Diptyque Olene

3.5

69 reviews

49% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 6/25/2013 6:38:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is my third fragrance from Diptyque. I am not a huge perfume person and though I have an insanely strong sense of smell, I am not super skilled in describing in exact precision what a perfume smells like so bear with me :)

Olene is the goddess of flowers so, as other reviewers have said, this is a pure floral perfume. Jasmine, honeysuckle and the tiniest bit of gardenia are what I smell but to me there is no one scent which dominates.

It is EXTREMELY strong. I had a sample bottle which took me a while to get through. After purchasing the actual bottle I had to realize how much more product you get from one pump vs the tiny sample bottle. I way overdid it the first time I used it and it started to give me a headache. I had to change clothes to avoid getting a headache (and I really don't ever get headaches). My clothes smelled amazing the next day though! So the lesson with is (for me at least) is to use it lightly. A little goes a LONG way. I am glad I purchased the smaller bottle.

Truly, this is a gorgeous scent and I am glad I finally have it.

I miss the old Diptyque bottles. Not a fan of the new oval shape. But I love the labels and those haven't changed.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.



Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Really gorgeous scent - people also comment on my perfume when I wear this, though someone did once ask me if I was making jasmine tea! I agree with some other reviews that at first it is a little strong, but after a moment it is a truly gorgeous smell. So summery, and quite unusual. Adore diptyque!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 12/27/2012 1:52:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Grey

Best points:
-Long lasting with inoffensive sillage, really wears more like an EdP rather than EdT
-Excellent jasmine note - not too ferral like Lust by Lush, but definitely intense enough to please lovers of this flower
-Classy, sturdy bottle
-Good for day wear, especially in the spring
-Perfect for attaining that fresh, clean femme smell

Not so great points:
-The opening note is VERY strong and VERY rotten smelling
-The dry-down is gorgeous but pretty basic; this is a non-distinct fragrance despite the oodles of jasmine
-Left me slightly headachey - beware migrane sufferers!

I bought my bottle for 50% off, which I think was worth it. I don't think I would have been willing to pay full price for this.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 12/31/2011 5:08:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have a big bottle, and use it mainly in the summer when I go to evening parties or weddings. So thatīs why I wouldnīt re-purchase, becuase it is a big bottle. But, I like this very floral and summery scent. Let me tell you a story; at work an iranian woman approached me telling me that I smelled like the garden in her childhood home, of orange flowers. I think it also smells of honeysuckle. Very feminine and a bit sweet.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 11/16/2011 2:25:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I clearly remember the day I first sampled this lovely fragrance- it was a warm, beautiful September day in Stockholm-
As Olene wove a wonderful comforting aura around me, I felt a sweet waveof nostalgia- it took a little while, but then I realized why- Olene is a scent double for Camay, a soap which was very popular when I ws a child- How I loved the softly fragrant pink, yellow, blue and white soap bars with a pretty cameo of a woman's head in profile embossed on them- thanks for bringing back this lovely aroma, Diptyque!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Other, Other, Cool

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

A review below mentions this smells like Mock Orange Flower (which naturally smells exactly like Neroli) but I have to disagree. Neroli is one of my favorite fragrances and I do not find it as the main note here. This is a lovely white floral; a gentle blend of many white flowers, neroli resemblance is down to a minimum, or at least no more than equal billing with the gardenias, jasmines and other white breezes which abound in this fragrance. A beautiful, graceful white flower blend, not unique, not out of the ordinary, but in some way it's more beautiful than most.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 8/26/2010 6:35:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Although they tend to be linear, I mostly love Diptyque fragrances. Maybe I have a short attention span but I quite like one-dimensional fragrances, if the note is interesting, pretty or unusual enough. Olene isn't particularly nice or interesting to me. It's a very loud white "JASMINE!!!! HELLO!!!! I AM WEARING JASMINE!!! DID I MENTION THE JASMINE??" floral.

It reminds me of the 1980s - not Grace Jones and Wall Street, but the "classy 1980s" when it was hip to decorate your home with Pierrots. Thing is, even though it makes me feel like I'm a bob-haired Manhattan gallerist hosting a dinner party with Talking Heads playing in the background, it's not what I want from life in 2010.

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.


on 3/6/2010 4:29:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This should be renamed Syringa, because the scent is a perfect recreation of that flower (Philadelphus lewisii), also known as mock orange. Lighter than orange blossom, with a honeysuckle note. It immediately brings back warm summer days, with white blossoms along woodland paths breathing forth their sweetness.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 11/12/2009 8:03:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I am hooked on Olene and I think in general all Diptyque products are totally underrated. Everyone in America overlooks them which is a total mistake - this is a company that has been devoted to fragrances for 60 years! The fragrances are on the expensive side but last a long time. Olene is a light and fresh narcissus and jasmine scent. I have a special spray technique learned from one of my chic London friends: four spritzes on each arm so the smell wafts out pleasantly as you move but never overpowers.


on 10/28/2008 3:26:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Olene has a lot of white flowers, wisteria, narciss, and for me a lot of jasmin. It is not heavy nor sweet, and though it might be quite simple, it is a perfect uncomplicated white floral, but not a tad boring or too less unsophisticated. The packaging is lovely, the price not so much. I am lemming for longer for it as it gives me a kind of inner strength and good modd to take things more simple:-) I also like Chasse aux Papillons, which is softer and sweeter, but they go in a similar direction.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1359 Reviews
Chloe (EDP)
341 Reviews
Light Blue
1410 Reviews
La Vie Est Belle
156 Reviews
Daisy
544 Reviews


Back to Top