December 22, 2014 | 1698 users online

Crème - SKII - facial treatment cream foundation



image 0

rated 4.4(8 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.4
  • 75% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 2.6
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 12/19/2013 6:00:00 PM More reviews by lydial

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

This foundation is very very fantastic.

I've tried them all - to give you an idea of how bad my skin is, over the summer I was using hardcore dermablend and cover blend to deal with my melasma, acne, and aging skin. Now that I'm out of the sun, I was looking for a lighter, more elegant foundation.

Enter SKII treatment foundation. Years ago I bought their 'airbrush foundation thingy' and it wasn't enough coverage for me AT ALL. But this? This is a whole new ballgame.

It's available in 4 shades in the states. The first two are crazy light and pink. The second two, #420 and #440 are more yellow based - #420 is light, and a true match for my winter skin - it's bright. But i'm not ready to be my actual skin tone! hahahaha! I always like to skew a little darker on my foundation so I look more tan. I bought them both. OUCH. i mix em to perfection. OK on to the nitty gritty pro's and cons:

PROS

- density : this foundation is surprisingly dense, given how creamy/fluid it is
- finish: the finish is absolutely gorgeous, demi-matte, doesn't pick up dry flakes too much
- shade/tone: color range is limited, if you are a match or even close, you'll be happy
- no oxidation: this foundation does NOT turn orange or grey. VICTORY!
- so far hasn't broken me out. I'll update if it does.
- thick/thinness - this foundation is neither too heavy nor too light. it's weight is PERFECTION
- though there is no SPF listed, titanium dioxide is one of the top ingredients, which is a sunblock...so...make of that what you will
- lasting power - the foundation wears really well. doesn't fade or grease up on me. does rub off, but i think it's kind of creepy if it doesn't
- pitera - which i think is basically rice yeast or something, supposedly good for your skin, in all SKII products. I guess it's a bonus

CONS

- does contain some silicone, but it's not overwhelming. it's not a high silicone foundation - i hate silicones. they don't wear well on me. slime me up. but this one is ok.
- the packaging!! yes a glass jar is luxurious feeling, but it's so inconvenient. bad for travel and i just dont like exposing all the product to air everytime i open it.
- the PRICE! it's $95.00 USD. that sucks. and for sure it's not "worth it" from a skincare restults perspective, but if you are like me, and on an endless quest for the HG foundation, you'll pay it, maybe even twice! I'll update you if i stick with this one or not...

if it continues to not break me out, this will be my daily base foundation, tempering the shades with kevyn aucoin sensual skin enhancers (just a micro pinch!) as needed.

stay tuned!

*UPDATE*. Loving this foundation still. I'm traveling and in a lot of lighting situations that I am not used to and on the go other peoples bathrooms, rushed etc... and OMG this foundation is terrific!! The best I've tried in the last decade - it cuts redness without making me look pale, does not read too foundationy and does not oxidize. 440 is the perfect bright gold. All of my initial obseervations still hold true a few weeks out. I'm wearing 420 and 440 - I have dirty blonde/brownish hair, brown eyes, dark eyebrows, and medium skin tone. I haven't felt this confident and at ease in a foundation for a long time - and I feel that it is not wrecking my skin even tho it's not 100% organic. It does rub off a bit but just dont touch your face too much- not wanting to wreck this lovely finish has actually iproved my complextion becasue i avoid touching my face to save it! Give it a try, get a sample if you can because it's expensive, but I feel certain that if you buy it you will not regret it. I return almost EVERY foundation I buy - not this one...

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 8/26/2013 2:25:00 AM More reviews by msyu

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Black

I bought sample sizes of this product because I started using sk-ii products and wanted to try and replace my bb cream with something else. The shade #420, was a little too light for my skin, but the product was a good consistency and quality. Although it doesn't list an spf, I think I found somewhere that it does, don't know for sure. I tried to apply this a few times and every time, I found that it settled into my pores in an unflattering way, I have big pores. I think that this product would be good for those with smaller pores. It dries to a matte finish, which is good in a foundation but think that it would not replace my bb cream for daily use, I like my cover to look natural for everyday, and this was a little too "done" for everyday. I like that it contains pitera and would be good for my skin but can't bring myself to want to apply it everyday. I will continue to use sk-ii products, but not this cream foundation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/2/2013 4:15:00 AM More reviews by kiefer5

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I am madly in love with this foundation. This makes my skin look so good and has the most beautiful finish. I bought this in 310 which is the lightest color. The website the beautyprofessor.net has swatches of what is available in the U.S. In other Asian countries they sell a color in 220 which is a slightly darker pinker base from what I could figure. This foundation is fragrance free which is pretty hard to find in a foundation. I have multiple allergies to ingredients and this does not have them. The only caveat is when my skin has been super dry it won't blend and catches all the dry patches.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/26/2012 11:43:00 AM More reviews by sw33t_lil_em

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I was pretty upset when they discontinued the air touch foundation and so my search for the perfect foundation continued for years. I actually didn't bother trying this foundation out because that's how upset I was, and I was thinking how could it possibly be better than the air touch? Well, I was wrong. Completely wrong. This is by far the most natural looking foundation I've ever encountered and it performs just as well as the air touch! The coverage is medium to full and it is definitely buildable. It's a little expensive, but you only need a teeny tiny amount so I can kind of justify that! It gives you a dewy, airbrushed look. I love the fact that this foundation also hydrates my face throughout the day, so it not only gives me a polished look, but I feel that I am taking care of my skin. Thank you SKII for coming back to my life!!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/4/2012 1:05:00 AM More reviews by shannn

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Black

At the point when I bought this product, my skin was under-going the effects of aging - oily but dehydrated skin. Slightly on the sensitive side. My skin was also subjected to harsh weather conditions due to frequent travelling. As such I was on a lookout for a foundation that will give me the supple finish. It should also do the following:
- even out my skin tone and should appear radiant and not greyish.
- give me enough coverage and yet still appear "natural" instead of being too made-up
- does not appear cakey or flaky (due to my dehydrated skin)


This foundation does it all! And I'm not exaggerating.


When applying this product, I'm amazed at how little is required. Just a tiny dot is enough to cover one side of the face and it is buildable. It gives a dewy finish but if you preferred a matte look do dust on some loose powder. I have used this product on days when I did not get enough sleep and you know how our skin looks dull and blah? With this product it gives me the radiance and my skin actually feels supple during the day. No one could tell I had a rough night by just looking at my complexion (except when they stare into my eyes - that's a different story).


This foundation has "piteria" in it and it's classified as a "treatment" foundation. Regardless, do remove your makeup throughly at the end of the day as afterall it is a cream foundation and you don't want any residue left in your pores.


I will also like to point out that besides using this foundation, I am also using the full range of SK-II skincare at the same time as I did a drastic skincare regime makeover to address my aging-skin conditions (Cleanser > Toner > Facial Essence Treatment > RepairC or Cellumination Serum > Deep Surge Moisturiser). So it might be because of the change in my skin regime + use of the foundation that gives me the suppleness and finishing that is desired.


Not very impressed with the packaging - wished it came with a pump instead to minimize the number of times the product is exposed to air.


Its oil control capabilities is not that great, I have to start blotting mid-day. However for the fact that it can give the natural finishing and coverage that I desired, i'm prepared to let this slide.


Last but not least, i don't recommend this to anyone who have very oily skin. This product is more for dry or dehydrated skin.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 12/27/2011 1:38:00 PM More reviews by hybiscuskiss

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I love, love, loved this foundation...if only it matched my skintone! Broke my heart! I still gave it a high rating because the texture, quality and finish are amazing for someone who matches!


I have yellow undertones but am quite tan for the color. I also have blemished skin and prone to acne when stressed or in dry weather. I was living in a humid climate when I was using this and still loved it (explained below).


The foundation is really limited in its shades with most having pink undertones, which I don't understand really because if it's target demographic is for Asians, I'd think it would be skewed more for yellow-toned skin. ::shrug:: Also, it seems be targeted to very fair skin, at least much lighter than mine and I'm half Chinese, half Japanese. Maybe that is part of their "translucent skin" marketing, I'm not sure, but please, SKII, make more colors!


The texture is creamy and thick...not a fan of the packaging since you have to dip your fingers in it (they give you a small plastic spoon but it's just not fast or convenient to use). A little bit goes a loooong way, though! Expensive, but I can see that it will last me ages. I pat it onto my skin with clean fingers because I like a natural look (and I'm lazy about washing brushes every day). It's quite moisturizing and even though I normally get a shiny face within an hour and was living in a humid climate, I think this stuff works with you and makes it look more dewey than oily (can't fight shine in the tropics). I still have to powder and blot, but it wears in nicely throughout the day rather than getting patchy and wearing off.


In natural sunlight and indoors, it looks so natural, you can't tell I'm wearing makeup, it just looks like really nice skin (and I do NOT have perfect skin). In fact, my skin seems to do almost better wearing a bit of this daily, maybe it's because of the pietra or whatever they market in it. Seems to even out my skin tone a bit and smooth my skin out. Coverage is good and buildable, but it's creamy so it definitely is meant to melt into your skin and not pack on layer after layer.


I wish this matched my skin tone because despite the SUPER expensive price tag, I would buy it again if it matched! I ended up having to give up and accept that I'll never be pale enough to look natural...I gave it to my sister, who matches perfectly, and she loves it; she has gotten many compliments on her SKIN (not makeup, her skin!) and is one of those low maintenance makeup girls (a bit of foundation and defines her eyebrows, that's it).


Overall:
Pros: formula, finish are amazing. wears nicely and is forgiving; gives you a glowy dewey look even if you have oily skin or live in humid climates.
Cons: Limited shades and in a jar...really, SKII, really??


So bottom line: SKII, please make more colors available! I'll be your biggest advocate! =)

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 10/25/2011 9:01:00 PM More reviews by barbie_c0ri

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I like the foundation and it gives a nice coverage. I have a different result than the last reviewer. I have very oily skin and it is matte on me. No break outs, last all day and a little goes a long way. I have #420 and i'm a NC20-25, light golden yellow undertones. Any pink in foundation will turn orange or RED on me and this is true yellow undertone. They have other colors as well as pink undertones. Get a sample or test it out first, everyone's skin is different. Price at $95 and here are the ingredients:


Galactomyces Ferment Filtrate**, Aqua (Water), Titanium Dioxide, Cyclomethicone, Isotridecyl Isononanoate, Butylene Glycol, Niacinamide, Talc, Diphenylsiloxy Phenyl Trimethicone, Glycerin, Dextrin Palmitate, Dipropylene Glycol, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Dimethicone, PEG-9 Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Dimethicone, Sorbitan Isostearate, Phytosteryl Rice Branate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Aluminum Hydroxide, Panthenol, Propylene Glycol Dicaprylate, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Gelidium Cartilagineum Extract, Methicone, PEG-4, Hydrogen Dimethicone, Disodium EDTA , PEG-4 Dilaurate, PEG-4 Laurate, Alumina, Propylparaben, Methylparaben, Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate, BHT, [+/-] CI 77019 (Mica), CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499 (Iron Oxides).
**Pitera

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 10/23/2011 1:40:00 PM More reviews by lmande

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I would recommend this makeup but its not for everyone. I think this is best suited for mature skin or for someone who is looking for a creamy foundation with an almost dewy finish. I tend to use more of a matte foundation which this is most definitely not. But with fall here and winter coming I wanted something with a little more moisture to it. You need very little of this product to cover your face. I use a makeup sponge for application; you could probably also use a foundation brush but I wouldn't use my fingers. The finish is very nice and subtle. I do use a light powder over it and it seems to last all day. Now, do I think it's worth $95? Probably not. Hard to say if I would repurchase. If I do, I won't need to for at least another year.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No