and is watery, it is not worth the price at all. I have the artliner by GOSH as well, discontinued though, and it is much better than this. There are def cheaper and better liners out there...into the garbage this goes, *sigh*.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/20/2014 6:43:00 AM More reviews by gizmondo

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

Love this eyeliner - I can put this on in the morning and lasts all day. It doesn't flake or fall below the lash line.

It has a felt tip nib and is easy to apply (it doesn't drag), you get just the right amount to apply and makes application a doddle.

This is a lower priced brand, but its excellent value and does a great job

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/20/2013 12:01:00 AM More reviews by jamdorothy

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Black

I've been using this eye liner for about a year now and it's been my HG liner. It took me a while to find something that worked for me and my skin. I've tried high-end to drug store and this is so far the one I like best. I also used to use GOSH's extreme art liner but found it to be quite a pain to take off since it REALLY sticks to your skin.

PROS:
-Lasts me all day with my extremely oily lids.
-Felt tip applicator is easier (personally) to use than a brush tip.
-Comes off at the end of the day with plain soap and water (some people may find it a con that it rubs off in little clumps/balls but I find that to be better than a smudge causing raccoon eyes).
-Formula's consistency is pretty opaque.
-One tube lasts me about 2-3 months, and I use it almost every day for a thicker cat eye.

CONS:
-It is not a "pen" like its name suggests. It is actually a felt tip applicator that is dipped into the smaller tube with the liquid in it.
-A little more expensive than I'd like it to be ($15 in Toronto), but I suppose it's worth the price.
-When product is running out, the formula dries out a little and going over a line causes it to erase, but that's after a couple months of using it.
-Product builds up in the top and makes it hard to close properly probably causing a shorter life span (but for a 2-3 month lifespan I guess I shouldn't complain)

Personally the cons on my list aren't deal breakers when considering to repurchase this product. I'd love for it to be a real pen style liner but the dip-in style is manageable. Overall I love this product but I'm still on the look out for a real pen style liner with the same formula as this!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 1/1/2013 5:49:00 PM More reviews by celinelovesmakeup

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium Eyes: Green

While packaging and the applicator are of fairly good quality, the eye- liner itself is truly disappointing.
It is watery and has a staying power of maximum 3 hours, then it breaks up and smears..I was already disappointed by another Gosh-product ( eye shadow) so I will not buy this brand again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 12/14/2012 5:46:00 PM More reviews by shilojean

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

I bought this liner on October 26th, it is now Dec 14th and it's junk.

I bought it in a fit of boredom shopping hoping that since I've tried nearly high-end black felt-tip liquid liner, perhaps some drugstore options might be better.
At first it was great. The liner would go on smooth and with tons of pigment and stay inky-black all day until it was time to take it off and go to bed. After about a month, things started changing. Now, 6 weeks after initial purchase, the liner goes on watery and thin and the opacity of pigment is a joke. It would take three or four applications to achieve the same opacity it had when it was new.

At $15 it's only slightly cheaper than Stila or Makeupforever felt-tip equivalent products that last far longer and are returnable if they go bad like this one has.

Two stars because I did get a full month of very good use out of it, but only two because I expect at least 2.5-3 months of solid use from a liner, if not longer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/14/2012 10:28:00 PM More reviews by Roxas

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium Eyes: Green

I adore this product. As a cosplayer, I'm constantly looking for reliable eyeliner that's dark enough to show up in photos, and Gosh's Carbon Black is definitely perfect for it. It applies smoothly, and the thin tip is easy to work with. While I had some difficulties with wings before, I found them no trouble at all with how easily this eyeliner applies.
It is definitely long lasting as I can put it on at four in the morning, spend all day at a convention and find it looking just as good at midnight when I get home.
Unlike what some other reviewers say, I've found this to completely waterproof. I was pushed into a pool in it and there was so running of any sort, and I have also forgotten about it and ended up showering, only to find it still on and just as dark as before.
It's easily removed with makeup wipes, soap and water, just water, or even scrubbing with a dry towel/your fingers.
Overall I adore this product and would certainly buy it again, despite the slightly more expensive price of $15.99 (Shoppers Drug Mart).

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/8/2012 12:52:00 PM More reviews by KarlieSA

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I love this eye liner. It is easy to work with the felt tip and the color is awesome. I bought this in Black and it was really black. It sets up or drys farily quickly so you need to work fast with it. I will be keeping this stocked in my drawer for sure.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 10/4/2012 9:31:00 AM More reviews by angekronaus

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

it has a really nice felt applicator which does not scratch the skin & application is easy allowing you to build up thickness & colour intensity as you require.
i would have liked the purple to be just a little bit lighter but alas, i do like the darkness of this one.
i swatched all the colours : grey is lovely & i would purchase this. the green was far too dark. i prefer the eyeko green if i was to purchase green. the brown is really dark & looks almost black, the black was not extreme black & could have been a dark grey IMO.
this product is not waterproof unfortunately so do bear this in mind when using.
a good alternative to higher brands but i still prefer my MAC penultimate liner in black more.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 9/9/2012 10:43:00 AM More reviews by sugarbaby4

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I tested the eyeliner on my head. The gray color with silvery glitters is the best color out of the three. The packaging is good and applicator is easy to draw a thin line. I can control the thickness of the line after drawing few lines on my head.

It dried very quickly and color stayed on my head even I rub it 10+ times. However, I went home 15 minutes after I applied it on my head and washed it with water.....It cracked, scattered, and disappeared. For me, a "long lasting" eyeliner at least must be waterproof...

Its performance is not comparable to MAC liquidlast. For me, MAC liquidlast is waterproof and smudgeproof for at least 18 hr. MAC fluidline is waterproof and smudgeproof for 8 hr.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/7/2012 2:11:00 AM More reviews by xxxtiina

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

This. Is. AMAZING. I have the oiliest hooded lids in the world and even high-end gel liners smudge onto the tops of my eyelids after a few hours - not a good look. (I *could* use primer.. But meh.)


But this stuff truly is long-lasting - the only thing that comes close for me is MAC Liquidlast. And the GOSH colours are way better - I have it in 004 (Grey), which is beautiful and subtle, but still classic enough to do a cats-eye flick. (I have thick glasses and pure black tends to make my eyes look smaller, while blues and purples look like the 80s exploded all over my face, so this shade is a godsend!!!)


It has a lovely understated shimmer and the thin pointed sponge thingy makes application easy and precise. For such a long lasting liner it dries quickly. The other shades are absolutely beautiful too - the Black Brass is particularly lovely, black with a greenish copper tint.


Over the course of the day you may need to reapply - it forms a film which sits on top of the skin skin and much like Liquidlast, bits of it flake away after a few hours if your lids are uber-oily like mine. But this is way better than smudging/transfer! It remains to be seen whether it turns thick and gloopy after a few weeks like Liquidlast - but I don't think it will since the formula is thinner.


Packaging isn't luxurious, but for 6.49 who cares - especially since the applicator is good. Overall, highly recommended; if Superdrug ever discontinue this I will cry bitter tears. If you struggle to find an eyeliner which stays, in colours other than black/brown/navy, seriously buy it now.

Is this review helpful? Yes No