April 21, 2014 | 1190 users online

Lipstick - Revlon - Colorburst Lip Butter - Candy Apple

rated 4.4(105 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.4
  • 82% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.8
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 4/20/2014 3:03:00 PM More reviews by foppery

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

Of the five Lip Butters I've tried, Candy Apple has my favorite formula by far. No shimmer or glitter, just a soft shine. It's the only Lip Butter I would actually call moisturizing, and it has an unusual jelly-like glow that's very flattering to my dry lips. Being cool-toned, I tend to avoid orange-reds, but Candy Apple is an exception to my "no orange" rule. Because of its sheerness, it looks surprisingly natural when worn; I can build it up to near-opacity with two or three coats, but it never looks harsh or garish. I find that it wears for two or three hours if I don't eat anything, and it stains very lightly when it wears off, but it doesn't have the longevity or staying power of a regular lipstick. That's fine with me; it doesn't claim to be a long-lasting lip product, and I don't mind reapplying now and again. Overall, Candy Apple is a really superior lip product, especially for the price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/19/2014 12:16:00 AM More reviews by familiarplaces

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I've tried all the red variations of the Revlon Lip Butters (except for Red Velvet) and this one is my favorite. I've already run out of mine and immediately repurchased. Here's a comparison:

Cherry Tart - This shade is a cooler red with a noticeable hint of shimmer. Candy Apple is straight-up cream.

Wild Watermelon - This shade is more coral and more pink compared to Candy Apple's warm orangey red.

Raspberry Pie - The formulation and pigmentation is very similar, but of course, Raspberry Pie is a totally different hue as it leans more purple/orchid.

I probably won't be complaining about the price if I lived in the US, but the mark-up for this is pretty high where I live. It can for around USD$12.00

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/21/2014 9:28:00 PM More reviews by justanne

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I HATE wearing lipsticks because they seem to do all sorts of humiliating things like leave you w/ dry lips, transfer on just about everything, stain your teeth and so on & so forth. That's why on most days, just to take away the paleness of my lips, I go for something like a lip tint..... Until I met this. It's the same color payoff like that of a tint minus the drying part. It looks pretty scary on the tube (uber red) but when applied, it leaves you with just the right amont of red with a hint of orange. Yeah, like I said, think korean lip tint. And put a gloss over it & bam! Candy Apple for you. I am in love with this and I reach for it a lot these days because it's perfect for that pop of color w/o looking too intimidating. My only gripe about it is that the packaging feels a bit flimsy. It's made of plastic so I don't think it's going to survive if you drop it multiple times. Overall, I would recommed!!! xx

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/30/2013 7:26:00 AM More reviews by payphonesandcollarbones

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I am in love with this! Stays forever on my lips (or at least until I eat a meal, but sometimes it won't budge even then!).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 12/28/2013 9:57:00 AM More reviews by ichigocutie

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I have 3 different lip butters and candy apple is my favorite shade out of the three. I'm not a red lipstick kinda girl, I always feel like it makes me look older lol but lately I've been rocking the gradient lips and I like using candy apple in the inner lips. It isn't long lasting at all and I feel like even tho I only use it a few times it seems that I used a good chunk of it. I guess it's because of the formulation. It's a good lipstick for beginners and a newbie to red lipstick. Will I repurchase? NO. I only repurchase HG and this lipstick is not HG for me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/27/2013 4:16:00 PM More reviews by phanamore

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This works really well on my skintone, which was a surprise because bright colours normally dont work on me. I dont really like wearing red lipsticks either but i really enjoyed this one!

It had great pigmentation and it lasted most of the day. It didnt dry out my lips and other lipsticks often do and when it started to fade it wasnt patchy and only needed a small amount to make it look fresh (if that makes sense?) again.

My only problem is packaging. I like the colour co-ordination on the packaging but the lid is so long theres not much to hold on to when your taking the lid off.

I would recommend this to everyone who doent wear bright lip colours or are looking for a good first red lipstick :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/23/2013 1:49:00 AM More reviews by hcpp

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

Up till about a year ago, I stayed away from lipstick - let alone brightly coloured ones. Only put them on on occasions and because of my tanned skin tone, I felt that red/ brightly coloured lip products didn't match my skin tone - and to top it off, I felt they often made my teeth look extremely yellow!

Decided to give this a go since it was at a really good price at the airport. And I love it!
1. I have really sensitive skin. Sometimes putting products on my face will cause it to itch and dry out. And if I'm really unlucky, an eczema breakout strikes! But this was okay. Moisturizing too.
2. The product is kind of like a cross between a lipstick, lip balm, and gloss. BUT - You know how when the wind blows, hair gets all over the place.. and with some lip products you end up with hair stuck to your lips cause the lip product's pretty much like glue? Doesn't happen with this!
3. I think this shade is a good starting point for those who were like me - afraid to try out the reds and the bright coloured products.
4. Price - super affordable. I live in Singapore, but usually stock up on lip butters when I travel. I can't remember how much I got this for at the airport but in Batam it's only about SGD8.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 11/11/2013 12:08:00 AM More reviews by outdoorsgal

Age: 44-55 Skin: Other, Other, Warm Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I like Candy Apple but not as much as Red Velvet. Why? It's not as pigmented and doesn't flatter my skin tone as much as Red Velvet but I still like it for those days when I want a nice pop of colour on my lips but without the 'glam' look.
The colour is orange based whereas Red Velvet is brown based but still a nice red.
The texture is a bit more glossy than Red Velvet and the staying power isn't as great but it's one of those colours where you can apply straight from the tube without a mirror.
If you want a nice, every day red, this is an option.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/3/2013 4:29:00 AM More reviews by GlisteningSheen

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm Hair: Black, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

Lipstick for lipstick scary cats!

Price: About £8 from Boots (England) but often on a 3 for 2 offer. In Singapore I've bought them for about $14 SGD. Not a bad price at all for the quality and colour selection.

Packaging: Love how the lids are colour coordinated to the colour of the lipstick inside and how the top of the lid is clear so you can see the colour of the lipstick. A bit tricky to open at times as the lid is so long that there isn't much of a base to hold on to whilst pulling
the lid off!

Product: These are very moisturising like a lip balm, have a glossy sheen like a lip gloss and have the colour of a lipstick. A great combination of all 3 products in 1!!! Candy Apple is a great red for beginners or if like me you get intimidated and scared by a full on opaque red lip then this is a great alternative. The colour is sheer
but buildable so the intensity of the red can be built up so to make it more opaque without being too full on. A great red for day time wear.

Lasts a good 6 hours depending on eating/drinking habits. Whilst the gloss like sheen may fade after a couple of hours, I find that the
colour lasts for quite a few more hours and fades evenly. I only reapply this after I've eaten/drunk something otherwise I just let the colour fade naturally.

Not at all drying even when I've used it for several days in a row.
Great selection of colours and reasonably priced. Would definitely recommend especially if you're not a fan of very opaque lipsticks, like me.

GlisteningSheen xxx

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/5/2013 2:55:00 PM More reviews by judiness

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I love the lip butters and this one is a gorgeous shade. I have to say it is too warm for my coloring but it would look great on a darker woman than me with warmer complexion.

As always this feels great, leaves a slight stain on the lips and has a glossy finish.

Is this review helpful? Yes No