Kat Von D Rehab Priming Elixir

3.7

11 reviews

63% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Dimethicone, Butylene Glycol, Glycerine, Ceteth-10, Laureth-4,Caprylyl Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Methyldihidro-Jasmonate, Rosa Canina Flower Extract, Triethanolamine, Carbomer, Hexylene Glycol, Xanthan Gum, Arnica Montana Flower Extract, Calendula Officinalis Flower Extract, Carica Papaya (Papaya) Fruit Extract, Vaccinium Angustifolium (Blueberry) Fruit Extract.


on 6/15/2015 4:44:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I just rediscovered this yesterday, and decided to try it out again today for work. I think I stopped using it because I don't really use primers. I always thought that it was just an extra step that was unnecessary (like toners).

So I work at a new office job, and the lighting is so bad that you can see how gross my make-up looks when I start to produce a little bit of oil on my t-zone. My foundation(Becca Ever Matte) is really good at mattifying my make-up but for some reason this lighting just shows everything no matter what. I don't normally wear primer under my foundation just because I buy foundations that work well itself most of the time. BUT because of this new office job, I thought about all the primer's a had in my make-up collection and thought maybe they would help. AND LAWWWWWD did it help!! It has been 5 hours so far and my make-up still looks as fresh as I applied from this morning. And my skin looks smoother too! I guess I will have to start using this everyday =S. But sadly this is discontinued =[. This happens every time!! When something works well for me it's gone!



Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I just got an email from Sephora that this product has been discontinued. This is a sad day. This is the only primer I have used that makes the KVD lock it foundation not look dry or cakey on my skin. The only way to get it now is to pay $10-$25 more for it online from the hustling clowns on ebay or amazon and that's not going to happen. Darn you Sephora...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/11/2014 3:33:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I tried a sample of this a few times now, and though my best friend swears by it, it just doesn't seem to work for me. My skin is oily, and very dehydrated at the moment, and after a couple of hours my foundation just gets oily and catches on dry flakes, and that's when I'm using the primer. Oh well. It feels nice going on.


on 11/18/2013 12:20:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Other, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I was so excited to try this - I love a good primer, especially one in such cute packaging. The little grey glass bottle with the pump and lovely design looks rather pretty on my dressing table!

However I've tried it several times and decided it wasn't for me. The texture is runny compared to my normal silicone-based primers and feels a little sticky. It does feel slightly smooth on the skin when applying my everyday foundation on top (Rimmel's Wake Me Up), but not very noticeably. I have combination/oily skin and find that my t-zone is an oily mess after only a couple of hours and have to blot and reapply powder - this doesn't seem to do anything in the way of oil control.

Although the packaging is so tempting, this really doesn't do anything for my skin. Oily & combination skinned ladies would be far better off with a mattifying or oil control primer - this might work better for someone with drier skin.


on 6/26/2013 8:27:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I just have to say this is an awesome primer its really good for people with dry/combination skin. I have very dry skin on my nose and this helps keep it hydrated when I use foundations that are matte. it makes the foundation look lovely also!

I have done a full product review on my blog with photos if you want to see what the primer looks like. http://cityxofxangelsx.blogspot.co.uk

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/22/2013 6:26:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am running out of this primer and can't seem to find it anywhere. I hope they didn't discontinue it. This is by far the most amazing primer I have ever used. It is like a combo moisturizer/primer. It doesn't have that horrible slimy silicone feel like most primers and leaves my skin feeling and looking smooth. I love this stuff.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/12/2013 12:18:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is amazing! I have acne scars that tend to get dry. And this tames it up! My oil is very controllable.. And my face is so hydrated and soft. I'm deeply in love with this product! I would re-purchase it all over again!!!!<3 i highly recommend it to everyone. P.S- my skin is very very sensitive and break out too easily and very dry /oily. Its literally the hardest skin type to work with. And this just literally make my skin look and feel amazing!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 2/24/2013 8:09:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this primer when I purchased her foundation (HG for me, btw). I didn't think it was all that special so I tucked it away and, well, forgot about it. When winter hit, my old primer ( a mineral based one), wasn't cutting it. Too drying? Too... something but it just wasn't a good look. I pulled out the KVD primer and....

Amazing. Her foundation looked far better over this than my other one. I have dry skin but use oils and super hydrating moisturizers. This is a water base product and doesn't say it hydrates or mattes... it's just a basic primer. But the finish is fantastic when foundation is applied.

I don't like the dropper. So I pure some into a small jar that has high sides, tip the jar, coat the sides and pull my finger through; it's plenty for my entire face.

No complaints. It works well under other foundations that I have and am using up. A winner, as far as I'm concerned.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 12/23/2012 10:26:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

It's light and a bit more watery, has no discernible scent and feels nice on the skin upon initial application. Drydown time is normal, I like to give it 5-10 minutes to set / allow time for silicones to evaporate as needed. During this time I do my eye makeup.

For my oily skin performance is ok. It does what is promised- I don't get excessively shiny with any of the foundations I use - currently KVD Lock It Tattoo, Nars Sheer Matte, Bare Minerals Matte. I tend to really feel my foundation about 6 hours after using it. For me there is no accidentally sleeping in your makeup with this, especially with KVD's Lock It Tattoo Foundation. This is probably due to the dimethicone in it absorbing oil, and likely due to my skin type.

All that having been said, I think this might be breaking me out. I wore this yesterday and had a new spot, so I'm guessing it might be the primer, but I can't say it is this definitively. Silicones do break me out, and dimethicone is the second ingredient. If MUFE did not make their HD primer this would probably be the primer I would use & I would just deal with the occasional spot. continued >>

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 1/5/2012 3:15:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

PROS:
- water-based primer, feels very light
- has the ability to hydrate and control oil so a wide range of skin types can use this product
- smells great
- love the unique packaging
- i love KAT VON D <3
- paraben free/oil free

CONS:
- dropper dispenser fails every so often but you just have to keep pumping it for the product to come through, i have the patience for that :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top