September 16, 2014 | 1773 users online

Primer/ Corrector - E.L.F. - Wrinkle Refiner

no image

rated 3.8(13 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.8
  • 61% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.5
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 1/22/2014 10:52:00 PM More reviews by Yvonneay

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

This thing is weird...

it has it's pros and cons, but it does seem to work and do it's job... which amazes me.

I have a lot of fine lines/wrinkles under my eyes (and I'm 22). So this product, for $3, seemed to be too good to be true. And to me right now it still feels like it is too good to be true.

I applied it at first and there was no difference, I didn't understand what all the hype was with this because it did absolutely nothing for me. After a bit I decided to give it another go, and I put more product under only one eye. In seconds my fine lines were completely gone, and my larger wrinkle was blurred more. I was baffled. This thing actually worked?! After a bit, I decided to finally try it on with my concealer I've been using lately... Welp, the astonishment was short lived for sure. It made my concealer incredibly hard to blend, and even then there were little specs of concealer still grabbing on to certain areas, not budging. Good thing it was night time when I was trying this!

Anyway, I haven't tried any other way of applying this... magical device... but I'm thinking I'll be using this lots.

The packaging on the other hand is a bit of a bust. Go figure, it's $3, that's where elf saves it's money so it can sell things for cheaper. I received this product in the mail and after opening it, the whole container was slimy with the product. I wiped it clean, and opened it up to have more product spill out. It's very very liquid-y. After cleaning it all up, it took me forever to actually get the product out. I twisted the bottom a bunch and nothing. Finally, after twisting a few more times, the product came spilling out. It's very inconsistent, and again, I'm going to blame the product being very liquid-y and the packaging being very poorly made for this type of liquid. The little silicon applicator thing they have for applying the product smells terrible as well.

But again, for $3, I can look past all of these things, and I probably will be purchasing this again unless it starts breaking me out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 1/24/2013 2:13:00 AM More reviews by outdoorsgal

Age: 44-55 Skin: Other, Other, Warm Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I came across a tube of this at Winners and I decided to get it based on the MUA reviews.
The texture is definitely 'interesting' and it didn't apply all that well on my skin. I used it under my eyes and around the mouth area (where the 'marionette' lines form) and I had difficulty blending it.

My concealer didn't apply smoothly and this primer seemed to make it streak. Plus I didn't really notice much of a difference in softening of the lines.

The worst part was it made me break out around the mouth area. I have hormonal acne so this made it worse.

At least it didn't cost me a fortune. This is one product where YMMV.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 9/14/2012 1:52:00 PM More reviews by windycina

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

There are expensive products that promise to refine wrinkle, that maybe work, but at really high prices. This simply-easy-to-use product, it really does his work (off course just temporarily) but for all girls that have a problematic under-eye area, that's really a great primer: help to set the concealer, that really doesn't crease, or give you the "cakey" look, and obviously... refine (a little) wrinkle.

At 4 euros, that's definitely a product that will never miss from my make up case, and i'm pretty skeptical about elf products. (I'm 35 years old, light skin, with not much wrinkles, but with terrible, terrible, TERRIBLE dark circle).

EDIT: after finishing the bottle i must say that i won't repurchase the product: it tends to make my under eye area dryer whit the time. So sad, i was amazed by this product.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 8/26/2012 10:33:00 PM More reviews by mirageangelhope

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I used this for my under-eye where I have quite a few little lines I have tried putting this there and it does nothing but who knows it might work on areas that are a little less cramped.

It does dry quickly so that nice just know that it doesn't seem to work every where.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 5/29/2012 6:57:00 PM More reviews by Suasoria

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

This doesn't seem to make a difference for me. I am still tinkering with it, trying to see the results some other reviewers are seeing. I have not used it under my eyes, just on my forehead and the one (one!) nasolabial wrinkle.

The applicator gets "clogged" easily.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/12/2012 9:57:00 PM More reviews by yukiruri

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Really does work temporarily (i.e., within the next 5-6 hrs) fill in wrinkles and smooth out the skin. I don't use it on my wrinkles but on my cheek line, which is a weird skin indentation running below the eye bags onto my cheeks. It honestly is the FIRST functional product that doesn't cost a fortune. The application itself is horrible, the formula dries and flakes upon rubbing; however these are small things I can over-look, as for me there currently is no other substitute. For people who are having trouble getting foundation/powder to sit on top of it, I would try to use a primer between the two layers. I'd definitely buy again simply because it works for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/13/2012 12:30:00 PM More reviews by jackplusfour

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I LOVE THIS STUFF !!! It comes in a little twist up tube with a silicone applicator. I swipe it over my lines between my brows and my nose to mouth lines (thanks for the inheritance dad!!) and gently pat in. Give it 2 minutes to dry, then apply my usual primer over the rest of my face followed by my foundation. The lines between my eyes are practically gone, and the nose to mouth lines CONSIDERABLY softer and blurred. Will buy back ups and will panic if they ever discontinue this. And the icing on the cake? It costs a measly £3.50. Seriously. I have paid over £40 for line and wrinkle reducing lotions and potions that couldn't hold a candle to this stuff. The new HG love of my life <3 xxx

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/11/2012 10:32:00 PM More reviews by Anita09

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This product is amaaazing it actually does fill in wrinkles and maskes your skin uniformly even. This acts like a plumper, it tingles slightly but it acts like a temporary filler smoothing the skin. :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/17/2012 9:31:00 PM More reviews by KCucumber

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This product is phenomenal!

Despite being quite young (29) I am very fair, and have a lot of crows feet and wrinkles under my eyes which I have had since I was 25. They bother me greatly. I have tried very expensive treatments, and inexpensive treatments to diminish them to no avail.

I put this on and immediately my wrinkles appeared to disappear! I understand this is not a "treatment" and will not make them go away permenantly, but this product literally makes the wrinkles look like they have disappeared. NOTHING has ever come close to this. I am beyond pleased.

The product feels light (like a silicone primer) and fills in the wrinkles perfectly (I am not exaggerating - my wrinkles are uniform and flush with the rest of my skin). There may be a slight issue with pilling, so I would suggest diligently patting this product and any concealer you put on top in very well.

I cannot say enough about this product. The best part is I purchased it for only $6!

If you are like me and self conscious about under eye wrinkles I wholeheartedly recommend this product. In the event it does not work you have only lost $6 (as opposed to the $90+ I have spent in the past). This is the best cosmetic item I have ever used.

Love, love, love this product. I truly cannot say enough about this god send of a product.

HIGHLY recommended.

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/5/2012 11:42:00 AM More reviews by elouv

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I use this for my puffy eyes and I can see difference, they look less tired.I don't expect miracles from any product so I am 100% satisfied with this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No