April 25, 2014 | 931 users online

Eyeliner - L.A. Colors - Auto Eyeliner In Black



image 0

rated 3.8(17 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.8
  • 70% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.8
  • Price: $

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 11/11/2013 5:00:00 PM More reviews by taylortruck

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I use this eyeliner every day. It has been my go to eyeliner for about six years now. Overall, it is cheap, effective, and easy to use. Obviously its an auto eyeliner, so you really just have to twist the tip up, and don't have to play around with sharpeners and stuff.

The way I do my makeup is with the whole "raccoon eyes/scene girl" look, and this eyeliner is perfect for doing your lower lash line like that. It will smudge on your upper lash line if you try applying it there, but it works well for smokey eyes.

Again, its an auto liner, so when you first open up this product, there is a nice tip to it, but after a use or two, the perfectly pointed tip is gone, and its more of a rounded tip. You can probably sharpen it, I never have, as I love the deep lines it leaves after the tip has rounded out.

One issue i've had with this is a minor migration issue. It will smudge under your eyes after a few hours, but its nothing a q-tip and some cleanser cant fix. Its not too noticeable, either, unless you let it go for half the day. I've had worse migration issues with more expensive drug store auto liners, so I still think this eyeliner is worth it.

Overall, its a great steal for only $1.00 at most dollar stores. I've seen them at Dollar Tree, Family Dollar, and Dollar General, all for only a buck and some tax. At Dollar General, they usually have more than just the standard black and brown in this kind of eyeliner, so it can be very versatile if you're looking for more than just the standard colors. Really, it all comes down to what you plan on using it for.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/1/2013 4:29:00 AM More reviews by adoyle11

Age: 30-35 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I purchased the Black Frost, Semi Permanent Auto Eyeliner on sale for $5.00 NZD out of curiosity and I'm IMPRESSED.

I would use this to line top lashes but wouldn't bother for the waterline (its just too much effort trying to get a nice finish that will last) and would be easier to go in with a kohl pencil.

I would definitley recommend a few of these in your kit for everyday wear if you dont want to use your more expensive high end product.

However, dont expect a intense, matt , long lasting product without layering it. Pigment is okay, and the texture slightly shiney but layer matte shadow over top to seal and intensify and repeat the process for extra lasting power and your good. I do this with with cream liners anyhow regardless of brand.

I think the packaging is very good - The cap stays on tight and doesn't come off easily (i have ruined numerous liners because the caps don't stay on, or they crack etc and fall off in my case). No issues with the stick winding up & down or the product falling out when i tip it upside down. I was impressed with how much product you get, I think i measured it out at 2-3 inches of product in the stick, which is quite generous for what you pay for.
The found the liner to be quite durable and wont break which is great when you are working quickly to line your lashes etc.The formula is creamy and glides on easily (no tugging, or dragging.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 1/20/2013 1:56:00 PM More reviews by sunnyonne1

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I use this in an unconventional way, and for this, it works great: After applying a gold or bronze lid color, I apply some pencil strokes on top,at the lash line and a little way up on the lid....it doesn't even need to be visible because the PURPOSE is to provide a sticky base coat for my next step, patting on a bit of black powder shadow. This method makes the black powder shadow stick, also prevents fallout, which black shadows often cause. I end up with a beautiful blackened, ombered effect over the gold or bronze. This works way better for me than the dark horse, smog and snakebite shadows in my UD palettes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 12/27/2012 12:41:00 AM More reviews by laurxrawr

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

It's hard to be too disappointed having only spent 1.39 on this.
It's an okay eyeliner. I ran out of my go to Neutrogena Automatic Grey liner and needed something fast before I went to a holiday party.
The application was very smooth. The point was the perfect size for an automatic liner. The color was a true black without particles of glitter or shine.
However, once I applied the liner to both lids and turned back to my makeup counter to pick up my shadow the liner had already settled into my crease. It did so in the way an overly oily liner would. This was more disappointing considering I had Too Faced Shadow Insurance under. I fixed the smudging and tried to let it dry without much luck.
I put an Urban Decay shadow on top and it stayed for the rest of the day without migrating.
The smudging isn't really that big of an issue considering I always have shadow on top of my liner but it does make me reluctant to wear it during warmer weather.
Another problem with this is the actual cosmetic isn't snug in the applicator. Meaning the stick of liner can wiggle around a bit during application, which is a bit irritating when you're trying to create a fine line.
Overall, not the worst liner by any standards. I definitely will not throw away- keep around for touch ups or back up.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 10/28/2012 10:27:00 AM More reviews by ryansgirl4eva

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Just brought it. I ran out of my KISS 24 hr one which I Love!!!! Cant get to the store that sells it till later on so I picked this up as a sub. smooth n creamy. great for smokey eyes though I wonder about the lasting power of it...............

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 10/22/2012 2:24:00 PM More reviews by neyugnignu

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

If you're a fan of a smokey effect, this is pretty much the best steal you can get. It's really pigmented and creamy, and very smudgable.

A huge downside is that it's so creamy you really need to set it with a matching powder, unless you want to go for racoon eyes. If you put this on top of something more long wearing like the maybelline color tattoo it should stay on fairly well too.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 8/11/2012 2:14:00 AM More reviews by WaterproofMascara3

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

Well... I'm kind of disappointed to be writing a bad review. I bought this at Deals, here in Ohio, US, and I was hoping for a decent, cheap eyeliner. Sadly, that wasn't the case.
Yes, I realize it's only $1, but there is so little product. It's not a lot of eyeliner, despite the stick's size. But my biggest complaint is that the eyeliner smudges extremely. It's so smooth, if I were to accidentally wipe my eye, it'd come straight off! And putting it on your waterline is a big mess, too. I'm glad that it's smudgable and creamy... but it's almost too smudgable and creamy.
One last, final note, is that when you recap the eyeliner, the eyeliner has to be retracted all the way down or else the cap with squish the tip. I've already ruined half of it by accidentally leaving it up a little, only to have it smashed when I uncap it.
I wouldn't buy this again nor recommend it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/1/2012 7:59:00 PM More reviews by xxxAmandaxxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

it's only a dollar and it's the best eyeliner i've used. pick a pack up every time i'm at the dollartree.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/16/2012 8:07:00 PM More reviews by Precila101

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This eyeliner is really good, almost matches up to the Rimmel London 24Hr Stay Liner (I think that's the name). Anyways, it is the best "primer" for my liquid liner. Usually, when putting on makeup for school, I line closest to the lash line with this liner first, then apply the liquid liner on top. And this eyeliner helps the liquid stay on much longer, plus makes it look more well done. The price is just unbelievably cheap for something so awesome. I mean, $1.00, really?? Just by looking at the price, I honestly thought it was going to be another rip-off, but thank God it wasn't. Cuz if it were a ripoff, then that one dollar could've been some use. But it was worth it. Perfect for a natural look, too. I am so buying this again :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/31/2012 1:31:00 PM More reviews by reinventlovex

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I just bought this two days ago from Dollar Tree because I ran out of my recent staple, Rimmel Exaggerate. I had always used either the Rimmel or Ulta brand, but I'm trying to save some money so I decided to give this a chance since it's only $1. I tried it for the first time yesterday along with my Ulta eyeshadow and it went on SO smoothly and perfectly. I loved it! It stayed on all day long and was easy to remove with Vaseline. I'm so happy that I tried this product and I will no longer spend $7+ on eyeliner when I can get the same quality for 1!

Is this review helpful? Yes No