Orly Top 2 Bottom basecoat and topcoat in one

4.0

34 reviews

73% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Butyl Acetate, Ethyl Acetate, Nitrocellulose, Isopropyl Alcohol, Camphor


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I loved this product! I've been searching for a good base coat for years!

This is the closest to salon quality base coat I have found yet. It dries on your bare nail very quickly. (By the time I was on my pinky, my thumb was already dry.)

I haven't tried it as a top coat yet, because reading other reviews, it seems like it isn't a very glossy finish, so I used a different one.

Its been a week and I hardly see any chipping.. Only my thumb has chipped, and that's probably because I'm always typing like crazy!



on 12/31/2014 3:07:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I used this product twice now and both tried as base and top coat. If I'm using it as a base coat I don't see any problem but as a top coat it's HORRIBLE! It takes HOURS before it gets dry. Usually I do my nails at night so when I started using this product my nails will be MESSED UP in the morning, from bedding marks to hair marks. Ugh! :'(


on 9/25/2014 8:07:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This stuff is GOOD! I applied it as a base and top coat on my nails 2 days ago and my nails are still perfect. I know that's not long... But I'm rough with my nails so usually I have multiple chips after about 1 day! I used to use OPI base coat and found it didn't really 'stick' to my nails. I could peel it off. My orly one binds really well. Would definitely repurchase!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/22/2013 8:57:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I looooove this stuff. I got it in a buy one get one free sale at Sally's and only picked it up because I needed a new base coat. Now I use this as a base coat (if I'm working with dark or blue nail polishes, I use two coats because otherwise it can sometimes let the polish...seep through, I guess, and stain the nails) with a thick coat of Pro-FX fast drying topcoat and my nail polish stays on for WEEKS. I'm not even kidding. I painted my nails lastttt...Monday I think it was? It's Thursday right now and the tips haven't even started to wear yet and I could probably get away with wearing this until next weekend without a single chip. For some reason this basecoat with that top coat just works wonders for me and since I've found this combination, I usually get sick of my nail polish before it chips, which is a miracle. However, I find it's way too thin to be a topcoat. But I definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a good base coat :)


on 11/17/2013 2:18:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Great product for the efficient spender in you. I like it for both the top and bottom. It dries moderately fast, and it's a thinner liquid. My secret recipe is this as the top and bottom coats, and then a quick dry as the 5th layer (wow am I really that insane with my nails? Base coat, two layers of color, top coat, quick dry). The quick dry top coat is NYC's "In A New York Color Minute Quick Dry Nail Polish." This combination literally lasts a week with minimal touch ups. Incredible.


on 9/28/2013 11:55:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got the smaller size of this 2-in-1 polish at marshalls for $2.99. I really like how fast it dries on bare nails and how it helps my polish last longer when I use it as both a base and top coat. It does take a little longer to dry when used as a top coat but I don't mind the wait. It is not overly glossy but not matte either. Overall a very good product that I will purchase in the full sized version.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Works well as a base coat. Does not chip or lift off very easily. I use this as a base coat and add a coat of Orly Tough Cookie on top. I get lots of compliments on the length of my nails. My nails are definitely stronger and longer with this base. Never had a problem with stained nail beds using this product. I have a picture in my profile as proof that this product works!


on 10/18/2012 8:45:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is a decent basecoat. I don't usually use it as a topcoat because I use another quick dry one. It smooths out your nail. I do agree with the reviewer a few below this one, it won't keep your nails from yellowing when you use a dark color.


on 10/14/2012 12:21:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have never had a mani last this long. on me a mani last a day at the most. with top 2 bottom my mani has lasted 3 days. I cleaned my nails with alcohol first and put color on while the bottom coat was still wet(as sugested by another reveiwer)

Up date: my mani has lasted 5 days. on the second mani I used a nail dehydrater after cleaning with alcohol, then sealed the edge of my nail on the bottom coat and top coat.


on 8/30/2012 1:27:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It's a decent base coat, it helps polish apply smoothly and adhere better to your nail. Darker polishes will stain your nails, though.

I don't like it as a top coat because it's not glossy enough for me, and because I'd rather use a top coat that helps my nail polish dry faster. (This one dries like any regular NP... takes a while)

Overall, decent product, you won't be disappointed if you buy it. I will finish up this bottle, but there are better BC and TC out there, so I won't repurchase. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Top/Base Coats


Matte About You
110 Reviews
RapiDry Top Coat
138 Reviews
Gel Coat
10 Reviews


Top Rated Orly Products

image

Rage

51 reviews
image

Bare Rose

31 reviews
Back to Top