July 30, 2014 | 1118 users online

Eye Shadow - Maybelline - eye studio color explosion in pink punch



image 0

rated 3.6(12 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.6
  • 50% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.6
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 7/13/2012 12:29:00 PM More reviews by BazookaBaby

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I have three of the Mabelline Eye Studio Color Explosion pallets and they've all been pretty good to me (I did a separate review on Caffine rush, it's one of my go-to eye products). This one is a collection of pinks, a very light baby pink, a medium pink, a darker mauve, a grapey purple, and then a sheer uber light pink glitter.

All the colors are very soft, with decent pigmentation for a drug store brand and they all have a bit of shimmer to them. I use Laura Mercier's eye primer in Flax as a base when I wear eyeshadow and I've never had an issue with the colors blending, staying, or creasing. I do find, however, that the darker two shades have a harder time blending than the lighter ones.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/24/2012 4:16:00 PM More reviews by wynterandkaylinsmommy123

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I loved my pink punch. Unfortunently my best friend loved it too and even though she says she didnt take it, i kno she did because its just so happens that i show it to her and it goes missing out of my makeup bag like 4 minutes later. But i forgive her anyway.
But i loved the pinks in this. They were very well pigmented . I didnt really know what the glitter was used for so i just put the colors on and then applied glitter all over the lid. The glitter does have a lot of fall out but i didnt mind. I just wiped it away. As far as lasting time for this, it only lasted on me for about 3 hrs without a primer. Never got to use it with one because it went " missing".
Would i repurchase? Yes but only if it went on sale because the price i paid was 10$ and thats expensive to me to lose in the same week i bought it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 6/13/2012 4:13:00 PM More reviews by linhle777

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I wanted to try out a pink eyeshadow for a change. I'm a nc40 and this looked really weird. The dark pink turned bright in my skin and looked unnatural. The liter color is chalky on me. The dark purple was decent color payoff sucked though. The only color I liked was the white cream glittery color but not worth ten dollars to keep the packaging. The packaging is ugly and was cheap not worth it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/3/2012 2:10:00 AM More reviews by Solette

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Grey

I call this my "Work safe" pink. I normally rock purples instead of pinks but this looked like it was worth giving a try. The shades are subtle but still very beautiful. The shimmer really goes well with the color palate. I wish they would sell that on its own.
Only cons I have about the product is the shape of the trays. they are kinda annoying when you start running out of product. and I have a feeling that the long, darkest shade is going to go to waste since i'm nearly out of every other color besides that one.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 3/15/2012 8:21:00 PM More reviews by susiexxx

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

When i saw this in the store i was like wow those colors are absolutely gorgeous and i was super excited to try them out but when i did i wasnt impressed, the eyeshadow just wasnt very pigmented and when i applied it there was tons of fall out and not very much stayed on the eye.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 2/21/2012 10:54:00 PM More reviews by PiMehMeh

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I'll be honest, I really only wanted these because for drugstore eyeshadows, the packaging is absolutely gorgeous and comparable to the packaging designs of the far more expensive Japanese brand KATE eyeshadows. Actually, although a lot of people criticize the Maybelline eyeshadow packaging as "cheap" and "flimsy," I've found their packaging to be even more stable than the KATE eyeshadows from Japan, where the lids feel like they'll just fall off at any moment.

I got my first Color Explosion eyeshadow palette in a swap and tried it on, both with and without eyeshadow primer, and both with and without the glittering "luminizer." I found myself preferring to use this without the luminizer at all, because although the luminizer does intensify the eyeshadows a little more, it's not by much. In fact I spent too much time catching glitter fall out from the luminizer on my lids while applying eyeshadow, that ultimately it wasn't worth the slightly better saturation. But by themselves, the eyeshadows appeared really sheer no matter how much I tried to layer it on.

I tried the eyeshadows on again using Victoria's Secret VS PRO Lasting FX Eyeshadow Primer and it worked wonders for these eyeshadows—colors were more opaque and saturated and I spent less time trying to pack the colors on. It worked much better than the included luminizer, so I generally end up just skipping the luminizer, which is a bit of a waste for how much this palette runs for!

If I could suggest anything, the "luminizer" should have just been a highlighter shadow color instead of a pan full of glitter that's difficult to control both under and over the eyeshadows. Otherwise I would have given this a rating of 4. Overall, this isn't a bad eyeshadow palette and it's packaging is very pretty for a drugstore eyeshadow, but their Color Plush Eyeshadows are better than these for their wider color variety, lower prices, and comparable silkiness and opacity.

If you're in on Color Explosion just to collect their packaging, great! Because I love the packaging too. But if you really want more for your money, skip this. There are better-value drugstore eyeshadows.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 11/25/2011 1:30:00 AM More reviews by tango2470

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

Its strange...I tried both forest fury and caffeine ruch and LOVED them. This one, however is a pass for me anyways.

They are alright, but I simply find them to be not very pigmented, and relatively dull in color.

Instead of "pink Punch" the quad should be called "soft rose" or something of that nature, because pink punch makes me think of bright, vivid pinks, which these are not. If you like subtle, rose shades, these might be okay for you, but you'd be better off buying WnW pedal pusher, as it is less expensive, and better pigmentation

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 11/21/2011 1:41:00 PM More reviews by bttrflyrose

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

These eyeshadows looked sooo pretty I had to pick one up. They were sold out of all the other colors, so I picked up the pink one. The colors are actually pretty nice. With the exception of one, they are more plum like than pink. The shadows themselves are pigmented and apply nicely, but they have a lot of fall out! I ended up with glitter flakes all underneath my eye, even with a primer applied first. I love shimmery shadows, but I wish it would actually stay put.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 9/9/2011 12:44:00 PM More reviews by purplesoul

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

Don't waste your money. There is nothing "punchy" about these pinks. If you DO for some reason decide to throw away 10.99, don't wear this except over a primer, because it will NOT be vibrant when you apply it, and it WILL RUN like CRAZY.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/7/2011 1:30:00 PM More reviews by obzessd

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Normally I avoid pink shadows because I can never make them work -- I just look tired or sick or crazy. But I loved the other palettes so much (Amethyst Ablazed, Caffeine Rush, and Forest Fury) that I just picked this up too. It's actually gorgeous on my NC25/Buff/Nude Asian coloring. I've used it in conjunction with the purple palette (Amethyst Ablazed) to create a beautiful, dramatic eye. And as I said in my reviews for Amethyst Ablazed and Forest Fury, the quality is amazing. Maybelline did a complete 180 when it made these shadows. They're pigmented and they last, and the colors are vibrant; overall the shadows are definitely comparable to higher-end shadows like MAC and UD.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No