NARS Joyous Red

3.8

10 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 11/18/2012 9:56:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is a nice orangey red. It isn't too bright and is good for a professional environment. It lasts around 3-4 hours before needing reapplication. The only negative is that it's a bit dry.



on 8/31/2012 1:06:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Joyous Red is a muted orange red that I would describe as conservative and safe, yet beautiful. It looks great on my warm, deep skin tone. It's moisturizing and long lasting with good pigmentation and a touch of a gleaming shimmery effect. This is probably most appropriate for Fall and Winter months, but could easily be worn all year round. It's also office friendly and is buildable if you want a sheerer or more opaque effect.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/3/2012 3:49:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Nice lipstick but not really my colour. Its a really warm red, It did last all day eating drinking etc but I found it to be a bit dry. Wouldn't repurchase.


on 12/3/2011 1:24:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

As a brunette with fair skin, I never thought I could wear orangey reds, but this shade has proven me wrong. I LOVE it. Wore it the other day with a navy dress and UD Naked eye (primarily Darkhorse) and couldn't get enough of the look. I will definitely be purchasing another as it's LE and it's such a wearable everyday red- that would transition well to night and party!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/22/2011 12:53:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Yawn...nothing exciting here...shame on Nars!


Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

A gorgeous, very wearable warm red shade (NARS describes it as "amber red", which is pretty accurate) with subtle gold flecks in it. It is semi-matte finish, but is not overly drying for a matte lipstick and wears fairly long 4-5 hours. The unfortunate thing is that it is limited edition for the 2011 NARS holiday collection, which means I will need to go purchase a backup tube. This is the perfect everyday red for fall and winter.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/15/2011 10:12:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is a gorgeous shade of what the website describes as "amber red," though there are hints of orange. For a red lipstick, it is very wearable as an everyday shade, as it isn't too bright. Wish it wasn't so pricey, but it's long-wearing and doesn't seem to smear too easily. Super pretty autumn shade!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/10/2011 10:12:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

thought this is too orange --


on 11/10/2011 3:13:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Beautiful shade, described as "Amber Red" on the NARS website. It's a soft, warm shade but the orange tones in it are neither harsh nor excessively bright.
I love the satin texture, too as it does not highlight any "fine lines" in the lips.
To me, It conjures up images of Fall in New England...such a beautiful autumnal shade!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/9/2011 11:07:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

NARS Joyous Red is a 2011 holiday limited edition in the semi-matte formulation ... and I will certainly stock up as LE insurance! On my NC35 visage, this is an absolutely FABULOUS, gentle red. It is on the warmer side with very subtle gold flecks that--for all practical purposes--fly under the radar screen. it lights up your face with a sensuous "coo" and by NO means is an "in your face" red. This gem--for me--will be a staple daytime and night. If I could rate it a "10" I most certainly would.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
173 Reviews
provocalips
33 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin

Top Rated NARS Products

image

Coconut Grove

28 reviews
image

Ita Brush

42 reviews
image

Exhibit A

358 reviews
Back to Top