November 22, 2014 | 1875 users online

Eye Shadow - Maybelline - Expert Wear Eyeshadow Quad - Designer Chocolates



image 0

rated 3.6(16 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.6
  • 56% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.4
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 on 11/7/2014 5:19:00 PM More reviews by cosmogall

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I couldn't stand this eyeshadow set... chalky, difficult to blend ,horrible fallout, doesn't stay on at all. Even the color payoff is bad.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 10/11/2014 2:55:00 PM More reviews by pinkyC

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I came across this quad when I was Ulta, and I immediately attracted to the color combination, especially the crease one. I was looking for a everyday eyeshadow quad, but to my dismay it wasn't as pigmented as I would like it to be. Even with primer, I had to layer on the crease color to get a define color. The lid shadow blended right in with my eyelid color.

For the price, it was not expensive at all.

The package was simple and nice.

Overall, I would not buy this product again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/15/2014 8:23:00 PM More reviews by msbluestone13

Age: 30-35 Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I LOVE this eye shadow quad!! I usually don't use much eyrshadow.. I love mascara.. but as a mom and wife--i don't have much time to doll up..play with eye shadows and blushes anymore.. I keep it simple--foundation..mascara.. light dusting of powder and I'm done. BUT THIS.. THIS makes it super simple..it has all the shades I need in a tidy little compact. I LOVE these colors!!..I will definitely be buying this again and again. The colors look fantastic against my skin color--for reference: I use Golden Carmel in Revlon colorstay.. and in MUFE mat velvet+ I am a #60, in Kat Con D lock it tattoo foundation I am Medium 57-- anyway..so it really goes with my skin color.. I love this eye shadow.. it also doesn't crease or wearoff at all. It lasts all day/night and one comoacompact lasts me for A long time.. I would definitely recommend you buying and trying this.. u may love it!! And try to get this from Walmart or target as they will take returns without a receipt as long as you have a state ID or drivers license.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 9/11/2014 8:19:00 PM More reviews by tango2470

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

Here is my thoughts on this quad:

1. lets break it down:
lid: a soft beige/neutral color-this shadow was relatively disapointing, it has very little pigmentation, however it isn't chalky or powdery so it is easy to apply. It is somewhere in between a matte and satin finish

2.The "highlight" shade is a very wearable off white cream color with very little pigmentation, once again I like the silky texture and I don't mind highlight shadows having a little less pigmentation as I prefer a more natural highlight, I also like that it doesn't contain sparkle, its somewhat of a satin finish

3. I would buy this quad for the "crease" shade alone, this is a gorgeous, hard to find, hard to describe shadow, it kind of reminds me of a jewel, it is somewhere between a soft burgundy, mauve, and rose, it also contains a gorgeous light reflecting shimmer (rather than tacky glitter) It is quite pigmented, and despite the fact that it contains a fair amount of pink, looks good on almost everyone (i know who have tried it)

4. I like the color of the liner shade-its a warm hot chocolate brown, not too red, but not too grey, it contains a bit of red glitter that doesn't show up much on the lid, and seems to only be on the top of the shadow I don't think it is pigmented enough to be used as a liner (unless you want a very natural look) but is a very natural, pretty, warm crease color

I do not apply this how the package suggests, I instead use the "jewel" tone on the lid, the "liner shade" in the crease and outer v, the "lid shade" as a transition between the crease and highlight, and the highlight as a highlight, I then blend a bit of the "liner" under my eye and apply chocolate brown or eggplant eyeliner, and mascara

It's gorgeous!

For a "no makeup" look, I skip the rose shade, and use the "lid" "liner" and highlight shades only, (applying the lid on the lid, the liner in the crease, and the highlight on the brow) It brightens up my eyes and looks very natural, so therefore I do get my share of use out of the other colors.

I don't like the packaging, I wish Maybelline could take a hint from companies like Essence who have cheap, but still attractive packaging, but I'm not fussy when it comes to packaging. I don't like how there is more of the "highlight," or "base" shade and less of the other ones, I wish there was an equal amount of all (like the old packaging)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/28/2014 11:43:00 AM More reviews by glamycakes2014

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

These r perfect....i love how they have the little directions on were to put them...lets face it im horrible at figuring that out lol....anyways i will repurchase

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 8/3/2014 11:54:00 PM More reviews by lushlife505

Age: 30-35 Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

Nice looking in the pan. Think they can definitely improve on the quality of these or the whole line of products actually. That being said to get the best wear out of these a primer before would help. you can absolutely wear these without primer as I do most of the time but they do not wear as long and will start to crease. The colors in this pallet are nice but to me are lack luster. I would not buy this quad again

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 8/3/2014 5:57:00 PM More reviews by Seattlemama

Age: 36-43 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine Eyes: Brown

I picked this quad up because the colors in the pan are gorgeous - frosty but not glittery and all cool-toned neutrals that would be perfect for work. This quad is excellent quality for a ds brand, but it still isn't anywhere near most high-end shadows. I don't expect great pigmentation from ds eye shadow but this is much better than most, especially the base/highlight color, a shimmery champagne, which has excellent payoff. (This color is also perfect for the tear trough.) What they refer to as the "lid" color is a lovely cool cafe au lait beige -- too bad I can barely get it to show up and it's a bit chalky when it does. But now for the real bummer: the amethyst "crease" color, such a beautiful jewel tone in the pan, has zero payoff - I can't see it after several layers (and I'm only NC10-15 so on darker skintones this would be even worse). The "liner" color is also a huge disappointment: it's a chocolatey brown that lacks any richness - on my lids it's just a weak, muddy mess that's completely gone by noon (even with my UDPP lid primer). I like a liner to have intensity - this one doesn't work as a liner at all because it has no pigmentation. So overall this quad is a mixed bag, but I would probably buy it again, if only for the excellent base/highlighter color at such a reasonable price.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 3/24/2014 4:18:00 PM More reviews by BriJax01

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

So disappointed :( I heard great things about this product but I found there's so little pigmentation, it just blended into my skin.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/19/2013 3:33:00 AM More reviews by WendyTran

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I took this from my mom hehe :B Btw I do not have an eyelid primer, so the colors are not as vibrant.

Pros
-Perfect for everyday look
-Good pigmentation
-I love the purple one :)

Cons:
....with no primer, it doesnt last long (duh)

I love it! :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 12/5/2012 9:02:00 PM More reviews by anastesia

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine Eyes: Blue

This quad is ok, I don't find anything special about it. The base white color I find quite chalky. However, the purple crease color is very gorgeous, the best one out of all.

Is this review helpful? Yes No