Alterna Alterna Bamboo Smooth - Kendi Oil

4.2

40 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Dimethiconol, Bambusa Vulgaris (Bamboo) Extract, Bambusa Vulgaris Extract, Bambusa Vulgaris Water, Foeniculum Vulgare (Fennel) Seed Extract, Saccharomyces Lysate Extract, Algae Extract, Daucus Carota Sativa (Carrot) Root Extract, Wasabia Japonica Root Extract, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Mauritia Flexuosa Fruit Oil, Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Oil, Aleurites Moluccana Seed Oil, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Oil, Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil, Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil, Passiflora Edulis Seed Oil, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate , Butyl Methoxydibenzoylmethane, Phenyl Trimethicone, Tocopherol, Glycerin, Superoxide Dismutase, Saccharomyces/Zinc Ferment, Saccharomyces/Copper Ferment, Lactoferrin, Phospholipids, Phytosphingosine, Corn Oligosaccharides, Ganoderma Lucidum (Mushroom) Tyrosinase, Lentinus Edodes Tyrosinase, Retinyl Palmitate, Copper Lysl Oxidase, Acetyl Methionine, Acetyl Serine, Amino Acyl TRNA Synthetase, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Seed Peroxidase, Silanetriol Melaninate, Polyquaternium-10, Superoxide Dismutase, Bromelain, Papain, Water (Aqua), Phenoxyethanol, Fragrance (Parfum), Citronellol, Butylphenyl Methylpropional, Limonene, Linalool.


on 1/11/2015 8:54:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This stuff is amazing! It is the best hair oil I have used. It smells very nice kind of floral. The dropper lets you only take out what you need. This oil will smooth your hair without leaving it flat. It is expensive but you get a lot for what you pay. I will keep buying this because despite the price it lasts. If you need an oil this is the stuff!



on 9/2/2014 12:25:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

This is my first hair oil and I'm not super impressed. After doing a ton of research on here, Sephora, Ulta, Amazon, TotalBeauty, I settled on this. I have long east Asian hair that waves easily and is somewhat prone to frizz with an extremely oily scalp. If you're looking for a nourishing "oil" for you hair, beware that this is really just a chock full of silicones rather than actual oil. I don't have a problem with that, so here goes... I've only applied a dime size dot to towel-dried hair and after blow drying and/or air drying, I don't really notice a difference in my hair. I first started off with 2-3 drops since my hair is prone to flatness, but I've graduated to a dime-size with no problem. After applying to my damp hair, I do feel that my hair is super smooth and slick, but after drying, my hair looks normal.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/25/2014 4:12:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

The best hair product i've used!

I have extremely dry, fine and slightly frizzy hair, nothing has worked as well as this. I received a sample of this and only used it as a leave in hair oil. The texture is that of a runny oil, smells amazing! and does not feel greasy. My hair has never felt softer!!! After my sample ran out, i'm back to my other hair serum. My hair was not as soft as when i'm using Kendi oil...

This can be used as a treatment oil, 1 - 2 times a week or as a leave in hair oil after shampoo.

I've just ordered a full size :)


on 4/18/2014 8:13:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love that this comes with a dropper. It makes it easier to get the amount I need without being wasteful. It has a nice fresh scent that lingers decently and it feels very light on my hair. It gives my hair a smoother appearance with a healthy shine. I apply it to damp hair and either use it as a leave in or as a style prep as mentioned on the bottle. This is pretty pricey at $25 but so far I am loving the results I am getting from it. I will definitely try adding this to my conditioner as one reviewer suggested and see what happens. I like the softness it imparts without making my hair greasy. Highly recommend.


on 1/20/2014 11:54:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is my 2nd deluxe size sample and I must say I will be going full size before I run out of this. Reason being this is one of the best oils I have ever used on my hair. It makes my hair so soft,manageable, and shiny. A little goes a very long way if I'm going natural my hair is super wavy this makes my waves look smooth and polished. It gives me a good hair day every time I use it. When I straighten my hair I use this before I straighten and then after for some shine and extra softness. What I love about this is it's super light so it's hard for your hair to get greasy when used properly.

It has a light fresh scent and it truly works on my very unruly hair! A couple spritzes to my problem area's and my hair looks and feels amazing. I especially love how soft and shiny my hair looks when I use this. I cannot recommend this enough for ladies with thick,moisture starved hair. It has done wonders for mine and I couldn't be happier with a styling product. I really love this oil and in conjunction with the Amika Oil Treatment. I am very happy with this product it works great for my waist long, thick, blonde hair. I couldn't be more happy with a hair product. I also love how you can use it on wet or dry hair. Either way it works excellent for my hair so I'm loving this.:) Most Definitely Recommended!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/28/2013 12:18:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This stuff has changed my hair. It's like a miracle oil. I have lots of long, fine, wavy hair. I use it on damp hair before blowdrying, then again before curling or straightening, and again after styling to smooth and add shine. My hair never, ever feels weighed down, and the difference it makes in smoothness and shininess is immediately apparent. It has a nice, light scent. The dropper applicator is great because you can get down to the very last drop in the bottle. My last bottle, which I used all the time, lasted me about three months, so it is worth the money. I just bought my second bottle and decided to get the Bamboo Anti-Frizz shampoo and conditioner as well because I'm so impressed with this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/14/2013 2:38:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I have fine, dry hair. As long as I don't use too much, it softens and adds shine to my hair with a light scent. I apply only one or two drops to my chin length damp hair and my hair is frizz free for the whole day. The 1.7 oz bottle will last quite a while as you only need a tiny bit. Update: Have discovered Ojon rare oil blend and for some reason, it works so much better for me than this one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/6/2013 10:22:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This smells amazing! This is recommended for medium to thick hair, so I have to be careful not to use too much on my fine hair. However, that just means that my sample will last that much longer. I applied a small amount to my ends before straight ironing and my hair felt amazingly smooth and thick. My ends were a little dry prior to application, and this oil definitely remedied that. I'm going to try this as a treatment oil next, but so far I'm a fan!


on 7/10/2013 5:10:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I got a large foil packet of this hair oil as a sample from Sephora (the cashier just tossed it in with my purchases). I'm a fan of hair oils generally, I really like this one. I use it after shampooing, on damp hair and I use considerably more than the instructions suggest but I have thick, coarse hair that can handle a fair bit of oil and not look anything but smooth and silky. But used sparingly, I think this oil would be excellent for those with thinner or finer hair. It's lighter than my current favourite hair treatment oil from Ojon (that has become my "HG" hair oil) but Kendi Oil is a really nice product as well and it has a very pleasant scent that lingers just a bit (but enough to capture my attention on my freshly washed hair). I would certainly purchase a full size of this when I get close to running out of the various oils I already have (several bottles of Moroccan Oil, a bottle of Macadamia Oil, an almost full bottle of Mythic Oil, Ojon Restorative Serum....like I said, I'm a real fan of hair oils/serums)


on 6/15/2013 7:27:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I received a sample of this and loved it. That´s why I bought the whole bottle. But after a while it started losing it´s effect. My hair is dry and somewhat damaged and I look for moisture and nourishment from leave-in treatments. Immediately when I apply it it still makes my hair a little softer, but this is nowhere visible after a few hours. Will not repurchase. Kerastase wins over Alterna any day.


Popular Styling Products


Potion 9
437 Reviews
Mythic Oil
47 Reviews


Top Rated Alterna Products

Back to Top