April 18, 2014 | 1819 users online

Lip Treatments - LUSH - Pow Wow Lip Scrub

no image

rated 2.4(10 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 2.4
  • 10% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.9
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 5/19/2013 7:28:00 AM More reviews by lac66

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

I like this only for the taste and the fact that it is like popping candy. As a lip scrub it isnt great it doesn't work in the way it should xxx

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 1/26/2012 3:59:00 PM More reviews by MissCarley

Age: Unknown Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

This is pretty much one of the worst products I have ever wasted money on. The SA couldn't stop raving about it and strongly urged me to get it. Since it was BOGO, I decided to cave.

This is basically just Pop Rocks and some essential oils and food coloring. Imagine using Pop Rocks as a lip scrub... not so fun! The candy rocks are sharp and pointy and it just makes for an uncomfortable mess whenever I try to use it, and I get no exfoliation out of it. Pow Wow just leaves my lips sore.

The only upside is that it tastes good.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 12/27/2011 3:26:00 PM More reviews by CreativeGesture

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I brought Lush's "Pow Wow" Lip scrub just recently in the boxing day sales, I have heard great things about Lush's Lip scrubs however when I tried this product I wasn't as impressed as I thought I would have been.
...
[Pros]
- It tastes nice, Pops just like poprocks.
- Packaging is secure.
- Smells SO good!.
...
[Cons]
- Quite harsh on your lips.
- Not very easy to apply to lips.
...
Overall I wouldn't buy this product again, however I would try other lip scrubs in future just maybe not this particular one. It didn't reach my expectations and I felt that it was quite harsh on my lips and wasn't very easy to apply at all.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 12/26/2011 12:32:00 PM More reviews by ashton

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

This is the first lip scrub I've ever tried, and although I have heard good things about LUSH's other scrubs this one wasn't that amazing. It's basically just a small jar of Pop Rocks candy for $10. I ordered this online and I don't know what I expected but if I knew I was getting just straight up lime Pop Rocks as a scrub I would've just gone out and bought a pack of the candy for a dollar. Of course it tastes good and s fun to lick off your lips, but as an actual lip scrub it's nothing special. Kind of hurt when I used it, made a mess and left a lot of dead skin still on my lips. I'm anxious to try other LUSH lip scrubs but I won't be buying this one again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 12/13/2011 1:59:00 PM More reviews by slok87

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Wow, this is absolutely terrible. As a lip scrub it does next to nothing--this is quite literally just a jar of lime flavored pop rocks with some binder. Leaves my lips feeling scratched and not very well exfoliated. Gets everywhere.


I knew there would be pop rocks in here but I thought they would be finer, or that some sugar would be in here or something that would actually exfoliate. No. This is nothing like LUSH's other lip scrubs.


If you want to purchase an overpriced, tiny jar of pop rocks to eat in a LUSH container, this is your product. If you want a lip scrub, go with any of the other lip scrubs.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 12/1/2011 8:27:00 PM More reviews by TrippyPixie

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

It was fun while it lasted. I bought this on a whim, having liked LUSH's Sweet Lips Lip Scrub.



I knew that there were going to be pop rocks in here, but I thought that there would be some sugar in here, too. Nope, just pop rocks. It's kind of awkward exfoliating with a huge chunk of the candy -- it kind of feels like it can scratch you.



I usually keep my lip scrubs next to the sink, and then bring them into the shower with me. However, when I did this, too much water got in (though I only opened it to take some product out -- otherwise it was sealed), and ALL of the candy popped. All of the pop rocks fused together, and now they are hard and stuck together. Whenever I use this, I now have to break it all up with tweezers just to be able to use up the rest of the jar.



Cute idea, but I won't be buying again. And if I received this as a gift, I'd definitely be careful about how much water I'd expose it to. I'll just stick to the Sweet Lips lip scrub instead.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 11/20/2011 5:02:00 PM More reviews by LameAssCatLady

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine Eyes: Blue

This product is just fun! The lime flavor is delicious to say the least. I think that the traditional lip scrubs from LUSH work better when it comes to exfoliating due to the size of the chunks in this formula, but it's still too much fun to pass up. The oils in this product do a great job of leaving your lips soft.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 11/16/2011 2:16:00 PM More reviews by AmiCP

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This is cute! As the above reviewer says, nice gimmicky, fun product. Works ok, but again, due to the big chunks of popping candy, its really tricky to get a good scrub. However, it does work, and it does help! I'm personally keen to try one of their other scrubs, they seem like they'd work better. Has improved my lip texture, you do have to pop a lip balm on straight away. Neat idea with the popping! Lasts a long time (unless you eat it hehe).

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/8/2011 12:42:00 AM More reviews by courtneyk01

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

This product smells so incredibly yummy. For me it has done wonderful things to my lips. The oils sink into my skin and the sugar and popping lolly scrubs away the dead flakey skin. I probably wouldn't get this one again though because I found that it was chunkier and more drying than the other lip scrubs.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 11/5/2011 2:55:00 AM More reviews by Nekura

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Unlike the previous lip scrubs by LUSH, Pow Wow has popping fizz candy with it's usual sugar scrub ingredient. This product is supposedly a limited edition product for winter/holiday 2011.


The lip scrub is a quirky lime green color with a strong lemon/lime scent. The scent reminds me a lot of the green and yellow skittle candies or a glass of 7up/sprite soda. It's pleasant, very unique, and has a subtle tartness to it. I was attracted to this due to the nostalgic feeling I have for popping candy and the overall quirky kitsch concept of this... However my main problem with this scrub is due to the popping fizz candy. While the idea of using this is very original, it makes the scrub really hard to use. There is a constant possibility of a hard layer on the scrub due to it melting if you're in an environment where the temperature changes a lot plus the popping candy itself is really chunky like random shards of sugar. Sometimes it's impossible to pick up the scrub and if it is, it's hard to apply. There isn't much essential oils in this either... it's just a really dry jar of sugar and popping candy. My tip is to lick your lips before applying, this way you get the interesting popping effect on your lips and it'll work decently.


Overall for $8/95, it's cute but not a product I'd buy a backup of. It takes a lot of work and gives mediocre results. It's a gimmicky product and good as a stocking stuffer as it's "fun" but for a lip scrub there's plenty better out there.

Is this review helpful? Yes No