Auric Blends Egyptian Goddess

4.0

160 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $

INGREDIENTS



on 1/30/2015 10:10:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Ah, I have such a long and complex relationship with Egyptian Goddess (18+ years!), and just like a real human relationship, it has definitely had it's ups and downs! Mostly I truly love this, it smells cozy, snuggly, yummmmmy, and delicious from the bottle, *and* after a little while that it's been on my skin. Albeit, sometimes it is very, very faint - barely there. As soon as I roll it on though, it has a strange "eraser" smell that others have picked up on and mentioned, but that seems to fade fairly quickly. Egyptian Goddess is a true chameleon for me. Sometimes it smells like the warmest, most wonderful, very personal "wrap of deliciousness", and other times I can strain to smell it on my wrist and not be able to detect a thing. I do concur with other reviewers that have said that it used to be a lot stronger. It still seems like the same scent to me, just not quite as long lasting or strong (so you need more and it fades quicker). Which makes me sad, because the stronger, longer-lasting quality is one of the things I really love and look for in perfume oils. But I still do truly love EG. I put it aside every now and then and try something else out of my VAST collection, but I always return to this. I often put this on and then layer something over it. I've been on an Egyptian Musk kick again lately and have been wearing AT LEAST Egyptian Goddess alone or as a base for about a week or two now. I finally decided to review this because just yesterday I was in the bank and the female teller leaned forward, inhaled deeply and said, "Mmmm! You smell SO good! I wanted to ask you yesterday when you were here, but I didn't, but now that you are back I have to ask...WHAT are you wearing? You smell delicious!" Yesterday I was wearing EG with Auric Blends Forbidden Desire and i took out both little vials from my purse and happily showed them to her. I unscrewed the tops and let her smell both of them and when she smelled the EG she said, "Oh! THIS is the one that I am really smelling, I LOVE this!" I was surprised because Forbidden Desire is heavier, spicier and much more detectable than EG - at least to me. She asked me to write down all the information, which I did, and I also gave her the Auric Blends website and you would think I had handed her a precious gem! I LOVE getting random compliments on fragrance, and truthfully, even on days when I feel like the EG smells kind of "off" on me or even if I can't detect it on myself, people really do notice and comment. It also happened in a 7-11 type store I ran into last summer. As I was paying, the girl at the counter said, "Mmmm! You smell good...WHAT are you wearing?" and before I could even answer, the 40-ish y/o man standing right behind me blushed, smiled, and said, "Yeah, you smell really, really nice!" Whoa! Thanks guys! :) And it was one of those SUPER casual "I threw-on-a-tank-top-and-jeans-and-a-ponytail-and-am-heading-to-the-beach-for-a vacation" kind of days, and all I had on was a few quick thoughtless swipes of Egyptian Goddess. So, for me, the whole thing about people generally really liking this fragrance enough to comment on it is true. It always surprises me when it happens, but it's really nice to hear! My husband cannot smell this at all, ever, which makes me sad, but I will always wear this for myself anyway. I love that this fragrance melds with your own body chemistry and personal scent to make an almost one-of-a-kind fragrance. I am so happy that it happens to work with mine, AND that it can still be had for a song. It's a cult classic that I will lovingly and happily buy for as long as they make it. PLEASE be careful about buying it on Amazon though. Some sellers are legit and some are SO NOT. I have received (from Amazon) a generic, unmarked bottle of something that was very obviously not Auric Blends Egyptian Goddess. Check the SELLER ratings and feedback - not just the ITEM reviews and feedback. I feel safest purchasing from my local health food store or directly from Auric Blends. So...I'm committed to Egyptian Goddess. Our relationship isn't always perfect, we have our ups and downs, and days when we work perfectly together, and days when I think about straying. But she is who she is and I love her for it and I will be staying with her for the long haul. ;)
Update 1/31/15- I had to come back and post that I got another TWO compliment on this! I don't know if maybe my body chemistry is perfect for this scent at this time of the month, or what's up, I'm not sure, but the compliments have really increased lately for some reason. I was wearing EG layered with Auric Blends' Rasta. Personally, I adore this combination and love catching whiffs of it on myself. It's warm and sexy and perfect for winter and just plain YUM. So, both my hairdresser AND a random gentleman at the restaurant where my husband and I were out to dinner both told me how nice I smell! If that doesn't make a girl feel good, I don't know what does. Lol, too bad my poor DH is almost completely anosmic, but I love fragrance so much I wear it every day for myself anyway. Love EG! And love Auric Blends, too!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 1/14/2015 12:44:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have a pretty sizable collection of perfumes. As such, there are many scents I forget I own and sort of end up "rediscovering". Auric Blends' Egyptian Goddess is one of those scents.

I initially discovered this when I was going through a perfume oil phase. I tried the much hyped (thanks to the late Carolyn Bessette Kennedy) Abdul Kareem Egyptian musk and, somehow, discovered this brand. If you enjoy Abdul Kareem's version, I think you'll also like EG. EG is a tad more sweeter and, in my opinion, more potent. It doesn't smell cheap or synthetic like a lot of oils can. It really is a soft, lovely scent that almost everyone likes.
That's really the cool thing about it - it's one of those scents you tend to forget you're wearing until someone compliments you. And yes, you will get compliments. I've had everyone from older women to young men ask me what I'm wearing and tell me it smells amazing. I'd categorize it as a non-perfume perfume. You're not going to clear a room with this as it almost begs people to get close to you to smell. At the same time, people can smell it without actually getting up on you. I think it's a great choice for a date because it's seemingly one of those scents that actually men like (and we all know how weird men can be about perfume).

I initially bought this in a wee rollerball from eBay about four years ago. Before I could use it up, I splurged on the larger bottled version which is basically just the oil in a spray bottle. I find that version to be the more potent one perhaps because more oil comes out. Be aware though, you don't want to spray this on your clothes. You'll get oily stains that smell good but look messy. Since my bottle is probably going on three years old, I can't speak to the complaints I've seen recently that the "new" formula is watered down or smells different. I do hope that's not the case, but many companies do have a tendency to start tweaking things that ain't broke. I suggest purchasing a sample before you commit.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 1/12/2015 9:26:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I can barely smell this. I must be anosmic. To me it smells exactly the way one reviewer described it below - like faintly sandalwood scented pencil shavings.

I've smelled egyptian musks before (from Hayward Enterprises and Wholesale Body Oils) so I think this blend is just a weaker one. Either I am anosmic to this or it is diluted. Either way I won't buy it again.


on 1/12/2015 9:41:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I've been wearing this oil on and off for years now. I find I always come back to it and it brings me a sense of familiarity and comfort. Recently, a man I was dating absolutely LOVED this stuff on me. Every single time I wore it he went crazy over me! So its definitely a seductive scent. Also, as I walked by a male friend while wearing it, he said " Mmm Egyptian musk!" haha. So even when you don't think its that strong, people can smell it. Egyptian goddess ages well over time, it keeps getting better and better. Yes its musky, but in a very sexy way- kind of like pheromones. Sweet yet never cloying. Understated and raw. Its a winner in my book!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/1/2014 9:26:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

i don't need any other type of perfume. no high end nonsense like juicy or Estee lauder (although those are nice). This perfume is cheap, natural and alluring. I recommend putting it on your wrist and temples. don't put on your neck because men find this scent irresistible and there will be alot of smooching and necking. my husband hates perfume besides Auric blends. my ex was crazy for it too.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/27/2014 2:35:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I love Egyptian Goddess. I've noticed that in the last little while, Auric Blends seems to have really diluted their fragrances and have made them a lot weaker, and current EG roller balls I've bought don't even come close to some that I purchased even as little as a year ago- so one lip off for that. That said, the fragrance is still beautiful and I will continue to repurchase. The roller balls are especially handy, because I stash them all over in my purse, desk, car, etc., for touch ups.


on 6/18/2014 7:23:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I began using this scent 20+ years ago. I first found it in a bath and body store in which they blended scents for lotions. I don't remember the name of the store, nor the name of the manufacturer of the oils. The store closed within a year and I was lost without my new scent! I stumbled on Auric Blends completely by chance. I was playing tourist in Mackinac City MI and happened to find the small roll on bottles in a renaissance store. When I saw the name "Egyptian Goddess", my hands actually began to shake with anticipation!
When I opened the bottle and took a sniff.... I was in heaven! It was my scent! I immediately bought every bottle they had. It was a very expensive purchase since the roll on bottles are not the best buy, but I couldn't take the chance that I would lose it again.
When I got home, I noticed they had a website and have been buying my perfume directly from Auric Blends ever since.
Now... to address some of the negative comments.....
I have been purchasing Auric Blends for almost 20 years and not just any scent.... it has always been Egyptian Goddess. Their blend/scent has not changed in all the years that I have been buying it. I have purchased every item within the Egyptian Goddess Line and have never been disappointed with the scent. This scent has never been "pungent", it has always been soft, light, a little musky and a tad floral. I have found that not everyone can wear this scent and have it smell the same as it did on someone else. That is the primary reason I do not recommend it to anyone. The oil works with your own body chemistry so if your bodily oils have changed, the scent changes. If you use a heavily scented or antibacterial shower gel, it can change the scent and it's strength. These are all things I have learned by trial and error over time.
With that said: I have had times when I thought the new bottles were a little light on scent but wore them anyway and had the most pleasing response from those around me. I am always complimented on "how I smell". Complete strangers have approached me in the grocery store to ask what I am wearing as well as others in restaurants, which should prove that the scent doesn't fade since it was competing with the strong smells of the food!
If you want to try it, I recommend the small roll on. Try it but give it time to mingle with your scent and see if you don't get the same response! Since I have been wearing it so long, I can no longer smell it on myself after a few hrs. I think my sense of smell has become so accustomed to it that it won't register any longer. But.... the response I get from others is still the same! My husband nuzzles my neck every time I wear it and folks still stop me wherever I go to ask what it is. If you can no longer smell it, ask someone else. Someone who doesn't smell it every day, and see what they say.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I totally concur with "jenerous" on the serious decline in quality of Egyptian Goddess! When I started wearing this scent over a decade ago it was a wonderfully pleasant, pungent scent with staying power; one that I could smell throughout the day and even on my sweaters after wear.

Last summer, I purchased two bottles (one for me and one for my Mom who happened to smell it on me and fall in love with it "first smell" just as I had done!) only to be gravely disapointed in the smell (or lack thereof!). I brought my new bottle on a girls getaway weekend with a friend and was SO disappointed in the product that I called Auric Blends right from our hotel room, left a detailed message and followed up with an email after I returned.

From that email on, I received a run around that consisted of large gaps between their responses, excuses for why their "resending" of my perfumes didn't arrive and that they would put a rush on sending it AGAIN only to have literally nearly a month go by before I received ANY replacement perfume!

From my original email to them on August 18, my replacement perfumes didn't arrive until November 4 and after smelling my "replacements", I emailed them this: I will be expressing this sentiment on paper when I return what you FINALLY shipped to me. To say I am disappointed is an understatement. To FINALLY receive my Egyptian Goddess after MONTHS of waiting only to open it and find it is NOT the Egyptian Goddess smell even in the slightest is beyond disappointing!!!! I don't know what has happened to your company since I first began order Egyptian Goddess from you, but I am terribly saddened to find that your product is no longer the same...

I emailed them again once I knew my return had arrived and then they apologized "this didn't work out" to which I replied: I too am terribly sad it didn't work out! Not sure if you mix your oils or buy them ready made, but if the scent ever returns to how it should smell, please let me know as THAT is worth buying and I would be happy to buy it again at that time: )

They went so far as to send me smaller "samples" of Egyptian Goddess which were worse than the first replacements!!! I followed THAT package receipt with this email: My refund posted and although I appreciate your gesture in sending those smaller amounts of perfume, I am saddened all over again that the Egyptian Goddess is FAR from the correct smell, yet again!!! It literally just smells like nasty plastic void of all that made that scent the wonderful scent it should be: ( If you EVER make it the way your company used to, please let me be the first to know as I would be so very happy to buy it again.

In February I emailed them this: Have you been able to make Egyptian Goddess the correct way yet!? I cannot tell you how DAILY, I am wishing for this scent to be what it once was so I can buy it again!

They never responded to that email so I email them this in April: I emailed a few weeks ago and thought I'd try again: ) Have you corrected your formula for Egyptian Goddess into it's original WONDERFUL pungent smell?!?! I have been so disappointed these last eight months that I haven't been able to enjoy this scent that I am HOPING you have fixed it and I can try ordering it again. Let me know...

A week later a different person from the original person I had been emailing back and forth with from Auric Blends sent me this: Hello, I am sorry to hear you are not satisfied with our product. It is normal for Egyptian Goddess to start out very faint and gain a stronger fragrance over time. Egyptian Goddess is a musk based fragrance and is somewhat volatile in nature which causes it to fluctuate a bit based on the age of the blend. Basically, the older the fragrance gets, the stronger it gets. The first thing we recommend is to allow the fragrance to sit for a couple of weeks and see if it gets stronger as it ages because “fresh” blends haven’t been allowed the time for all the components to coalesce. We try to ship only those batches that have had the time needed to age properly, but sometimes we find ourselves in a situation where the demand is greater than our supply and we must ship out what we have! We run quality control checks on all of our perfumes before we bottle them to be sure that the blends are within our acceptable fragrance range. The product you received has passed this testing. Please let me know if you need further assistance.

I THEN REPLIED: Thanks for taking the time to respond: ) My initial inquiry began in August of 2013 as I had ordered a bottle for my Mom and myself only to be gravely disappointed that there was only the faintest of smells (at best) in our oil. (name) FINALLY followed up with my phone calls and emails weeks after I began contacting her and eventually sent out two new bottles which contained oils that literally smelled like NO SCENT and almost like plastic in fact. Needless to say, to go from bad to worse was extremely disappointing as I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE Egyptian Goddess and have worn it for years. With that as a background, you can now understand why I have written yet again in hopes to be assured that the wonderful, pungent smell that IS Egyptian Goddess has been the norm again for the oil you are selling. Are you quite sure you are back to the smell of what Egyptian Goddess should be?

It is May 20 and they still haven't responded!

My suspicion is they "watered" down their once great smell with so much oil that it no longer has any scent or that perhaps they ran out of the correct ingredients and are selling these awful versions until they are back on track with the right formula. If my suspicion is correct, I am saddened they simply didn't tell me the truth but continued to make a bad situation worse! And if they are simply content selling this version, shame on them as they are robbing themselves of loyal customers (I know I am not alone!) that are happy to pay for their ori


on 4/3/2014 9:56:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Not for me. I was expecting a clean, fresh scent based on the reviews. This actually smells like new car smell. Not good.


on 2/27/2014 6:42:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I really love this scent! Soft, feminine,subtle and just lovely! Not overpowering or heavy. Love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1363 Reviews
Si
36 Reviews
Chloe (EDP)
341 Reviews
Gucci Guilty
127 Reviews
Light Blue
1411 Reviews


Back to Top