The Body Shop Rainforest Moisture Shampoo

3.2

29 reviews

58% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals
The Body Shop is a Cruelty-Free Subsidiary.

INGREDIENTS

Aqua, Sucrose, Disodium Cocoyl Glutamate, Lauryl Betaine, Laureth-5 Carboxylic Acid, Mel, PEG-55 Propylene Glycol Oleate, Propylene Glycol, Sodium Chloride, Glycerin, Parfum, Polyglyceryl-4 Caprate, Sodium Benzoate, Sucrose Laurate, Isopropyl Alcohol, Polyquaternium-6, Salicylic Acid, Citric Acid, Schinziophyton Rautanenii Kernel Oil, Pentaclethra Macroloba Seed Oil, Sodium Hydroxide, Tocopherol.


on 1/9/2015 11:01:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Really likes this schampoo, my hair looks really nice and soft and also good for my psoriasis scalp.



on 12/21/2014 11:26:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

As I have curly hair I decided to try a sulfate free shampoo as apparently they help to reduce frizz. I find that my roots get really greasy is I don't wash my hair for a while and my ends get dryer (though thats probably due to years of heat damage and dying!).

Whilst I can't comment on the de-frizzing properties too much, as I only shampoo the roots regularly (I'll wash my ends maybe once or twice a month) I have definitely noticed that my hair is softer, lighter and is curling much better than it used to.

I've had no problem with not getting enough of a lather, and if you read the back of the bottle you'd see that it explicitly says to mix with water for the best results. However, I did find that having your hair absolutely sopping wet works better that mixing it in your hands - I tend to put it on immediately after I've moved my head from under the water.

Sure, it's a tad pricey for what it does, but when you take into consideration the fact that it has mostly natural ingredients, and that they don't test on animals, you can see why. It clearly wasn't as cheap as other shampoos of the same quality to make, so it's not going to be as cheap to make.

Overall, I would definitely buy this stuff again - the smell was gorgeous and it left my hair feeling super soft! What more could I want?

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/27/2014 12:02:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

Unfortunately this shampoo does not work for me. I still have some left and I only uses it for travelling purposes. It doesn't clean my thick long hair well. I had to use a lot of conditioner or hair oil afterward. The texture is runny and had to use a lot to wash my hair which is a waste in my opinion. It's pricey too for a small size bottle. My scalp became itchy and my hair is dry still. I eventually went back to Sunsilk Silky Smooth/ Dove Nourishing Oil care.


on 6/3/2014 12:35:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I really love this product. Smell so good and my hair is better when i use this!


on 5/18/2014 10:40:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This was the very first organic shampoo I used. And I felt the results after the very first shower, my hair felt so much lighter after the shower. I did have a very hard time evenly distributing on my shoulder length hair. Thus, you end up using quitr a lot of it. The scent is lovely and calming! However, after that I felt like it didn't do much for my hair, didn't make it softer like how I wanted it to, neither did I get the sheen I was expecting from using an organic product. Maybe I was expecting too much haha! The price is ridiculous for a product that doesn't deliver too much.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought this product alittle while ago after I ombred my hair, it's great because I can lather it up all over my head and not worry about sulphites,silicones, parables or any nasties like that. I find it very gentle and nourishing to my hair buy I only use it little and often because I feel it doesn't clear all the junk out of my hair like other shampoos. It has a great herbally scent but I don't find that it lingers much further than the shower.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/1/2013 11:58:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Olive, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Very decent shampoo. Is not drying to my curly hair. Lathers well without sulfates. A little goes a long way, so it is economical in the long run. Finally, I love the smell, it is kind of honey/herbal.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/6/2013 12:42:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I bought this becuase my hair is super damaged of bleaching. My hair is short and blond and I have stopped bleaching. It does not make my hair feel any better. It lathers poorly. I will use the bottle but not sure I will repurchase. I do like how John Friedas purple colored shampoo for blondes makes my hair feel, even though thats not sulfate free.


on 8/11/2013 1:10:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Green

I bought this product when it was on sale to try it. Otherwise, it's quite over-priced for a product of its quality. It's the first sulfate-free shampoo I've tried and although I don't have anything to compare it to, I'm not impressed.
The smell of the shampoo is nice, kind of relaxing and not very strong. I've gotten compliments on the smell of my hair since I've started using it. I love that the shampoo is all natural, but that's about it.
It does nothing to help dry damaged hair. I've been using it with the matching conditioner, and I'm almost done both bottles, but it hasn't even made my hair shinier. I have been heat-free for almost 2 months yet my hair is dryer than ever! The shampoo has also made my hair flat, and I use to have thick, puffy hair. Lastly, it doesn't lather very well and I have to use almost double the amount of shampoo than I do with other brands.
I wouldn't recommend this product to anyone or use it again after I find a sulfate free shampoo for dry hair that actually works!


on 7/28/2013 8:22:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

My hair type is thin, curly and dry with a normal scalp. I've read reviews saying how sulfate free shampoos are really nice for hair types just like mine, making your hair softer, curls more defined and less frizziness so I started to research which sulfate free shampoos were available in my country and start trying them just to see if I noticed any difference.

I finally decided to buy a travel size of TBS Rainforest moisture shampoo after reading good reviews online. The travel size only contains 60 ml that allowed me to use it about 4-5 times. I feel like it wasn't long enought to have a solid opinion and I do feel like I have lukewarm feelings towards it.

The first thing I noticed was the smell- it has a very pleasant honey scent (but it doesn't linger) and the product itself is quite liquidy. However, when it came about working the product on my scalp, it felt a bit thick and difficult to distribute evenly. It also makes a poor lather, but that's normal with a lot of sulfate free shampoos.

About detangling I think it was a bit more difficult, but I couldn't notice a big difference. It did make my hair soft but I noticed it would get oilier a bit sooner.
I don't think I'd repurchase again because I'm still new in this whole sulfate free shampoos and I need to try out more of them.




Top Rated The Body Shop Products

image

Facial Buffer

31 reviews
Back to Top