September 19, 2014 | 1231 users online

Eyeliner - Sephora - Jumbo Liner 12HR Wear Waterproof



image 0

rated 4.4(55 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.4
  • 87% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.8
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 8/29/2014 4:48:00 PM More reviews by luxlisbon15

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Grey

I bought a white one of these about a month back, and I love it! It doesn't take layering it on thick or anything to get it to stay, you just swipe it on your water line and it's perfect and stays for a really long time. It makes my eyes look dewy and doe like, so I naturally love this stuff. The only thing that bugged me about it was that the cap doesn't stay on, and even though it's annoying I deal with it because it's such a great eyeliner.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 5/8/2014 1:59:00 PM More reviews by pillager13

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Green

Why do Sephora brand products suck so much? I love the store and the range of products they offer, but their store brand makeup is so underwhelming and awful. I've never purchased anything with which I was pleased. The Sephora Jumbo Liner is no exception. I recently bought five of these in various colors (taupe, gray and purple) and while the colors are nice, they crease within a half hour and fade fairly quickly too. My eyelids are not oily at all and most cream-based eyeshadows work like a dream. I would much rather purchase a more expensive jumbo liner/eyeshadow than waste any more money on Sephora brand products.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 2/8/2014 8:14:00 PM More reviews by alina08

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

I have this eyeliner in the shade Purple and it is really awesome. Honestly, it is more like a blackish purple, very dark and dramatic. This jumbo pencil applies just as nicely as the Tarte Amazonian Clay Pencils and does not tug at the eyelid at all. The color is smoky and dramatic and has a nice sheen to it. This was an unexpected win in the kit that I bought with several other liners from Sephora. I would highly recommend this product.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/17/2014 5:05:00 PM More reviews by heartsmelody189

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I've been using these liners for months and months, and I trust and love them enough to go back every single time. I've got them in five different colors, and it's 100% my HG liner for the lid.

I recommend them for lining the lid, just above the lash line. If you use it on the lash line, it's so creamy that it'll get stuck in your lashes and clump them together. Bleh. Its creaminess would probably too much for the waterline, and it might slide off after some time. I don't line my waterline with this (I prefer Sephora's retractable pencil for both the top and bottom waterline) because of its size and creaminess. However, I think a review here said it worked for that. I sometimes line my bottom waterline, just near the end, and smudge it out for a smoky look, and it stays fairly well there, but after a few hours I do have to wipe a little to clean up the line.

But it's near flawless for the lid! I have oily lids, I tear up a lot, I wear contacts...so I'm very picky with my liners. UD's famous liners did not cut it for me, and these are cheaper and lasted longer on me. These DO NOT create raccoon eyes. They occasionally move to my bottom outer corner, but I think that's due to my eye shape, and it makes a smokey eye look for me without my even having to do anything! They don't smudge when they're set (they've survived the accidental touch when I forget I'm wearing eyeliner/shadow), and I have never seen them end up anywhere on my lid they shouldn't be. The line may get thinner after an entire full day, but I never have to touch up in a 12hr day, so I'm not complaining. They lasted better as shadows (and I don't even like cream shadows! But I love these), because I get none of that transfer if they're just sitting on my lid. They don't even crease! I love that it's versatile enough for me to use as liner AND shadow, because if I end up hating a shade, at least it doesn't end up a complete waste.

CONS: Yeah, the cap has come off and wasted so much of some of my pencils and messed up my makeup bags. But I've learned that I have to push down the cap SUPER far down. Just press the pencil really hard into it, and it stays on great. And they don't get very sharp. It's not worth losing product to keep sharpening it. Know before you buy that you won't be able to get a super fine line, if that's the kind of liner you're searching for. But it still makes a pretty, neat, and flattering line despite the size. You just have to play around to figure out how to get the look you like. And it was annoying I had to drop more money on a jumbo sharpener at Sephora (which broke, but at least it still does its job).

Now I'll review each color separately:
-Purple: my absolute FAVORITE. Be warned, I mean #15, not the other purples. This one is far prettier. You can't find a purple shade this nice and unique anywhere else. It's super flattering for my brown eyes and skin tone. It's perfectly acceptable for daytime (although I do wear glasses, so beware and try it on yourself if you're looking for a more professional look). I bought this THREE times! I ran out of my first one, and I loved it so much I bought a second one. I then stupidly LOST my second one, so I immediately replaced that. No regrets. It's 100% worth the money, because of how I wear it every day. I recommended it to a hazel-eyed friend of mine, and she loves it just as much and praises it as highly as I do!
-Dark Taupe Shimmer: Not as flattering. It might look better on someone of a different skin/eye color than me though. I'm not a fan of this color because it's a duller color than the purple and kinda dulls my eyes down with it, making me look tired. It would make for a good shadow at night though, but it's too dark to be daytime shadow, IMO. Kinda useless for me, so I would return this color if I could. It has the same great staying power as all the liners though, so if the color DOES suit you, definitely go for it.
-Beige Glitter: I'm IN LOVE! I'm not a fan of this as a liner, because it's a little too orange-y and glitter-y that when I make a line with it, it's too gaudy. I tried it to line the inner corner or my eye as a highlight, but it was too much. If you like drama, this would work great for that! But as a shadow...that's a whole other story. It's GORGEOUS! It's a lot less orange once I spread it out over my lid. I draw a few tiny spots all over my lid and spread it around with my finger to even it out, and the color is so light and sparkly it lights up my brown eyes. Since it's a shade lighter than my skin, it really makes my eyes wake up. I put a dab of matte brown shadow in my corner and I've got an instant glam look. Perfect for casual dates with my boyfriend, and he liked it too! If you try this, make sure you spread it out quickly, before it sets. It can also be used a highlight shadow.
-Black: Great for a smokey eye look. However, it's not black enough for me as just an everyday eyeliner, because it comes out a little smoky gray unless you layer it, which would make too thick of a line because of its jumbo size. But if you're looking for a final touch on your smoky eye, this would be great if you line right above your lash line twice, and then quickly blend it out to blur the line. It makes a great smokey-black-gray effect. This would also work as a great touch in the outer V of your smokey eye.
-Brown Glitter: Not as dark a brown as I'd hoped. I love my Clinique chocolate brown cream shaper, and have yet to find an eyeliner that could beat it, this one included. However, this would also make for a nice shadow. Since it's brown, it doesn't brighten up my eyes the way Beige Glitter does, but if you're a fan of brown eye shadows and shimmer, I'd recommend this. The glitter particles aren't nearly as flashy as they are in Beige Glitter, so this would be a great option for everyday, professional look AND night.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/29/2013 12:49:00 AM More reviews by Mymakeupjunkie

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Black

I happen to stumble across this eye pencil in Sephora a couple of weeks back. When I tested it at the back of my hands and waited for it to dry, I tried to smudge it and it did not budge. It only came off with a makeup remover. The colour I bought was a shimmery dark taupe and loved the colour. It can be used on its own but I use it as a base. Once applied, my shadow glides on. I dont use a primer underneath and the lasting power is amazing on my oily lids. It lasted the whole day (10 hours at work) which is amazingggggg. Even with primers such as my UDPP or MAC paint pots, within 3-4 hours my eye shadows starts to crease. I went to sephora yesterday and got 2 more colours (khaki and navy blue) and cannot wait to use them. I just wish there were matte/non glittery light colours as there was only one that was light but tooo shimmery.

The other jumbo eyeliners I have used are the NYX and NYC ones and both creases pretty bad on me. Esp the NYC ones, it just never seems to set. So despite the price difference (the sephora one cost me about 15USD here in malaysia) It does such a great job

Only downer: the cap does not 'fit' well. It slips off so I do not recommend you putting it in your handbags. If I do bring this with me on a trip, I will likely tape it down.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/5/2013 8:52:00 PM More reviews by KBru

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I use this whenever I do my eyeliner, which is almost daily in non-summer months. It lasts great and is super pigmented and smooth. I like to use a liquid liner over it for a cat eye because the jumbo is far too big for a precise line, but it acts as a great base for the liquid. It is also great for smudging and using as a shadow stick. I have been using it for around 4 years, prior to that I was using Benefit bad gal jumbo liner and Givenchy magic kohl, but for the $$, this is a better buy.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 4/29/2013 2:21:00 PM More reviews by cleo777

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I've had mine for a little while but my only complaint is the caps do not stay on these pencils! Twice I have gone into my makeup bag to find the eyeliner sans cap and a big mess in my bag. Suck! The liners themselves work well, and I love the sparkle in some of them. But the packaging really blows. Come on Sephora you charge $16 CDN each for these! For a $3 eyeliner I can understand but this is a ripoff. You're better off with a different brand.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/27/2013 2:12:00 PM More reviews by kattleya

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I got this in a pack of five (black, silver, khaki, purple, and brown) which is a really great deal. I love this eyeliner! I can't believe that it glides easily and stay put without budge in my oily lower lashes for more than 10 hours straight. I know that it says 12hr wear but most of the waterproof and promising long wear eyeliner was usually gone after a couple of hours in my oily lids/lower lash. Colour payoff is amazing, it feels buttery, and easy to smudge.

I have tried MUFE and MAC pencil eyeliners and it didn't perform as great as Sephora. My only problem is the jumbo pencil can only be used for my lower lashes, it is quite problematic for me to wear it on my upper lash line because i can't create wings with the fat tip.

I also wear contacts and it doesn't irritate my eyes. This eyeliner is perfect for people with oily skin. You can also use the eyeliner as shadow but make sure you use shadow primer first or it might crease. Bright colours will be perfect for summer because it is waterproof, won't smear/budge, and long wearing.

I definitely going to buy some other colour!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/18/2013 6:02:00 PM More reviews by missy44

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

luv luv luv this product. Love it just as much as my Lancome at half the price. Goes on smooth & stays on ALL DAY. I work 12hr shifts and it totally stays on the entire time. The only negative is it does a big line so I can't wear it on the bottom part of my eye.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/15/2013 12:25:00 PM More reviews by sa5001

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Grey

I've brought a few of these - they are easy to apply, glad they come in a pencil form - hate having to stick brushes or fingers in to pots like the MUF Aqua creams - they stay on all day although similar to NYX's pencils - these don't budge Like the NYX ones - I have repurchased and love the colors they come in only problem for me is they aren't available in UK so I tend to buy them whenever I'm abroad wherever Sephora is available.

Is this review helpful? Yes No