October 31, 2014 | 1196 users online

Lipstick - Revlon - Colorburst Lip Butter - Fig Jam



image 0image 1image 2

rated 4.5(83 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.5
  • 89% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.8
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 10/15/2014 10:42:00 PM More reviews by yjanney

Age: 36-43 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

Love this color! I never would have bought this because I'm timid about dark lip colors. After reading the reviews here, I gave it a shot and was pleasantly surprised. This is a sheer, brownish-berry shade that can work with casual or dressier looks. The only thing I'd wish to change is the formula. I like how this is buttery, not dry or thick and goopy, but I'd really love if this could be more of a long-lasting stain. However, this is a great DS lippy and I'll continue to keep stocked up on this!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/13/2014 7:17:00 PM More reviews by Lele188

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

My new favourite lipstick, Great product.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/12/2014 4:28:00 AM More reviews by santhi83

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

love the color on my lips,just natural

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/21/2014 7:18:00 PM More reviews by xxxcarol

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Other

Echoing some of the other positive reviews--love this stuff and always have it with me. They say you can tell if a lipstick is a good color for you by applying it to a completely makeup free face--it should bring your face alive anyway. Don't know exactly why this one works but it does. I used to be a full-on red lipstick girl but at my age now it can look harsh. On me this is a brown-y deep red that gives a warm, sexy, juicy/bitten look without trying so hard. And it does go on like butter-- while that doesn't last long a bit of a stain does. Sometimes I use a lip brush for more finish, sometimes just dab from the tube or with fingers. When it gets messy halfway through the tube I scrape the rest into a little pot. I have no use for Revlon products except some of their lipsticks and nail polishes, but I live in fear of this being discontinued!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 7/16/2014 10:44:00 PM More reviews by chayaNY

Age: Unknown Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I keep reading reviews that say this is a universal MLBB shade. I gueuss I'm the odd duck because this is very unflattering on me. I'm very fair olive, lean very yellow with dark brown hair, brown eyes. On me this is a very dark brown that leans cool. It's muddy, very pigmented which in this case is a con because it's impossible for me to dab on just a bit in an attempt to get some use out of this. Just not wearable.

This seems more pigmented than the other LB's I've tried. It's sans shimmer/sparkle just beware its a very deep shade which is not mitigated by being sheer, nor glossy as it's neither.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 6/11/2014 11:14:00 PM More reviews by Rachel1234

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

Fig Jam has been my go to color since I bought it a few weeks ago. It's a rich, passionate color. It makes my lips look plump and sexy. I love how moisturizing it is. It wears evenly and leaves behind a slight hint of color. I adore how easy it is to apply ...... because of it's sheer formula ..... literally no mirror, no lip liner, straight from the tube gorgeous!

It is very much like Clinique's Black Honey (which I've used for years and also love), except Black Honey is a deep berry-red, and Fig Jam is more of a deep brownish-brick red. I know that description doesn't sound so hot, but it really doesn't do it justice. Fig Jam looks gorgeous on lips. I swear. It is the EXACT color of the inside of a fig. It is rich, intense, mysterious and passionate. And I feel like all those things when I wear it. I have no idea why, but it makes me feel comfortably sexy. Like I don't even have to try.

Really love this lippy! :)


.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 5/24/2014 6:07:00 PM More reviews by annaharris_227

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is my first Colorburst Lip Butter (yes...shocker! LOL!), and I love the texture and thickness of it. Very smooth going on, easy to apply, and it's medium thickness. So it's not so thin that it'll wear off in ten minutes, but not so thick that it's goopy. The color, Fig Jam, is very similar to Clinique Black Honey on my lips, except for that it's more brown. I'm an NC20-30, BB Sand, MUFE 118, to give you an idea of my skin tone. This isn't an exact dupe of Black Honey, but it's a close match!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/2/2014 6:34:00 PM More reviews by trickmaus

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

Wow. I didn't know how much I would love this lipstick.

While I'm a huge fan of lip colour, I'm also very prone to low maintenance makeup, things that I can apply and forget. But I was in need of a random pick me up, and this had fabulous reviews, so I dubiously bought this dark little tube of lipstick, hoping that it wouldn't be TOO dark on my incredibly fair skin.

When I applied it, I couldn't believe how amazing it looked. The colour is incredibly sheer, so even as pale as I am, it doesn't look like too much...someone else called it a "vampy natural" look, which I didn't even realize was a thing. But it is, and it's this lipstick. Now, this doesn't last well at all...but that's not really the goal of the product. It feels lovely on my lips, not at all drying, and makes me feel kinda sexy :) highly recommended for pale types!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/13/2014 1:20:00 PM More reviews by macshine

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

One of the few lip butters that wasn't overhyped!

Not only is this my favorite Revlon Color Burst Lip Butter, it's one of my top 5 favorite lip products, HANDS DOWN. (I've gone through 2 tubes and halfway through my 3rd) Like all the lip butters, it's great' easy makeup. It glides on easy, it's smooth, not sticky, and if you trust yourself enough, you could do it without a mirror. It moistens more so than other pigmented lip color products nut not as much as a dedicated balm. The color starts off sheer, but it's buildable.

The best thing about Fig Jam though is the color! In the tube, it looks like a deep rusty brown, almost like red clay. Swatched on your skin, the color appears to be a sheer dark red, maybe brick-like with some plum tones. On the lips, Fig Jam comes off as natural, but dark. It's striking. I call it my "vampy without trying too hard" lip color. It's just a sexy yet natural looking plum-red.

I can only think of two cons for this product. The first is that, like all lip butters, they're not long lasting. Which is fine, they don't claim to be long lasting, so I just throw it in my bad and reapply it throughout the day, but this leads me to my next problem. When I first use lip butters, they're fine, but once I get halfway though the tube, especially if I travel with them, they get SO MESSY in their own packaging. It gets difficult for me to apply without getting lipstick all over the silver tube, which then get's smudged over the inside of the cap. On warmer days, the consistency of the lipstick can get softer, and more pliable, which makes it even messier, but these are minor issues, and have no effect on my love for this product and shade.

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/30/2014 4:08:00 PM More reviews by carling

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Revlon lip butters have become a holy grail product for me. I have just about every color with Fig Jam, Creamsicle, and Gumdrop as my 3 faves. I love my lipstick, but rarely wear it in the winter season. because the Chicago weather wrecks havoc on my poor lips. I have to use EOS lip balm, Vaseline, and humidifiers everyday to combat chapped lips.

What makes the Revlon Lip Butters special is they moisturize and sooth like a lip balm, but they are very pigmented like a lipstick, yet they impars shine like a lip gloss. I actually apply a little EOS balm before applying my lip butter. Again, my lips are super dry in the winter, so these babies are a Godsend for me. This one product that I HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No