November 22, 2014 | 1641 users online

Eye Makeup Remover - Koh Gen Do - Cleansing Spa Water



image 0

rated 4.6(31 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.6
  • 87% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 11/17/2014 7:52:00 PM More reviews by xxxPikadoodlexxx

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Green

Talk about an overhyped bottle of crap. Seriously. I had been hearing RAVE reviews about this product amongst Pro MUAs and amateurs alike for so long I finally broke down and paid the rediculous $30+ price tag for a bottle of this so called miracle makeup remover.

Let's start with packaging. The bottle is huge and ackward. It doesn't fit well inside my medicine cabinet. The flip top dispenser on the end is equally disappointing. It just kind of "drops" out of the cap. Forget squeezing the bottle. The plastic is thick and it takes a lot of pressure to squeeze it usually resulting in too much product being squeezed out when you finally succeed.

Then there's the product itself. As a makeup remover it removes almost very little. When compared to my usual makeup remover I'd guess this removes MAYBE 50% of what that remover does. When I use this product I always wake up the next morning with raccoon eyes from left over traces of mascara and liner and a few fresh zits to go along with it. Not to mention this burns my eyes and I noticed quite a few lashes falling out after 2 uses. No Bueno.

Being unsatisfied with its usefulness as a makeup remover I tried using it as a toner or pre makeup prep as some others have suggested and it's equally disappointing....again. While its touted as being gentle I found it to be ineffective and over drying although I can see how it might possibly be effective for those with extremely oily skin. I however will stick to my good ol trusty witch hazel.

So yeah.... save your money. This isn't a miracle in a bottle at all. It definitely does not deserve its over inflated price tag and the hype that goes along with it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/20/2014 7:14:00 PM More reviews by trishhh12

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Buy this. It's the best. I've been through a 3.5 oz and now it's sold out on Sephora and I'm jonesing. My poor eyes are so irritated from using something else that required me to scrub. This just sloughs off the makeup so easily, my waterproof eye stuff with no effort. LOVE.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/29/2014 11:58:00 PM More reviews by ninjadoll

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love this non-oil based make up remover so much it's HG. A few years ago I was getting eyelash extensions. Anybody who's gotten these know that one of the rules is to NEVER use an oil based MU remover (it dissolves the glue). So after some search, I found this baby at Sephora. I bought a 3.38oz/100ml bottle travel sized bottle and it lasted me almost 9 months. I'd wet the end of a q-tip and clean around my eyes. After I ran out, I bought a large 10.15oz/300ml bottle for $39 and I don't think I could ever be without it. Yes, it's pricey, but gentle, effective, and as a contact wearer, it leaves no residue.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 9/24/2014 4:37:00 PM More reviews by youwillneverfindme

Age: 30-35 Skin: Other, Fair, Cool Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

Yeah, this is some nice stuff and by far, the best makeup remover I've tried to date…it even makes easy work of taking off Benefit's "They're Real" mascara: dampen cotton round with Spa Water, apply to eyes for 30 seconds or so, gently wipe…I never thought "They're Real" could be removed so easily -- my eyes, and the skin around my eye left feeling *normal* (not oily, not tight, dry or irritated etc). I also like swiping this over my face after a coconut oil cleanse.

The lovely thing about Spa Water is that it's not oily, it doesn't dry out the skin, and it removes makeup as effectively as any oil. People talk about an "elegant" product…I think Spa Water performs elegantly. Yes, there are other, just as effective makeup removers out there, but add in the condition this leaves your skin in and you'd be hard pressed to find a comparable product.

I bought the mini, $15 bottle from Sephora and would have no problem spending $40 for a full sized bottle, if it weren't for some of the questionable ingredients (hence, the 4 lipsticks, instead of 5). At this point, I'm unsure of a repurchase...but man, the performance of this stuff is beautiful.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/23/2014 1:25:00 PM More reviews by jenniferashton

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I like this stuff for makeup removal prior to cleansing. I don't know if it takes off waterproof mascara but it does a great job with the non-waterproof eye makeup that I wear. I like that it is the consistency of water therefore doesn't dry out or strip your skin (like alcohol containing toners may do) or leave any oily residue (like dual phase eye makeup removers will do). It just feels clean and that's what I like.

It's definitely pricey (the big bottle will like last ~ 3 months of daily use) so I'm sure I'll eventually stop repurchasing it if I find something cheaper that is as effective with the same consistency as the spa water. Right now though I can't think of anything so in my beauty stock it goes :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 6/8/2014 9:45:00 PM More reviews by bih80

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

I was hesitant at first to try this new watery makeup remover and actually held it under my sink, ignoring it for nearly a year before I pulled it out and tried it again. I use this only when I have cleansed my face with my oil cleanser and I still have a bit of dark makeup left. I soak a cotton ball with this water and hold it against my eye until the entire thing has been whipped clean. I have to say, after trying all this week, I'm quite impressed. This is a very good water makeup remover and it's not drying, irritating or hard to work with. That being said, I find it's ridiculously priced. This product is mostly water and glycerin, something you can easily buy in its pure form and mix it with water to achieve the same effects. This is why I wouldn't buy it again, I got mine in one of those beauty boxes and I'm enjoying it but as far as going in and dropping $40 on a bottle to do the same thing a makeup wipe can do for much less, I don't think so. But, reviewing as the actual product it's a great one, it does what it says it will do. So it's up to the consumer to weight out if it's worth it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 4/20/2014 10:17:00 PM More reviews by HiGayle

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

I got this at a discount on Hautelook and am wondering if it's old and thus less effective. Unlike other makeup removers that I've used I find myself having to do multiple swipes of this stuff. It also stings my eyes when I use it to remove eye makeup.

If this is standard performance of this stuff I have to say it is definitely not worth the hefty price tag.

I like my other KGD products so I am disappointed with the performance of this highly regarded cleanser.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/5/2014 5:16:00 AM More reviews by okidoki35

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I prefer to clean my makeup off prior to using a cleanser. I bought the smaller size to try, and I find this product very effective. Since it's water-based, it doesn't leave your face feeling dried out, no having that film I normally get from using a cleansing oil (don't really matter at the end since if use a cleanser at the end). It probably won't replace your cleanser, but if there's that lazy day, at least swiping your face with this water will help you get most of your makeup off.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/31/2014 8:44:00 PM More reviews by lulululululu

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

It is hard to believe what an amazing product this is. In a gentle way, this product is able to clean your face and remove stubborn makeup. Perfection!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/16/2014 5:48:00 PM More reviews by hautevita

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium Eyes: Brown

price: expensive
packaging: great, especially the large size with pump (wished it was EVEN larger)

i love how there is so scent to it. it feels so fresh and i feel so clean.

before jumping into the shower, i take one cottan pad and do 1 pump onto the cottan pad and remove my foundation/eye makeup- takes it off without feeling any stings or fragrances/chemical scent (i have extremely dry sensitive skin- mac, josie maran, biore makeup wipes all feel too overpowering in terms of scent and it stings my face)

after in the shower, i wash my face with foam cleanser, sometimes before that a milky makeup remover

after i get out of the shower, i use my hitachi crie and pump 1 pump onto cotton pad again and go over my face...

i really feel clean, but i dont know if im over cleaning my face (very paranoid with suncreen+foundation leaving residue)

overall, its easy to use, great for sensitive skin like me and i feel cleansed

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No