November 26, 2014 | 1789 users online

Eyes - Essence - Multi-Action Mascara-Smokey Eyes



image 0image 1

rated 4.4(7 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.4
  • 100% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.6
  • Price: $

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 8/4/2012 8:14:00 PM More reviews by NikitaRose

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Grey

This is the first Essence mascara I ever bought because I don't trust the cheaper drugstore brands with anything relating to my skin or my eyes/eyelashes. I simply had to pick this up when I saw it on sale for 0.99 which is one third of its normal price in Europe. I really really hate clumpy spidery lashes so I was quite impressed with how well this mascara separates and defines the lashes. I didn't think it lengthened that well though. The brush was quite nice, the tip of the brush is wider than the brush which I didn't find particularly useful for my left or right eye.
I have to say I am not very picky with mascaras because they never flake or smudge on me. I also don't put more than one coat on so I have no idea how that would work with this mascara. I'm sure you could find better mascaras out there, especially if you prefer plastic brushes (I do) but this one is still a good buy.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/22/2012 12:55:00 AM More reviews by lemineralmode

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I literally just opened this baby up, and I am so so so impressed! It was really easy to apply, and is now second to my top favourite mascara.
It lengthens fairly easy, and volumizes well if you're patient enough as it does need several coats. I don't know about smudging yet, but as of right now, I can say it works well and pretty amazing for the price you pay.
Also, this worked far better than my Maybelline Magnum Volume, which did nothing at all for my lashes.
Ah, this doesn't clump either.

Good stuff, and thumbs up!

1 month later: I really love this mascara! Especially against lightly smoked out liner, I see why this mascara name is smokey eyes. It holds up a curl pretty well, and with smudged liner, your lashes are the focal point and it frames your eyes really well. It is however starting to clump a little, but nothing beyond fixing. My oily skin is also no match for this bad boy, lasts just as long as waterproof mascaras do on me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/18/2012 11:22:00 AM More reviews by beegirl81

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I am not sure what the "smokey effect" means in a mascara but I enjoyed using this one a lot. I just finished a tube because I ended up using it every single day for day and night looks. fist of all I loved the brush. the shape seemed really weird to me in the beginning (flat on the sides and pointy in the end) but then I realised it was just perfect to catch eyelashes on the sides which gave a lovely effect. the formula was really good because it kept the curl to my lashes, so it was not too heavy, but also not too runny. this mascara gave me a decent volume, some lenght, and a lovely effect with both one or two coats. I also like the simple packaging and of course I love the price. I love almost all Essence mascaras, I think they are such a good bargain, and you can enjoy trying different looks since the prices are so cheap. Can't wait to try the new ones!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/11/2012 11:22:00 PM More reviews by angiecee

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is an amazing product for an amazing price. I tried four of their other mascaras (Black Mania, No Limits, Maximum Definition and Stays On) and this is is by far the best. The packaging is plain and nothing pretty. It lengthens and adds volume. great if you are going for a thick but not clumpy. i recommend two coats, but one does a great job giving a natural look. It doesn't flake but also doesn't hold curl very long.


I am an avid Maybelline Falsies user and this is just as good, maybe even better. What makes it better is the price ($1.69 at Ulta), i can get four at the price of one falsies bottle.


One last thing is that the brush is very oddly shaped. The tip is like a normal rounded very full bristled brush, then the rest is flat on top and bottom, with the sides containing the same full bristles. Kinda of like a blunt arrow.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/28/2011 11:00:00 PM More reviews by indiajane

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

I've tried hundreds of mascaras from the cheapest of the cheap to the most expensive department store brands, and none can compare to this. I have always been unsatisfied with all the mascaras that I've used, but this does everything I want it to. Mascaras are different on all people, but for me (I have lots of lashes but they are thin and blonde at the tips) this mascara give me a false lash look, very dramatic. It is very volumizing, lengthening enough, and fans them out beautifully. I had people ask if I was wearing false lashes and they were shocked when I told them it was a 4 dollar mascara!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/30/2011 7:55:00 PM More reviews by Didiniumbee

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Other, Curly, Medium Eyes: Green

This is extremely similar to the original Multi Action imo, just with a slightly more versatile brush. I love both, but prefer this a little due to the brush, which has bristles of a normal lenght on two sides, and really short ones on the other two, making the overall brush shape rather flat.

My goal with a mascara is simply to make my somewhat overall average lashes BIG, without much fuss or flaking throughout the day.


pro:
- offers nice definition, great volume and even more length, quickly without a big fuss
- can be applied in 1-2 coats for nice, big lashes, and you can add many more layers to get the hugest, most dramatic porn lashes
- you can apply lots of product very quickly with the short-bristled, flat side, and seperate and add lenght afterwards fast with the long-bristled side
- amazing price (~2,75 in Germany)


con:
- it does flake off at the tips where my lashes touch my skin, not always but often, especially when the mascara gets older. Using a more liquidy mascara on top (like Maybelline Volume Express f.i.) ususally helps me.
- a little bit hard to take off

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/1/2011 3:33:00 AM More reviews by turnthisaround

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

I saw this product line in the back on the cosmetics section at Ulta. I've never seen a mascara specifically for a smoky eye look and decided to buy it. It's not even $4. The entire line doesn't exceed $5. So, what would there be to lose?

I LOVE this product. i've bought countless volume type mascaras, deep dark black mascaras, etc and none of them have ever provided the look this one does.

It goes on so smooth, doesn't smudge at all, does not clump, dries very quickly and gives that smokey eye look even without the eyeshadow to go with it. It's simply amazing. I've never seen a brush like it before, either. It's a thick brush but has a thicker section on the tip. It makes such a difference.
I've never seen my lashes look so full and separated.
I love it so much, I've been using it as my main mascara. I'll stop doing that since I don't want it to run out so quickly.

Even if very humid and rainy weather, no running at all...it's not even water proof!

I will, without a doubt, drive the half hour to ulta to repurchase.
I'm going to try more products from that line since it is sooo inexpensive and has received good reviews on the ulta website.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No