January 31, 2015 | 1960 users online

Eye Makeup Remover - Koh Gen Do - Cleansing Spa Water



image 0

rated 4.6(36 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.6
  • 83% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 1/25/2015 3:02:00 PM More reviews by pefav

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love it, but it's expensive and I'm not certain it is better enough than others to be worth its price. I use other waters which are cheaper and seem to do the same (reversa micellar solution, bottle is 3 times bigger and I paid like 10% more for it, and it pretty much does the same thing so...) Like I said, nice stuff, but I'm sure this is just overpriced and I will be restocking on cheaper stuff when I'm out of my supply even though I love this.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/8/2015 9:40:00 AM More reviews by Nancygia

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I loved this product so much, I bought it for the toughest critic, my mom. When I didn't hear anything from her about it, I was surprised, but forgot about it. Turns out, she was finishing up something else. She called me yesterday and said, did you give me this little red bottle? I said yes, I was wondering what happened with it. I love it. I need more. It removes my eye makeup like a dream and doesn't irritate my eyes (which says a lot. She has the MOST sensitive eyes of anyone I know). I personally love it because other products designed to remove eye makeup (such as Mary Kay and Lancôme Bifacil) leave an oily residue that ruins my contact lenses.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/23/2014 11:01:00 AM More reviews by archt_marj14

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

BEST MAKEUP REMOVER EVER.
I don't fully comprehend how something so light and gentle can destroy even the toughest bits of makeup. No stinging, no discomfort (even in the eye area) whatsoever. It's so good that after thorough usage of this, you don't even have to wash your face afterwards (hallelujah for us lazy girls!). Also, it doesn't stop working at makeup removal-- the morning after, you will notice that your skin looks so much better, and yes, the wonderful cleansing water is to thank for it.
Seriously, forsake all your old makeup removers and defect to this gem. It is a tad expensive but it is SO worth it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 12/16/2014 3:55:00 PM More reviews by daisyismydog

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I've only ever used this micellar water, but after using it I definitely want to try more in the future. I find it's easier and less messy to remove my makeup with this than with a makeup wipe, cleansing oil, straight oil, or dual-phase makeup removers. This also leaves my dehydrated skin feeling moisturized and not tight at all.

I do have to use a good amount of product (going over each area twice, each with a new cotton pad) if I want to remove a full face though so I'm hoping to find one that is a bit stronger. Overall, I'm still pleased that this works so well with my skin type and would purchase this again immediately if I didn't enjoy trying out new things so much.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 12/10/2014 6:36:00 PM More reviews by lylaura

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

It didn't really clean my eye makeup or make up off. I use regular mascara and light mineral makeup. The pros and reason why I bought it was because it had no fragrance or Dyes. I have sensitive skin so was very excited about his product. Unfortunate;y returned it since doesn't clean. Even a toner, or baby wipe cleans better than this.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 11/17/2014 7:52:00 PM More reviews by xxxPikadoodlexxx

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Green

Talk about an overhyped bottle of crap. Seriously. I had been hearing RAVE reviews about this product amongst Pro MUAs and amateurs alike for so long I finally broke down and paid the rediculous $30+ price tag for a bottle of this so called miracle makeup remover.

Let's start with packaging. The bottle is huge and ackward. It doesn't fit well inside my medicine cabinet. The flip top dispenser on the end is equally disappointing. It just kind of "drops" out of the cap. Forget squeezing the bottle. The plastic is thick and it takes a lot of pressure to squeeze it usually resulting in too much product being squeezed out when you finally succeed.

Then there's the product itself. As a makeup remover it removes almost very little. When compared to my usual makeup remover I'd guess this removes MAYBE 50% of what that remover does. When I use this product I always wake up the next morning with raccoon eyes from left over traces of mascara and liner and a few fresh zits to go along with it. Not to mention this burns my eyes and I noticed quite a few lashes falling out after 2 uses. No Bueno.

Being unsatisfied with its usefulness as a makeup remover I tried using it as a toner or pre makeup prep as some others have suggested and it's equally disappointing....again. While its touted as being gentle I found it to be ineffective and over drying although I can see how it might possibly be effective for those with extremely oily skin. I however will stick to my good ol trusty witch hazel.

So yeah.... save your money. This isn't a miracle in a bottle at all. It definitely does not deserve its over inflated price tag and the hype that goes along with it.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/20/2014 7:14:00 PM More reviews by trishhh12

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Buy this. It's the best. I've been through a 3.5 oz and now it's sold out on Sephora and I'm jonesing. My poor eyes are so irritated from using something else that required me to scrub. This just sloughs off the makeup so easily, my waterproof eye stuff with no effort. LOVE.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/29/2014 11:58:00 PM More reviews by ninjadoll

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love this non-oil based make up remover so much it's HG. A few years ago I was getting eyelash extensions. Anybody who's gotten these know that one of the rules is to NEVER use an oil based MU remover (it dissolves the glue). So after some search, I found this baby at Sephora. I bought a 3.38oz/100ml bottle travel sized bottle and it lasted me almost 9 months. I'd wet the end of a q-tip and clean around my eyes. After I ran out, I bought a large 10.15oz/300ml bottle for $39 and I don't think I could ever be without it. Yes, it's pricey, but gentle, effective, and as a contact wearer, it leaves no residue.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 9/24/2014 4:37:00 PM More reviews by youwillneverfindme

Age: 30-35 Skin: Other, Fair, Cool Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

Yeah, this is some nice stuff and by far, the best makeup remover I've tried to date…it even makes easy work of taking off Benefit's "They're Real" mascara: dampen cotton round with Spa Water, apply to eyes for 30 seconds or so, gently wipe…I never thought "They're Real" could be removed so easily -- my eyes, and the skin around my eye left feeling *normal* (not oily, not tight, dry or irritated etc). I also like swiping this over my face after a coconut oil cleanse.

The lovely thing about Spa Water is that it's not oily, it doesn't dry out the skin, and it removes makeup as effectively as any oil. People talk about an "elegant" product…I think Spa Water performs elegantly. Yes, there are other, just as effective makeup removers out there, but add in the condition this leaves your skin in and you'd be hard pressed to find a comparable product.

I bought the mini, $15 bottle from Sephora and would have no problem spending $40 for a full sized bottle, if it weren't for some of the questionable ingredients (hence, the 4 lipsticks, instead of 5). At this point, I'm unsure of a repurchase...but man, the performance of this stuff is beautiful.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/23/2014 1:25:00 PM More reviews by jenniferashton

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I like this stuff for makeup removal prior to cleansing. I don't know if it takes off waterproof mascara but it does a great job with the non-waterproof eye makeup that I wear. I like that it is the consistency of water therefore doesn't dry out or strip your skin (like alcohol containing toners may do) or leave any oily residue (like dual phase eye makeup removers will do). It just feels clean and that's what I like.

It's definitely pricey (the big bottle will like last ~ 3 months of daily use) so I'm sure I'll eventually stop repurchasing it if I find something cheaper that is as effective with the same consistency as the spa water. Right now though I can't think of anything so in my beauty stock it goes :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No