July 22, 2014 | 1676 users online

Liquid - L'Oreal - Visible Lift Smooth Absolute ] [DISCONTINUED]



image 0

rated 4.2(93 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.2
  • 86% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.1
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
    Pin It

    This product has been discontinued

    rated 5 of 5 on 1/31/2014 11:34:00 AM More reviews by Synderella

    Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

    I love this stuff. Its the only foundation I've found that provides the medium -full coverage without looking mask like that doesn't settle into the fine lines under my eyes. I don't know what I'm going to do once I deplete what's left in my shade from my online sources.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 4 of 5 on 8/11/2013 3:44:00 AM More reviews by veelui

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

    i like it, texture is on the thick side, but maybe i feel that way cuz i prefer the thinner ones. but color matches very well and i like that it comes with its own brush cuz i dont like buying them and washing them, cause im lazy.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 6/28/2013 12:42:00 AM More reviews by lalalalila

    Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Black

    Bought this on clearance from Rite Aid out of pure curiosity. And I ended up LOVING it! Some reviewers have complained about the packaging, but I actually find it quite useful and convenient. I use the built in brush to just "dot" the foundation on, then I blend it out using my Sigma Flat Top Kabuki. I then set it using my MAC Careblend Pressed Powder, or my The Body Shop All-In-One Face Base if I need/want heavier coverage. It should be noted that the coverage is not matte, but slightly dewy -- which I like because it looks natural.

    For me, this lasts all day and requires little to no powder touch-ups, even in very hot weather.

    I'm NC 40 in MAC and the shade I use is the darkest: 174 Sun Beige. Perfect match!

    I'll be sad when I can't find this with the built-in applicator anymore, but I'd still buy it even with the new regular bottle packaging!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 3/12/2013 1:25:00 PM More reviews by NYCShopaholic

    Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    I've never been a foundation fan but as I've gotten older my skin has changed from oily & breakout prone to more of a combination that can be highly variable due to seasons, weather, etc. Also I've started to get wrinkles, nothing too severe, but between dryer skin and lines ... Well it was time to use foundation for real.

    I'd been using bare minerals medium tan or shiseido bronze, both of which I used pretty sparingly and only to even out my skin and give me a little color. I think I'll go back to them for summer.

    Anyway, in my quest for a winter foundation I went to a nearby Mac store, based solely on their reputation for great foundations. What a waste of time. The person who helped me couldn't match my skin color at all. I left very frustrated.

    So then I walked over to Rite Aid down the street & winged it with this product in buff beige (168).

    What great stuff! The color match is PERFECT. It's not too greasy, and it makes my skin look so much better.

    Reading other reviews I see that lots of people don't like the way the product comes out onto the brush or the brush itself. I actually like those things.

    I twist the top until the makeup appears, then smear it on my clean palm, then use the built in brush to apply, dabbing the brush into my palm when I need a bit more foundation.

    Then I take another foundation brush that I just bought & LOVE (the tarte airbrush finish bamboo foundation brush) & buff my whole face, blending into my hairline and under my chin etc.

    Honestly, my skin has never looked better!

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 3/9/2013 7:29:00 PM More reviews by Jhulagurl

    Age: 25-29 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

    I have one word for this foundation, GREASY! I don't have oily skin, but this foundation looked so greasy and slimy on my skin it was disgusting. I could feel it on my skin all day and it just felt gross, I couldn't wait to take it off! This foundation never really sets and instead of looking glowy it just looks oily and nasty. It draws attention to every imperfection on my face and makes pores look huge. It tends to "pool" in pores instead of covering them and making them appear smaller. The coverage is light to medium, so if you have acne or scars or a lot of things to cover then this is not going to be enough coverage for you. I have rosacea and this really doesn't cover it well and if you try to layer it, it just ends up looking super CAKEY and nasty on skin. Even when I try to set it with a powder is still looked oily! This also will clog pores since it is suffocating to the skin. This also contains bismuth oxychloride, which is really bad for the skin, it causes micro tears in the skin which will later lead to infection.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 3/8/2013 9:24:00 PM More reviews by seaswan

    Age: Unknown Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Other

    It's been a challenge finding an DS foundation for my winter dry skin with the following criteria. Buildable, natural looking coverage, good shade selection, and no mica or other glitter like ingredients. (lack of sparkle is why I went with the VL Smooth instead of the VL Serum).
    Did some research, checked reviews here and off to to CVS I went.
    In the store I first picked up Buff Beige which is in the middle of the display but is darker than the shades to the right & left of it. Odd layout by L'oreal. I had a coupon so bought Natural Buff and Natural Beige. $15.99 for .85 oz bottle.
    N. Buff is a pretty good match leaning light so N.Beige balances that out.
    Application was creamy, and blended well (with a separate buff brush and/or fingers) and the coverage is medium without primer. My skin looked nice and dewy, even when I put powder on the glow was still there, (oily skins should shy away), with no settling in lines, pores or dry patches. VLSA feels very light. It also wears well, color stayed true and my skin still looked just as nice later in the day. Removed easily with Olay SS face wash.

    Now...on to the bad and the 3 lippie rating:
    The brush top twist click bottle. What a pain! I cut off and removed all of the brush bristles, to be more hygienic and have more control over application, then I pour it into a smaller jar that I have. The foundation itself is 4 to 5 lippie rating but had to deduct L'oreal's annoying packaging. Ulta has stopped carrying this and I have a feeling this will be D/C soon. So if you like this foundation..Stockpile alert!

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 2/6/2013 11:56:00 PM More reviews by scopingforyou

    Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

    *****On its way to being officially discontinued. Walgreens and Walmart has this on clearance.*******


    PROS: I like the finish (satin on my skin.) I have quite dry, mid-40's, large-pored skin that is so hard to find foundation for. This is pretty kind to my wrinkles compared to most foundations.(I've tried 32.)


    CONS: The stupid brush contraption that makes you have to click (even if one careful click at a time, it comes out in a huge gush.) It makes it more expensive to use, because there's quite a bit of waste. Color selection is small. The lightest shade (classic ivory) is quite pink. The nude beige is more warm-toned, but it is too dark. I'm an N10-15 (leaning to NC). (see alternates for my solution of using the Serum Absolute version instead.)


    APPLICATION TIPS: I put it right on top of my moisturizer while it's still "wet" when I want a light coverage. I like it even more when I use Loreal's Magic Smooth primer or some name like that. (I pat it into pores and then let it set for a bit before applying makeup.) It also makes this last longer on my face.


    REMOVAL TIPS: If you are prone to clogging, you may want to remove this with a cleansing oil before using your regular cleanser. I actually just put a few drops of jojoba oil in my olay sensitive cleanser.


    ALTERNATES: I like to use the Serum Absolute instead for much better color range. I use 144 (light ivory - which is much warmer than this line's ivory) mixed with just a bit of 151 (natural beige). The Serum Absolute lasts longer on my face too. It looks just as good in my wrinkles and pores. I just put it on top of my moisturizer (Replenix SPF 50 Moisturizer in the silver tube) for more of a tinted moisturizer look. For H/E, I absolutely adore Laura Mercier Tinted Moisturizer, which is the best thing for not making my wrinkles look worse, out of 35 foundations I've tried.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 2/1/2013 10:08:00 PM More reviews by lcmcallister

    Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    This is definitely my HG foundation. I love a natural dewy finish. it's like I found my soulmate!!!

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 4 of 5 on 1/16/2013 4:20:00 AM More reviews by mi2092

    Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

    I was looking for good sale on this foundation so I can try it and found a GREAT DEAL at Ulta. They have it on clearance for $3.79. I had a manufacture coupon that took $3 off. Plus the $3.50 off $10 purchase coupon you can print off at Ulta website. I paid 55 cents for it. So at this review I gave it 1 for price.
    I'm NC25 and bought this in 170 Nature Beige. Possibly the most yellowish shade of the line. It's a bit dark for me. But I think this is the closest shade for me. After blending it out it kind of blend in better with my skin tone. For this I might use it more in the summer.
    The formula is very smooth. Just like it said. I like to use it with a flat top brush. Coverage is light to medium. Dewy finish, not drying. I set it with powder and it last a very decent amount of time and it doesn't transfer easily. I'm quite surprised by the quality of it.
    Overall this is a good drugstore foundation for combination to dry skin. The regular price runs from $13-$16. The brush head doesn't bother me. I only twist it out to put on the back of my hand. And I always wash my hands before putting on makeup anyways.
    L'oreal has confirmed that they are discountinuing this product. But so far I haven't seen it on sale elsewhere other than Ulta. When I find it on clearance again I'll definitely stock up.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 1/14/2013 6:24:00 PM More reviews by minisun98

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    I think this just might be my HG foundation. This is definitely a foundation you must get!

    Pros:
    -awesome consistency, doesn't get cakey
    -blends out amazingly
    -medium coverage
    -spf 17
    -staying power is amazing
    -finish is slightly dewy

    Cons:
    -the applicator. it absolutely sucks. you either get zero, or way too much product!
    -kind of pricy for a drug store. 13ish dollars? but so SO worth the money

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No