December 21, 2014 | 1620 users online

Polishes - Butter London - Aston



image 0

rated 4.1(16 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.1
  • 68% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.4
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 7/22/2014 11:30:00 PM More reviews by Shanplum

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

Gorgeous - I would consider this a neutral shade - it leans cool in the bottle but it warms up once applied (I am very pale but with golden undertones), the perfect blend of rose/toffee/peach and mauve with a pearlescent shimmer which gives it depth and dimension but doesn't appeal foiled or overly metallic. Looks so classy really flatters my skintone. I am drawn to these types of shades they suit me so well yet are so hard to find. A step up from nude, yet works with every type of clothing/ocassion/jewellery. Dries fast, opaque in 2 coats, minimal odor but the downfall is the wear time - this brand is not very long lasting unfortunately and I get tip wear several hours after applying, chips within hours which let's it down I am on a quest to find this shade in an OPI formula!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/6/2014 9:23:00 AM More reviews by jany177

Age: 36-43 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

I was originally hesitant to buy this dusty brownish rose color because it looked a little "safe". But I hadn't yet realized that Butter London's polishes (especially those containing micro shimmer) really come to life on the nails. This polish was pretty in the bottle, but the gorgeous sheen of the micro shimmer, and the feminine, classic pinky-brownish rose tone combined somehow look gorgeous, like a million bucks on the tips of your fingers, and different from any other polish in this color category. I originally thought that OPI's Gouda Gouda Two Shoes might be a dupe, but they are not the same at all. This color formulation is unique, and it applies like a dream. I'm so happy I picked this one up.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/20/2014 3:01:00 PM More reviews by auburngal

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I almost never wear deep or opaque polish on my fingers but I had to try this one out. I haven't seen a color like it offered by anyone else. Someone mentioned Ulta Ginger Peach, but that's a really warm peach color. Aston is much cooler and more rose.

On my fair cool (NW15) skin, Aston comes out almost a rose with brown undertones and a subtle shimmer. Opaque in 2 coats (which I usually do anyway) and it dried quickly. I always use base coat (Jessica Reward) and top coat (Essie Good to Go). I like the thin consistency and found the polish easy to apply. The bottle is very cute. The brush is pretty standard; I certainly got even coverage in 2 coats.

If I ever ran out, I could see rebuying.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 11/4/2013 8:25:00 PM More reviews by polishandprejudice

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I received Butter London Aston in a giveaway and wasn't convinced of its prettiness from the bottle. After applying it, I'm more unimpressed.

Aston was very sheer for me, and was only just opaque in three coats. While the colour, in theory, is pretty, as a young person I felt that it was a polish meant for older women as it was very neutral and conservative. When I was wearing it, it really got me down, but if you enjoy wearing nude polish this might be a nice one for you.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 10/3/2013 2:45:00 PM More reviews by crickett85

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Green

First of all, despite the fact that I bought Aston, I got it as part of a collection and was actually thinking of either swapping it or putting it on eBay before I even cracked the seal. I was afraid the colour was going to appear too salmon against my somewhat cool toned very fair complexion.

I decided to give it a try first and I am very pleased that I did.

Base Coat: butter LONDON Flawless Basecoat Nail Foundation

Application: It's THICK. This is hit or miss on butter LONDON (or American Apparel or almost any brand for that matter) and it dries FAST. So, I applied a coat and, by the time I had finished the first coat on my last finger, my first finger was already dry to tap and I could easily apply a second coat. I applied the second coat because, although thick, it did not dry completely opaque.

The second coat also dried fast and not completely smooth. This helped make my decision for a top coat. I needed a top coat that I was sure would smooth out any irregularities in the nail polish.

Top Coat: Seche Vite. This top coat dries fast and will smooth out any irregularities in your nail polish. Unfortunately, it is not vegan, has toluene in it and stinks. So, if any of that bothers you, I could probably have used the butter LONDON top coat and the result might have been a little less perfect but vegan and toxin free and without the possibly migraine inducing stench of Seche Vite.

Results: A beautiful elegant neutral-but-still-definitely-there nail polish in a rather light toffee shade that glows just a little but not in a cheap way. I got a lot of complements on this manicure including inquiries into what brand and shade it was.

Wear: Three days with pretty heavy use before I noted my first chips at the end of one nail. Those were easily repaired with touch up and a new top coat and you could not tell the difference. Total wear of 5 days. I could have made it last longer but I have a LOT of nail polish and I was dying to get to another shade.

Packaging: I LIKE the two lids. My reasoning is this. I tighten up that inside lid and put the outside lid on and I have NEVER had a leaky butter LONDON. Have never packed one and shipped and had it leak, have never travelled with one and had the cap loosen and polish leak. And the squared off bottles line up so well for storage and packing. So I give 5 lippies for packaging.

This is a shade that is neutral enough to wear to the office but not boring. It has good wear time and can withstand washing your dog and getting packing tape stuck on it (several times) without chipping.

I highly recommend butter LONDON Aston and will definitely repurchase if/when I run out (given that I have a lot of nail polish the chances of my running out of one are pretty slim but this one I would repurchase, it's sort of like BL's Yummy Mummy, a staple)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/8/2013 10:21:00 PM More reviews by 3110hello

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

One of my favorite pinkish neutral polishes, this Butter London color is one of my favorites. I like the consistency of their polishes and there are several that are staples in my stash of many. I can wear this color at almost anytime and feel like it compliments my hands. Highly recommend.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/14/2013 6:07:00 AM More reviews by chiara11

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

ASTON is a unique color, it has a slightly brownish toffee tone but also some rose in it... not too rosy, not too brown, somewhere in between, and with small silver glitter... very elegant! I just found it not that easy to apply, it takes 2 coats... otherwise very nice!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/10/2013 3:08:00 PM More reviews by kirbipittman

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

Another amazing shade from Butter London. I adore this color and have found it to be my newest "go to" shade. It's sort of a terracotta color with subtle sparkles. Usually I stay away from sparkly shades but I really love this one. The formula is wonderful. Not a bubble or streak in sight. Would most definitely repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 12/1/2012 9:06:00 AM More reviews by NYCBeauty99

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I like how this polish applies. It is nice and smooth and not streaky. I wasn't a fan of the color. It's a medium plummy brown with a suble shimmer. I did notice quite a bit of chipping by the third day of wear. Since I'm new to polish, I don't know if this is normal. For $14, I would think it would wear a little better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/27/2012 9:08:00 PM More reviews by ilovemacchiato

Age: 36-43 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

This is the best color for long or short nails - for people who don't like too much glitter or youngster looking colors. I like the consistency, I only need two coats, its a great color! For a polish thats very similar in color and a little cheaper try Ulta's Ginger Peach.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No