Make Up For Ever Aqua cream - #2 Steel Taupe

4.1

16 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 6/30/2015 4:01:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

USD $23. It's a tiny pot and very expensive, but you need only a tiny amount to achieve maximum effect, so it lasts and lasts. I'm MAC NC20/C2 (very pale east Asian skin), and this looks like shimmery dark taupe/pewter gray, depending on how sheer it's applied. I love how easy it's to get a smoky eye without overdoing it - the more you put on, the more gray it looks. The color also makes my dark eyes pop like crazy. As others know, it's budge proof, water proof, everything proof. I absolutely adore these.

Now, the application - there's no way of getting around it, I found over the years: you must use your fingers. I take a Q-tip, scrape out a tiny amount, seal the jar as tight as I can (this is really important - see below), then put that amount on the back of my hand so I can start dabbing on with my fingers, on bare skin. You CANNOT put this on top of powder or other eye primers, I found, because it'll either ball or dry up like crazy or do something really funky. You can put it on top of liquid/cream foundation. Here's what I do: finish my foundation/tinted moisturizer/BB (whichever I'm using that day), put on the Aqua cream, then use powder/blush/mascara/etc. Also, try to layer it on in sheer layers, as a thick application will crease invariably. A little goes a very long way with these.

Now, for others who complain this dries too quickly: In the years and years I've been using aqua cream shadows, I've never run out, but had to replace because the shadow will dry out before I use up even half of the pot. With that said, you must close the lid tightly to store it. I also keep it in a very cool spot (I actually have a mini fridge in my room for my cosmetics/creams/mister - crazy, I know, but it works for me). I've replaced a lot of these over the years, and when it's newer, it takes over a year before it dries up and has to be replaced. If yours dry up within a few weeks, it means that the shadow was already quite old by the time you purchased it. The ones that have been at the store for a while will develop cracks and start flaking within a month or two. When it's newer, it's blendable and super easy to work with but the blending becomes more difficult as it ages and dries up. I've had the most luck at buying from MUFE stores. The ones I've purchased at Sephora or online tend to dry up faster. Hope this helps!



on 3/3/2015 10:03:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I love this product! This color especially, it works great as either a wash of color that can be built up to full coverage eyeshadow or as an eyeshadow base. It stays put all day, it doesn't come off until I take it off with makeup remover wipes. I did pick this up at "the makeup show" for a mere $6 but I recall that one that I purchased at sephora a while ago was $21-23. Pretty steep in price. Btw this products beats mac paint pots and definitely maybelline color tattoos, this is creamy, no tugging, and lasts for hours.


on 4/22/2012 3:37:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Grey

This truly is a lovely product and color. I use it when my face needs a bit of a lift. I pair it with a peachy blush, and I suddenly look like I am glowing. The color is perfect for my skin tone, so I can't promise the glowing result with everyone!


on 4/13/2012 6:34:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Grey

Colour: Grey/brown/silver shimmer. Application is ridiculous; I tried using both my ring finger and a cream eyeshadow brush to apply and it dries almost immediately! You literally have to have it on your finger/brush and blended on your eye within 10 seconds. Otherwise it dries looking smudged and uneven. Too much work, and not worth the money.


Packaging is flimsy to! MUFE aqua creams come filled in a plastic jar that feels pretty damn cheap and I'm sure it contributes to the product feeling so dry. With brands like Benefit and Mac dumping their product into pretty glass jars, why would someone waste their money on cheap packaging? I know, I know... It's not about the packaging, but I'm pissed off and ranting.


I returned it to Sephora after trying to make it work, along with #13 (warm beige).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/23/2012 12:53:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I think the price is outrageous for what you get, and considering I found a $4 dupe, I'm even more angry for buying these. The German brand Essence has new Stay All Day shadows, and one called Steel the Show is an exact dupe... I think I even prefer it more. It's a dupe in texture, feel, coverage, and shade. It also wears waterproof and sets with no creasing. MUFE might have a better shade selection, but the formula was duped. You're paying for the name brand and the fact that MUFE has to be imported at a high price.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/2/2011 12:20:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Black

I usually apply this as a base for my other aqua creams, or use this in conjunction with a different shade. This alone makes my medium-warm yellow-toned Asian skin look a bit sickly. Lasts and lasts without creasing, fading or smudging. Even with my ultra oily lids, I find I don't need to wear my UDPP under this, and officially certify MUFE aqua creams 'industrial strength'! Yet comes off easily with an oil-based remover. HG eyeshadow line! Just come up with more shades, please!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/30/2011 7:54:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

simply wonderful! so easy to blend and yet so resistent to creasing, it is such an interesting shade, even i just apply this alone on my eyelids using 217 brush - on the side where lighting hits on it appears slight shimmery and bright taupy-silverish, at where the lighting is lesser, it appears like a dimmer taupe. so i can add a little bit more at the outer corner to define the eye shape. this is the first cream eyeshadow i decided to try out after watching Lisa Eldridge's video, i must say i am not disappointed at all, will move on to other MUFE aqua cream in future

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is an amazing option for eyeshadow. I can count on this to last all day, even through a hot, humid and sweaty day at the amusement park. They won't budge until I'm ready to take them off. Shade #2 - Steel is by far my favorite shade that I own. It's that perfect gray that works on nearly everyone. You can apply it with a lighter touch for a lighter wash of color, but in general Aqua Creams are meant to deliver beautiful color with rich pigmentation! I highly recommend these to anyone looking for budge-proof color that will last, even at the beach!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/4/2011 3:39:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is my very first cream shadow, and I really adore it to death. Initially I suspected that mine was a fake MUFE product, but after months of use, and also research I can finally rest assure that it's not. I had a very bad experience when I went to purchase this, I brought mine in Vietnam at the Vincom centre in Ho Chi Minh City, not only was the staff pathetic, clingy and dodgy, the layout of the store was stupid.
I'm sorry if I opened a completely brand new jar of Aqua Cream in No.1 that was actually stock and not display or tester, but WHY on earth would you leave your BRAND NEW products on a DISPLAY stand WITHOUT THEIR ORIGINAL boxes, or even a sign to say please dont open??? At least if they were in their original boxes I would know it's new, or some sort of indication, and just to clear my name, the Jar was opened by someone else before me, who probably thought the same as me.
Now my rant is out of the way, I actually quiet adore Aqua Cream in No.2 from MUFE, just a beautiful colour for that dynamic smoky eye look. Great for lazy people like me who doesnt like sitting at my vanity blending different shades of taupe, silver, gold and black together for my smoky eye.
Just a great colour to wear evening or day, extremely buildable and last all day, and to make it even better its smooth and blends easily.
Will always buy again, but definitely not at VINCOM in HO CHI MINH CITY.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Grey

Sorry to be the lone(ish) dissenter here, but I really don't care for this. I'm *very* fair, and I was hoping that this was going to be the answer to #3, Silver, which I LOVE but which also looks a little bit insane in photos. Either a darker, cooler silver OR a much darker gray that I could have gone smokey with, but as it is this is too warm on my pale, cool complexion and it just is in this weird no man's land of blah.


Maybe I shouldn't give it bad marks just because it doesn't look good on *me*. It's not like the formula sucks or anything. I just basically *hate* this color. If it were cooler, if it were lighter, if it were darker, if it were anything else than what it is. Such a shame, too. These are really expensive, IMO, and I would have been happy with almost any other color --- I wanted nearly every color I swatched when I was last in Sephora. Wish I had spent my money on a different one.




Back to Top