January 26, 2015 | 1809 users online

Lipstick - Revlon - Colorburst Lip Butter - Fig Jam



image 0image 1image 2

rated 4.5(88 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.5
  • 89% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.9
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 1/22/2015 1:34:00 AM More reviews by Babsfree

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

I'm really surprised I'm rating this so high considering so many products I've used and purchased are not even rate-worthy on here. This is worthy of the highest rating you can give it: 5 lippies. And yes, I'd buy it again.
When I bought this I couldn't wait to try it out so I applied it in the Walgreen's parking lot right after purchasing it!
Sadly this color is discontinued so if you love this or want to try it out you better go out and find this ASAP!
This color is fancy enough to wear out on a night on the town or low key enough to wear to work. It's a somewhat dark plummy-wine color with a hint of brown, it's not matte but not extremely shiny either. This is a color any age woman can wear too, I say this because I'm in my mid 30's and feel like once a woman reaches a certain age, you just outgrow some things such as super shiny lips and extremely dark lipsticks, but this color is age appropriate for any woman imo.
It's moisturizing but I do think it's also somewhat drying too so I apply a light layer of Chapstick before I put this on. It actually lasts for quite awhile on me which is a feat for me considering nothing lasts on my lips very long.
The one thing I hate about this lip butter is the packaging. The tube is hard to open! omg, I've tried to put my nail under the lid to open it which resulted in me nearly ripping a nail off (I ended up bending my thumb nail back. Ouch!), using my teeth to open it (not a good idea), placing the tube in my hand and using my thumb to "pop" it open by trying to slide it open with my thumb, this was not effective either. All attempts to open it have yielded difficult results. I've now taken off several chunks from the top part of the lipstick so now my lipstick is disfigured and I have to figure out how to apply it to the top lip cause I'm missing portions of the top of the lipstick. I'm hoping Revlon makes these easier to open someday.
I went out and purchased 2 back up tubes after I bought my first one to try out and they were over half off the price of one tube, so I paid $6.50 for both tubes at Walgreens.
This color wears so well on my pale NC10 skin, light grey-blue eyes and red hair. It looks stunning against my pale skin and steel colored eyes. I may pick up another tube at my local Walgreen's cause my Walgreen's is so well stocked for Revlon's lip butters but I already have 3 full tubes so far.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/21/2015 3:53:00 PM More reviews by keelee008

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I found fig jam at big lots for 2 dollars, I put it on as soon as I got home, fell in love and I'm going back later today to buy a few more since it's discontinued.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/6/2015 2:19:00 AM More reviews by HBS310

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I truly hope this product has not been discontinued; the store where I usually buy it had it on clearance a couple of weeks ago so I wisely bought up the three remaining tubes they had. It reminds me of Clinique Almost Lipstick in Black Honey and MAC lipstick in Sheer Plum, but I actually prefer this one because the texture is creamier and takes fewer applications to get a deep, glossy wine color. I also love the hint of brown in the base; because of that it flatters everyone but is especially beautiful on redheads and deep brunettes. It even works in a pinch as cheek color if you happen to find yourself without blush. All around, a great product; five stars all the way!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/27/2014 5:21:00 PM More reviews by SuziH

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Red, Curly, Medium Eyes: Blue

I had wanted to try Fig Jam for awhile, but each time I looked for it in the store (Target, CVS, Walgreens, you name it!), the slot on the display was always empty. I assumed that either this shade is so popular that it is always sold out, or Revlon had discontinued. This past week, my husband and I were vacationing in St. Augustine, FL for the holidays, and I stopped in a CVS while we were there. I happened to glance at the Revlon display, and I found not one, but TWO tubes of the elusive Fig Jam! Needless to say, I bought them both, in the hopes that the shade works for me like it does for so many others.

This shade rocketed straight to the top of my list of favorite lipsticks! I have a very fair complexion with pale yellow undertones, blue eyes, and long auburn curls. With that combination, I feel like my lips need a bit more color so I don't look washed-out, and this is perfect. Fig Jam is a sheer warm red-brown on me that perfectly complements my unusual hair color, it looks natural and polished without looking too made-up. I find it to be a "safe" color to wear to work, yet glamorous enough to wear to a New Years Eve fete. It even pairs well with jeans for the weekend.

The older I get, comfort of a lipstick has become more important to me. I find Fig Jam wears quite comfortably like a balm on the lips, not drying, and sheer enough that it doesn't feel like a sticky gloss or a thick paste of lipstick. Like others have said, Fig Jam leaves behind a bit of a stain so that even after it wears off, I'm left with a slight tint. I do reapply every couple of hours, and/or after meals. Although there is a faint vanilla-scent upon first application, it dissipates quickly and it isn't noticeable. I especially like that there is no taste...some of Revlon's lipsticks have been unwearable for me in the past, but not this!

As an artist, I will illustrate my thoughts of this color by referring you to one of my favorite paintings: "Hylas and the Nymphs," painted in 1896 by John William Waterhouse. The lovely and dangerous fair Nymphs who beckon to Hylas from their sylvan spring all appear to be wearing Fig Jam on their lips.

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/19/2014 9:23:00 AM More reviews by celticcavegirl

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Green

For some reason, this shade of lip butter is only sold in the US. However I love it so much that I order it online in bulk, as I wear it every day!

My natural lip colour is very pink, so I need browny reds if I want a reddish tinge. This is perfect, goes on in seconds, and looks great with my pale ivory skin and dark hair. It's a very natural flushed look.
It doesn't last that long, so I also like to layer it over more long-lasting lipsticks (which tend to be dry), to give a bit of moisture and sheen

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/15/2014 6:29:00 PM More reviews by squint

Age: 36-43 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral Hair: Red, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

This is the only lipstick I buy in multiple and the one I reach for almost every day. Someone referred to it here as a 'vampy natural' and I think that's perfect-- it's a very sexy, red-flushed sheer brown that looks like my mouth but better. Staying power is not its forte, but it's very moisturizing... I go through it more at the rate I do lip balm rather than other lipsticks (Clinique's Black Honey would be an exception), but CVS seems to put it on sale regularly and I don't really mind. I like the smell, I like the taste, and I even like the packaging. If it had a little more staying power, it would be perfect!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 10/15/2014 10:42:00 PM More reviews by yjanney

Age: 36-43 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

Love this color! I never would have bought this because I'm timid about dark lip colors. After reading the reviews here, I gave it a shot and was pleasantly surprised. This is a sheer, brownish-berry shade that can work with casual or dressier looks. The only thing I'd wish to change is the formula. I like how this is buttery, not dry or thick and goopy, but I'd really love if this could be more of a long-lasting stain. However, this is a great DS lippy and I'll continue to keep stocked up on this!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/13/2014 7:17:00 PM More reviews by Lele188

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

My new favourite lipstick, Great product.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/12/2014 4:28:00 AM More reviews by santhi83

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

love the color on my lips,just natural

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/21/2014 7:18:00 PM More reviews by xxxcarol

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Other

Echoing some of the other positive reviews--love this stuff and always have it with me. They say you can tell if a lipstick is a good color for you by applying it to a completely makeup free face--it should bring your face alive anyway. Don't know exactly why this one works but it does. I used to be a full-on red lipstick girl but at my age now it can look harsh. On me this is a brown-y deep red that gives a warm, sexy, juicy/bitten look without trying so hard. And it does go on like butter-- while that doesn't last long a bit of a stain does. Sometimes I use a lip brush for more finish, sometimes just dab from the tube or with fingers. When it gets messy halfway through the tube I scrape the rest into a little pot. I have no use for Revlon products except some of their lipsticks and nail polishes, but I live in fear of this being discontinued!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No