October 1, 2014 | 1005 users online

Eye Shadow - Clinique - Colour Surge Quad - Black Honey



image 0

rated 5.0(7 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 5.0
  • 100% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.4
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 1/28/2014 6:41:00 PM More reviews by sierrab2010

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I only have the dark brown/burgundy/plum shade (which is the one that's actually called black honey) because I couldn't find the quad in stores. However, it's now my go to shade for everyday. It's neutral enough that I can wear it without looking too "made up". The slight reddish purple tint beings out my brown eyes in a subtle but very pretty way. I forget the price but it was no more than $12 or so I believe. The amount of product is good too. I've barely made a dent in it. Holy grail eyeshadow. I hope it's never discontinued!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/6/2013 3:27:00 PM More reviews by prettypollyperkins

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

Like another reviewer, I ordered this on the back of loving the Black Honey lip gloss. There is not one colour in this quad that gets ignored - they all suit my light olive complexion perfectly. This quad stands out in my collection in terms of quality. I love it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/24/2013 3:42:00 PM More reviews by Shanplum

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

Adore the darkest almost warm black berry burgandy chocolate brown shade in this it's a dream for green eyes worth a 5 for this colour alone!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/31/2012 4:58:00 PM More reviews by VoR

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Grey, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

Very nice quad, lovely workable colours and not too much shimmer (at 45 I go for minimal eye shimmer whenever possible!) It's easy to build these colours into a bolder night-time look or keep them toned down for almost nude daytime chic and of course they work well with the rest of the Black Honey range which, incidentally, has recently been released in Limited Edition across Australasia.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 10/1/2011 10:44:00 PM More reviews by lebon

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I ordered this blindly because I so love the Black Honey lipstick and gloss. Admittedly, when this first arrived, I had a sinking feeling that I'd just wasted $25. (Let us pause for a moment of shocked silence to contemplate the fact that an eyeshadow quad could actually cost $25!). The matte cream shade (clearly intended as an all over base color) seemed well and fine, but I'm 37 so I avoid overly shimmery shades...and the second color is a definitely shimmery gold. Rounding out the quad are a burnt sienna-esque matte and a darker brown, neither of which looked remotely accessible to me on first (and second, and admittedly, third) glance.

But I gave it a try anyway and was so glad that I did. The shimmery gold really settles in to a lovely warm shade without giving the dreaded "crepey" effect. The matte burnt sienna somehow deepens the warmth of the gold, toning it down and making it work for daytime and/or a professional setting.

Bottom line: Much like the lipstick and gloss, this is a quad that I suspect would compliment an array of skin tones, offering a polished finish that's understated but unmistakable.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/28/2011 11:00:00 AM More reviews by sarahharb

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I had to get this as i love black honey lipstick. I must say the shadow is beautiful too. All 4 shades are very wearable and look awesome alone or all together. I love the light shimmery color. it kinda reminds me of a cross between stila kitten and mac all that glitters...2 of my fave shades. the red brown matte color is fabulous in a smoky eye and is a richer version of mac swiss chocolate. The deep shimmer shade is a gorgeous deep plummy browny, coppery color. can;t quite figure it out but looks amazing smoked out. and the matte light color is a great basic all over lid color for simple eye look. fabulous. not bad lasting power. i havent really used clinique before and i wasnt expecting much. it's better than i thought it would be.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 8/29/2011 11:43:00 PM More reviews by citygirl123

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I'm kind of in love with this quad. I quite seriously ran (as in, the same day) right after watching Samantha Chapman (Pixiwoo on YouTube) do a tutorial on a back to school look for her Real Techniques channel using this quad, and I fell in love. I just had to have it.

For $25, I think it's priced fairly, and is in very nice packaging. I don't LOVE the packaging, but it's SO much better than the ugly, old lady green compacts they used to have. I haven't seriously considered a Clinique product in so long because I honestly hated the packaging and was under-whelmed by the products. But I love this Black Honey line.

I first do have to say that I'm warm-toned, and this collection is definitely best-suited for warmer-toned people. I think I was especially excited because I really wanted the Prelude quad that Chanel recently launched in their Fall collection, but the colors didn't work on me because they were cool-toned. This one was perfect and like half the cost. Anyhoo ...

These shadows are lovely and work so well together. The whole collection works amazing together, actually. It all compliments everything without being too matchy-matchy. The shadows have two shimmery shades and two matte ones. The lighter matte shade is a great highlight or base, and the other is a great crease color for a very natural look. The two shimmery shades are stunning, especially the darkest color.

Overall, I'm very, very happy with this quad. Perfect for fall and I'd recommend it to anyone.

For reference, I'm also very fair and have green eyes, and I think these colors look best of fair skin.

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No