September 18, 2014 | 1977 users online

Misc Beauty Tools - Neutrogena - Wave Sonic Power-Cleanser



image 0

rated 3.3(19 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.3
  • 57% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.8
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 4/30/2014 7:01:00 PM More reviews by BriCox

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

This product is great! My skin is normally clear of pimples but I get a lot of black heads. After using this for two weeks my skin is softer and there are noticeably less black heads. The gentle exfoliating pads are also good if you want to get a lot dead skin off.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/7/2014 8:56:00 PM More reviews by BeatFaceBeauty

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

WAVE SONIC: WORKS PERFECTLY FOR ME :)
I have been using this for a few weeks now, I brought it at a discount store I shop at it cost me $9.99 and included a 2 wks supply of the cleansing foaming pads and the 2 AA batteries needed to power the device. I have oily skin and wear a full face of makeup on a regular basis as well as problems with Hyperpigmentation, so I need something that deep cleans and expholiates, the Wave Sonic fits my needs perfectly :) I have used this both with makeup on my face/to remove and without. For foundation I use Revlon Colorstay 24 hr and the Wave Sonic cuts right through my foundation,concealer,powder, and whatever else with no problems. When I am wearing makeup I like to use the cleansing pads to clean and remove everything from my skin (If I'm using in the shower I like to flip the pad after I've cleaned my face, go over everything once again and then take it down to my neck and chest, I blend my foundation down my neck so I cleanse there as well) on makeup free days or when I notice my skin is a little dry/flaky and needs to be expholiated I use a cotton round with my own cleanser, which works just as well as the pads. I also love the way that my moustirizer just sinks into my skin after using the Wave sonic :) I have noticed a difference in my skin, its a lot softer,smoother, clear/less breakouts, and brighter, also my dark spots are fading(Also using Garnier Dark Spot Corrector daily). I have noticed that sometimes after i have used this I do end up with a few whiteheads (This usually happen a few hrs after use or I notice them the next morning) Im not too freaked out about it though it doesn't cause anymore damage to my skin and clears up quick, I heard it was just someting called "Purging" which happens to Clarisonic users as well, people say its just all the dirt,oil, and makeup that was trapped in the skin being draw out, at least that's what I heard, and at least I know its working :) Overall I am very happy with the performance of this product and in my case every claim on the box was true ;)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 11/24/2013 1:46:00 PM More reviews by SterlingOcean

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This is awful... I mean, awful... It was so bad that I decided to make a MakeupAlley acount just to tell people not to buy this. I saw this at Kmart and it looked like it would work! It had a good price and the packaging was attractive. I tried it last night for the first time and i woke up today with SIX zits!!! Ugh!! My skin didn't feel clean at all, it actually felt less clean than when i just use face wassh Very frustrating because i have a date tonight and i dont even know if i wanna go now.. -_- thanks neutrogena

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 4/18/2013 6:11:00 AM More reviews by nattiekins05

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

This product is wonderful. Compared to other power cleaners, this one seems to work just right for me. I refuse to spend $40-$200 on a system like this, when neutregena works for me just fine. I use it once a day, whether in the shower or just washing my face. When I am in the shower, i add an apricot scrub to my face- clean away for a total of 5minutes. Afterwards, i use another face cleaner and wash with the wave for another 5minutes. After I am done cleaning my face, I take a rough body scrub and apply it to my arms and my elbows. I run the qave up and down the upper part of my arms (where i have a mild form of roseasea and some small red bumps on my arms) and my elbows. I do this for quite a while- keep working that exfoliator up and down my whole arms and on my elbows (which sometimes dry out, the exfoliant makes it soft and hydrated). On the days that i am not in the shower, I will still exfoliate and clean, put a deep cleaner on an my face and clean and then add an acne treatment and clean. I clean for 5minutes for each step, making sure my whole face is taken care of, my jawline and my neck, and sometimes on my chest if there is a blemish or two (which i sometimes get in the summer time). My face is left smoothe, clean... My arms are left smoothe and really taken care of. From here I will add my vitamin C, my creams and serums- leaving my face feel so healthy and taken care of. I also take the honey and oatmeal baby lotion, and lather it all over my arms, elbows, shoulders, chest. After this, the red bumps are nearly gone, my skin is hydrated, exfoliated and so healthy... All thanks to the wave <3 A small piece of advice for those who do not have a rechargeable kit for AA batteries- spend the money and get one. I have 6to rechargeables, so while one is in my wave, the other set is charging and I can go back and forth without having to spend an arm and a leg on batteries. I use my wave so oftem, i find myself going through batteries every 3 days or so... I know I use mine a lot more than others may, but i promise you it will pay itself off after a couple weeks if you buy the rechargeable kit- this wave eats through batteries like nobodies business. One other complaint I have, is how expensive the refill pads are. I really wish target or wal mart would come up with a generic brand of exfoliator pads, so i could save a liitle bit. One user said that she reuses her pads and only changes them out once a week. That is bad news. Leaving that dirty wet pad and using it over and over again is just asking for your skin to break out. Nobody takes a bath, and then saves the water to bathe in for the next week- so its not a good idea to do that with the pads. I know they are pricey, but its not worth spinning a filthy pad around your face. Just my opinion <3 Man, I kept rambling on and on... i hope that I was able to inform you a bit about this product and how wonderful it is!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/5/2013 12:28:00 AM More reviews by Rlarkin

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I've never been too concerned w washing my face bc I generally have good skin, but this interested me so I bought it. My skin was visibly fine before, but it's even cleaner now. I can see less blackheads and notice more smoothness on my face. I give it a 4 bc I have nothing to compare it to- besides soap, water, and wash cloths :-p. I do think it's great and I don't currently feel the need to invest in anything expensive (clarsonic, for example). I use it in the shower each morning and before I go to bed I use Ponds luminous towelettes to remove make up. I probably should use this before bed, but to each their own. I only use the exfoliator pads 1-2 times weekly(that's as much as your skin needs to be exfoliated, not daily); any more and I'm messing my face up. So I recommend buying the cleansing pads and exfoliating pads and changing it up.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 1/26/2013 11:53:00 AM More reviews by hellothere2013

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Green

Useless if you are accustomed to other facial clothes.

This is not supposed to be a dupe of clarisonic btw. It spins a cloth pad over your face. Clarisomic vibrates up and down.

Pros:
- feels massaging as i use it
- buffs away dead skin cells
- deep cleaning pads feel refreshing

Cons
-Requires batteries
-doesn't feel very powerful when spinning
- cant reach hard to reach places
- not ery economic considering you need to replenish batteries and pads. Just buy facial clothes!

Good for: ppl who want a electonic tool to help exfoliate
Not for: ppl who think this is better than facial clothes. Not for ppl who are looking for a clarisomic dupe.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/13/2012 9:53:00 AM More reviews by naswimbtch214

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Technically, I won't buy this product again as it is battery-powered, but I will be buying refills sooo...

I'm a swimmer. I spend my entire life in chlorine pools, which are drying enough, but coupled with winter air leave my skin looking haggard. Recently, my issue has been tiny little bumps completely covering my face. It feels like chicken skin. A friend recommended this product for me so I bought it. After using it every day since Saturday (it is now Tuesday) my skin is slowly but surely smoothing out and becoming softer. The formula feels a little drying as I'm washing, but with moisturizer my skin feels soft and healthy, and the bumps are fading away.

I do wish it was more exfoliating so I might buy the microdermabrasion pads to refill. It does exfoliate, don't get me wrong -- I just wish it did more.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/10/2012 10:02:00 AM More reviews by Smilygirl008

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I would not buy this product again because it is battery operated. I really like how this massages your face when it exfoliates but it does not exfoliate enough but it cleared my skin mostly in one use. I love this I use the deep cleansing pads. I use it how you are supposed to use it but I might put some extra exfoliating stuff in it. It does not dry out my skin like other people say but I have normal skin. I have hormonal skin because I am a teen because of puberty. I recommend this for hormonal skin that was clear before. I really love Neutrogena. It helps my skin in so many ways. This is my favorite brand (I only use two brands Neutrogena and Maybelline). I really recommend this.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/12/2012 1:32:00 PM More reviews by toriturtle158

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine Eyes: Hazel

Okay so I won't REALLY buy this again, because it's one of those "one time buys". You buy the battery operated cleanser once, and you're done. You only have to buy the cleansing pads once in a while (for me every six months). Anyway, can I say that I LOVE this product? Since I have dry skin, I can only use it once a week (on Saturdays), but goes down waaayyy deep into your skin to cleanse! My skin is smooth and even toned every time I use this product! It can be used on any skin type, as long as you know how often to use it for your type. Overall worth it!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 2/12/2012 2:40:00 PM More reviews by ilovethe80s87

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

The Wave Sonic gets my face squeaky clean. I like that it spins; although I've never used the original Wave, I think that spinning and vibrating would work better than just vibrating. I like that it's waterproof, because let's face it... you're gonna get water all over it. The only thing I have a problem with is the cleanser used in the attachment pads. It seems to dry out my skin if I use it too much (so I only use it a few times a week). I've tried the exfoliating pads, and they didn't exfoliate as well as a facial scrub product. Since I don't like the cleanser in the regular attachement pads, I created an alternative: I used all the pads provided with Wave Sonic device, rinsed them out thoroughly and let them dry, then rubbed some of my personal favorite cleanser on them, and stored them for later use... works PERFECTLY! The reason I said I wouldn't buy this again is because I don't think I will need to; you just change the batteries when the old ones die, so I shouldn't need to purchase a new device for a very long time.

Side note: I was interested in purchasing the Neutrogena Microdermabrasion kit to get some extra exfoliation, but didn't want to pay the money when I already had the Wave Sonic... so I decided to just buy the microdermabrasion refill puffs and use them with my Wave Sonic. I want to let others know that the microdermabrasion refill puffs fit perfectly on the Wave Sonic. It's a cheaper alternative if you need one.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No