March 1, 2015 | 2029 users online

Masks - Aspirin Mask

rated 4.2(2234 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.2
  • 85% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.4
  • Price: $

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 2/23/2015 9:47:00 PM More reviews by MirroRMimi

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I do a mask 1-2 times a week. And if I don't, oh boy, do I notice. I just mix a single tablet with some water in my hand, put it in my face, wait about 5 min, scrub, rinse, and apply whatever leave-in treatment. It doesn't keep my skin from getting acne, but it does take away some of the inflamation, oilyness, blackheads, and makes it look a lot better. Overall it has no downsides, and some very good upsides, so it's never leaving my weekly routine.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 2/23/2015 9:28:00 PM More reviews by Steelermummeh

Age: 36-43 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

Please forgive me - I'm about to go Geek Mode so if you want, just skip this and read the review :)

Another reviewer said, "A lot of people have allergy to painkillers like Tramadol, Pornstan, etc and Aspirin is of the same family of medication."

Aspirin is a salicylate and is grouped with the other NSAIDS (naproxen, ibuprofen and the like). These drugs play with a couple of your enzymes (Cox 1 and Cox 2), and also reduce inflammation. It's not uncommon to be completely fine with one NSAID, but allergic to the others.

Tramadol though, is not in the same family. It acts on the opioid receptors in your brain even though i's not technically an opiate (although that designation goes back and forth - they can't quite make up their minds on that one). Unfortunately this also means it's frequently abused.

There is no correlation between an allergy to NSAIDS and an allergy to the opiates although you can be allergic to one, both or neither.

ANYHOO

I keep wanting to give aspirin a chance on my face. I've made a simple mask several times but no matter how I tweak it, my skin has a temper tantrum and has to be put in time-out.

I have awkward skin. Sniffle.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/2/2015 2:53:00 AM More reviews by Sammywammygirl

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

No joke. This is my first review EVER on any face products. I'm 24 years old and have suffered with acne/oily skin since high school. A quick story about my skin so you guys can get a better understanding. I started getting acne at the start of puberty at age 15. I tried literally hundreds of products and have seen dermatologists and still have not been able to "cure" my acne. However, I was prescribed an antibiotic called Bactrim during my senior year of high school and it was a MIRACLE for my skin. I never thought that day would come! I had NO oily skin and hardly ever saw new pimples. I didn't even wear foundation or coverup which was a blessing! Unfortunately, after 3 years of taking it, my doctor no longer allowed me to take it because of the long-term side effects. You guys... I was DEVASTATED! Something that finally worked for me was actually bad for me. I felt so helpless. So, fast forward to a few months later... My acne came back. It slowly crept up on my skin and EVEN MY BACK (which I never got). I was doomed. I went back to trying products again and spent loads of money. Nothing worked. I tried vitamins, and taking the natural route, and still, nothing worked like those antibiotics. After doing many, many, research, I stumbled upon the Aspirin + Honey mask and thought why not give it a shot. I went to Target a few days ago and picked up a bottle of non-coated aspirins and Organic Raw Honey. It cost me a grand total of 8 bucks. Came home, prepped and cleansed my face, then put the potion all over my face. I waited for a whole hour because I ended up watching a movie and then cleansed it off with only warm water. I noticed INSTANTLY a reduction in inflammation and redness. Of course, my two zits were still noticeable, but the surrounding areas were way, WAY less red. It also left my skin soft and smooth. This tells me that the potion is working for my skin. I have been using the mask for 3 days in a row, and I KNOW others have said that it should only be used once or twice a week because it acts like a chemical peel, however, I've seen positive results and would love to continue doing it to see if it would actually "cure" or heal my existing acne. This is still a testing moment, but all I can say is HOORAY. It actually WORKS for me! I am still trying it out obviously but wanted to share my experience with all of you who understand what it's like to have acne. I would also recommend using it as a spot treatment to reduce inflammation and literally shrink the pimple. I will continue to use this cheap and easy potion and HOPE for continuous amazing results (fingers crossed!).

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/31/2015 2:33:00 PM More reviews by damnemperess

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I've been doing an aspirin scrub or mask for years. I have well versed in AHA, BHA, retinols skin care products and I find the aspirin scrub to be the easiest, cheapest, most effective product I have in my cabinet. I don't really have much to say that's different from everyone else accept one important thing i discovered recently ...there is such a thing....as powdered aspirin for humans to mix with water, and for veterinarian purposes so you can sneak it in your pets food. Meaning you can buy pounds of pre0crushed aspirin for much cheaper than pill form. Something to consider if you been using this for over a decade like i have.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/30/2015 11:15:00 AM More reviews by lcoffta

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Oh my freaking goodness. Could this really be the end of an era? Bear with me, as I've got a personal anecdote to go along with this pseudo-review.

There is so much I could say and explain to really get to the heart of my journey and, ultimately, why aspirin proved to be the perfect topical in addition to my otherwise natural skin-care routine. Put simply, I've struggled for years and years with cystic acne and clogged pores, dry skin, hormonal breakouts....all beginning around the age of 20. It has not subsided, and I am 27 right now. Yes, there were good and bad waves, but nothing has been close to "clear" or how I would like it since I was about 19 years old.

I threw out my products (at the time I was using Neutrogena) in my first upheaval at the end of the summer of 2011, and decided to go natural. I was using manuka honey and yogurt to cleanse my skin (one every other night) and things got better-- but not nearly as good as I wanted them to be. I stopped drinking coffee because I figured out it was a major culprit for my cystic acne. I maintained all of this natural skin care (and tested out a few things here and there) but would still breakout, and pretty bad sometimes. I didn't know why, and continued my quest for acne-free skin.

Summer 2013 brought a ton of stress and an even bigger breakout. It was not nice at all. And nothing had changed in my routine! I was internally unhealthy, but figured that was secondary to me maintaining a routine. Wrong. I struggled for the next year, with breakouts, rashes, cysts, clogged pores, dry skin, blotchiness, slow healing...everything. Even cold sores and a few run ins with a sty came up during this time. I just didn't understand. I had tried lots of natural supplements and stuff during this time, but didn't see the light until this past New Year.

I cleaned up my internal life. I rid myself of the mild depression I had been facing because of my face, and decided I didn't give a SHIT (am I allowed to say that here?) who thought what of me. I cleaned up my diet (which had abnormally gone way south in the fall) and started yoga again. I quit a job I hated to do what I loved. I forgave a lot of people. I released my fears (with the help of Louise Hay's little blue book). I didn't wear makeup, and my face was a wreck. I fought, and overcame.

Just when I realized fully that my acne was partially caused by me, I stumbled across the aspirin mask (how did I NOT SEE THAT until this year?!?!) and decided to give it a try purely for exfoliation purposes. Guess what? It worked. Amazingly. It sloughed off all of the years of old skin and de-gunked my pores that had been clogged since I stopped using salicylic acid (the one benefit of mainstream products was the pore-dissolving chemical). I neglected, in my natural care, to exfoliate like I should-- and I think that was a huge factor in the clogged nature of my skin. They would sit there until I was stressed and then decide to rear their heads. Guess what? Not only can you not get acne if you don't have clogged pores, but you can't get acne if you don't allow stress to overtake your life.

Sorry this turned into more of a soapbox than a review, but it is all-encompassing. Overall, this product added the perfect element to my honey and yogurt routine, and now I combine them all in a mask every other night or so. Once I am fully clear (it has been a month since my major breakout and about 2.5 weeks since aspirin, and I am close to clear including fading red marks). It is incredible, and there a plethora of things to thank, mostly my internal healing processes, but I CAN'T discount what a freaking wonder this seems to be. It is JUST enough for exfoliation but not enough to dry out (especially in combination with honey and/or yogurt). It leaves me soft, but not oily. It makes you peel and flake, but only because it is healing old marks you forgot even existed. And yes-- you WILL breakout a little if you have clogged pores, but the only way out is through. You must persevere to see ultimate results. I got a breakout across my forehead when first using it, but they healed quickly and I was just left with slight marks.

I am so freaking happy I don't even know if this review makes sense, or if you will have made it all the way through. Either way, I had to advocate for this routine and share at least some of my story! If you have any questions or thoughts, please message me!! Incredible product for the price and in general. I can't recommend enough

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/26/2014 3:16:00 AM More reviews by lolita97

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

wow. i'm actually really impressed with how well aspirin has been for my skin. I've tried turmeric,coconut oil,activated charcoal,honey,oatmeal, tomato, strawberries, etc! Yet i still cant believe after all these years of trying products this one simple thing worked amazing (and its the cheapest). I buy aspirin from the 99 cents store (why not?) and what i do is i crush a few and add honey and then apply it as a spot treatment or just all over if my skin is bad. I've tried just mixing the aspirin with water but it isn't the same. Anyway, i leave it one for about an hour, while i watch a show. Then rinse and sleep ( i always do it at night). When i wake up my skin is always MUCH nicer, my spots are either practically gone or have shrunk and become less red/irritated. And that's it! it's my lifesaver

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/21/2014 9:10:00 PM More reviews by vanillatobacco

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This never really occurred to me, it's my boyfriend who uses it occasionally. There were a few times he had some weird chalky stuff on his face and I asked what on earth it was and he said it was aspirin. For a little while he had to live in my house (very long story) and left an empty advil bottle labelled "ASA Dec 16" and I opened it and found a bunch of crushed to powder aspirin. Might as well, so I used it. Only as a spot treatment though.

The Good - It totally works to heal pimples. It's acetylsalicylic acid, which using logic I'm guessing is related to salicylic acid. Just mix a pinch of powdered (crushed aspirin, not the coated kind) aspirin with a drop of water and lightly dab it on any acne and by the morning it's gone. I don't really get pimples too often so I don't use it much, but when I've needed to, it's worked great.

Just --- don't use a lot, I imagine it would irritate your skin. For use, just crush uncoated aspirin pills.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/19/2014 7:01:00 PM More reviews by booboondoll

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

I love using aspirin and lime overnight. I crush 3 aspirin pills and add enough lime juice or lemon juice until a thick paste is formed, than a drop of honey or face mask. Than I apply it to my face. Next morning use a wet towel or cloth to remove and EXFOLIATE than apply a gentle cream.

Do this up to 4 consecutive days and by the weekend, your face will be almost ageless.

Also try a pineapple mask. Pineapple contains an acid known to soften the appearance of wrinkles and make skin glow.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/18/2014 7:02:00 PM More reviews by eve33

Age: 44-55 Skin: Oily, Olive, Neutral Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

Wow! Tighter, smoother, clearer skin after only 3 nights of use - shocking. The semi-large pores on my oily nose are invisible. My face is smooth as a baby's rear. It doesn't eliminate redness completely. I smashed 3-5 aspirin in a little bowl, added several drops of warm water, made a paste and slapped it on my skin...left for about 25 minutes while I played with my dogs, and voila! My skin has rarely felt this nice.
Warning: DO NOT let it get in your eyes! Major stinging!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/12/2014 11:29:00 PM More reviews by xXsharlyXx

Age: 25-29 Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Grey

Never in a million years did I think this would work,after reading all the great reviews on this mask I had to try it out. The first time I tried this mask I crushed 8 uncoated aspirin on a plate using only a few drops of water (very tiny amount of water) using a clean makeup brush I applied to my face avoiding my eye and mouth area,I left on for about 10mins before washing off with warm water my skin felt amazing, I've spent so much time and money on products to help my skin nothing has worked like this mask. My acne scars have faded no more brake outs and black heads have totally disappeared. I now use lemon juice instead of water and aloe Vera gel the gel helps to keep the mask on your face without the annoying flaking,and the lemon juice is awesome for oily skin,I now leave the mask on for 20-30mins. I try to do this twice a week the results are shocking honestly you need to give this a go. I wouldn't recommend doing this mask too often tho as aspirin apparently thins out the blood

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No