The Body Shop Nutriganics - Softening Cleansing Gel

3.9

18 reviews

55% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals
The Body Shop is a Cruelty-Free Subsidiary.

INGREDIENTS



Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I use this cleanser as a first cleanse in the morning and second cleanse in the evening. I think it's a really good product for the price that you pay. I have dry/sensitive/acne prone skin and get red very easily i think it's a very luxurious product and if you use a muslim cloth to remove it there is no residue left over. In terms of consistancy it's medium-thick and then when you massage it in for around 10 seconds it turns into a oil. It leaves my skin feeling really soft and not moisturised but not dry (happy medium)

My only negative is that because i use it morning and night it does run out quickly but to be honest i would repurchase it again because i find it's really soothing and the smell is gorgeous (organic smelling) i havent tried to remove my makeup with it because i've heard it's not good at that but overall i rate it a 9/10



on 1/16/2015 7:36:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Green

Edit - I found that this didn't remove all my makeup, and I had to rub a lot more to remove it. It left a waxy residue on my skin which I suspect has blocked a few pores. Poop. It's been binned.

I usually make my own cleansing balms, but as I'm travelling, it's not worth it. I have been using this product for a couple of days, and I really, really like it. MOSTLY.

Pros -
If you wet your face with warm water before using, you only need an almond-sized amount to get your make up off. I am a double-cleanser and for the second cleanse, I only need a pea-sized amount.
My skin is soft and it cleanses thoroughly and deeply.
It's VERY easy to use, and I suspect it would travel well.
It is far, far cheaper than premium-brand balm cleansers and just as effective as any that I have used.

Cons -
It's very highly fragranced and I suspect that if I use it all the time, it may irritate my sensitive skin.
It removes eye makeup, but it stings like crazy. My eyes are red and watery for quite some time after use.

Assuming my stupidly sensitive skin doesn't freak out, I will probably buy this product again - and I am now interested in checking out the rest of the nutriganics range.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/11/2014 5:09:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Black

Overall, I love using this product. It is my first step in my daily regime. I use it to remove all my makeup. It is so soft, and applies on the skin smoothly. Even with a gentle touch I can see it remove my makeup with ease.

It's really nice on my sensitive and oily skin. Not only does my skin feel clean after using it, my skin looks rejuvenated.

Would purchase again. A definite must have.

I also just started to implement the Korean skin care into my daily regime. In which one of the steps is to use a oil gel cleanser. If you are looking for one I would recommend trying this one out!


on 10/23/2014 2:57:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Fine

Eyes: Green

I absolutely love this cleanser.

I've had dry, eczema prone skin my entire life. This cleanser is so gentle and moisturizing that it honestly seems to help heal my skin any time there is irritation and feels like rubbing pure moisture in.

It is also AMAZING at taking off makeup-- especially eye makeup. I no longer have to use any kind of eye makeup remover as this dissolves mascara and eyeliner easily, as well as taking care of my foundation.

As far as any anti-aging effects I haven't noticed any difference, but I don't have many lines on my face as I'm still under 30. I'm using it mostly as an ultimate moisturizing wash. But I'm hoping starting to use it before I'm seeing anything major on my face will help as a preventative measure.

Make sure to apply to a dry face. My only complaint is that it's not the best for using in the mornings in the shower unless you apply it before you go in.

Price is right, especially for how long it lasts (a bottle usually lasts me about four months or so) and TBS always has sales. Many people have complained about the scent of Nutriganics but I find it very clean smelling.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/19/2014 8:07:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

If you are after a simple but effective cleanser this is it. The ingredients are pretty good I think and it does a good job of removing makeup without causing my sensitive skin any issues. It is lacking the luxury feel but as I currently use TBS camomile sumptuous cleansing butter as a first cleanse, I get my luxury from that one!


on 2/14/2014 4:30:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

PROS: -I love that it's 98% natural ingredients. -I also love how it completely removes all my makeup, I tend to wear heavy makeup daily. -I love the consistency of this product as it goes on as a gel, turns into an oil, and as soon as it come in contact with water, it turns to a milky texture. CONS: -it does make my skin feel tight after using it. -I must use a damp towel to remove cleanser residue or it will get in my eyes ever after several attempts at splashing my face with water. BEST WAY TO USE: -on dry skin apply gel. -Rub in circular motion till it turns to a oily texture. -Wet hands and continue to massage till it turns to milky texture. -Splash face with water a couple of times. -Wet a towelette, rinse off residue.


on 8/1/2013 11:48:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

I guess my most accurate review would be that this is a -nice- product. Not great, not bad, just nice.

I was given a full sized tube of this when I attended one of The Body Shop's store openings. What I do appreciate very much about this product is that 99% of it is derived from natural ingredients, and 75% of it comes from Community Trade products, and for that I must applaud The Body Shop! Given the origins of its ingredients, I'd say it works fairly well. It doesn't do great at removing party makeup - by that I mean heavy eyeshadow, eyeliner and blush/bronzer - but if you're just taking off some sunscreen and light foundation, I'd trust this.

I usually take a dollop of it and rub it all over my dry face until it starts to melt in, and turns to an oily consistency, I then use warm water to emulsify it and rinse it off. My skin is left soft, fresh and healthy. In fact, if you're one of those blessed types who have such perfect skin and don't need makeup to cover up, then I think this product may be one of your best friends!!

The reason why I'm giving it 3 stars is because again, it's just a nice product. As a makeup remover, I prefer Shu Uemera's cleansing oil, and as a normal everyday cleanser, I prefer La Roche Posay's Effaclar Foaming Gel cleanser. I also would have preferred it to have had a clear packaging instead, but that's just personal preference. I still have some of this left, and I'd use every last drop of it, but it won't be something that I'd repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/28/2013 3:04:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I am very impress with this stuff! I have tried many makeup removers and I think it is as good as the MAC Cleansing Oil. Once this stuff touches water it almost transforms into a milky/oil consistency. It is sensitive, removes my mascara, and it does not leave a residue after cleansing. I would 100% repurchase this again. This makes your skin feel clean without a tight sensation!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 7/18/2013 11:24:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I like that this cleansing gel is 99% from natural origin and that 45% of the ingredients of that 99% are from certified organic farming. I really like the unobtrusive pleasant scent that smells kind of naturally pleasantly medicinal instead of fake perfumey. I also liked that it did not leave my skin feeling greasy either, although a bit tight so a followup moisturizer was required. My biggest complaint however is that I require a lot of this product to remove my makeup and therefore went through my little standard sized 100ml tube very very quickly; it only lasted me one season. I don't normally go through any skin care product quickly so this was a surprise. Perhaps its also a testament to me liking it so much that I chose to use it so often over my numerous other choices. I don't remember how much I paid for it but I do remember it was not cheap for the amount provided at regular price.
I have a request that the Body Shop change the packaging to a bigger and pump style bottle; I like the green colour accents - also less importantly, maybe they could change the look of the container to a clear bottle - to something nicer but only if not sacrificing the quality of the actual gel.
I like Nutriganics softening cleansing gel much, much better than sister company Lancome's cleansing oil, just want a bigger pump style bottle for a more reasonable price without sacrificing the formulation. Otherwise, for now I'm sticking with my Bioderma and Vichy Purete Thermale Micellar 3 in 1 sensitive skin cleansing solution.
Edit March 2014: I really liked that this product is so natural, and with all the promos on at The Body Shop now as they are competing with B&BW I think I'd like to pick this up at a discount to keep on hand when I want an oil to milk cleanser for when I want to change up my regimen, which knowing me, is all the time, I have so much product to rotate. So, changed my rating and would definately buy gain, albeit at a discount ;)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/8/2013 6:17:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Overall I like the Nutriganics line from the Body Shop. The cleanser also has this soft scent, cleansing power seems good (I always use my cleansers after using a cleansing oil so it is sometimes difficult to comment on the efficiency). Not abrasive at all for my sensitive skin. Would buy again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top