August 27, 2014 | 1716 users online

Lipstick - Revlon - Super Lustrous Creme - Demure 683

rated 4.0(71 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.0
  • 73% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.1
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 8/25/2014 6:40:00 AM More reviews by xxxomichelle

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This has become my go to everyday lipstick, I just love the colour so much! A beautiful peachy pink with gold undertones that I feel is perfect for those who are pale with yellow undertones.
it's slightly glossy (but not too much to look like you're wearing a lipgloss) which means it doesn't dry out my lips, and while i'm not a fan of anything frosted i make an exception with this because it's so subtle.
lasts a good while, defs not a long wearing stain but you'll get a good 3-4 hours out of it without needing to re-aply.
I love the packaging for all of revlons super lustrous lipcolours, the black and gold casing isn't as flimsy as other drugstore brands and looks so chic. The clear panel on top makes it so easy to find in my makeup draw as well.
At $22 AUD its on the pricey side for a drugstore product (but then all of revlons products are on the pricey side for drugstore brands i feel) but you can usually get it on sale in some sort of way (the best is the 2 for 1 lipstick sales) but that being said if i was to run out of this tomorrow or lose it i would still repurchase this for full price

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 8/23/2014 7:50:00 AM More reviews by Zanita27

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

This was part of the fire and ice collection a year or more ago. I grabbed this as fire and ice I can't pull off. So this color is a creamy peachy nude. It is very subtle and frankly looks well with my warm complexion. Right now its the perfect nude for me and enhances my pale lips. I like that there is no brown in this to muddy it up or to muddy up your complexion.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 6/4/2014 8:34:00 PM More reviews by lilysdoll

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love this lipstick. Its just the perfect peachy color for me. I wear gloss over it. I honestly will repurchase this. Its become one of my go to lipsticks.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 6/4/2014 8:14:00 PM More reviews by kyl77

Age: 36-43 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

I ended up with this lipstick, because I was admiring Amber Valletta's lipcolor on the June cover of Allure Magazine. While I'm sure she wasn't wearing Revlon, the magazine recommended Revlon's ColorBurst Lacquer Balm in Demure to recreate the look. Of course, the store didn't carry the Lacquer Balm, but they did carry the Super Lustrous Lipstick in Demure. I figured for $6.00 bucks I'd pick it up, and I'm glad I did. Although this is displayed with the peach and orange colors, it's really a peachy pink that is MLBB. This is that rare warm pink that looks great with red hair. I'm so glad I picked this up. I know I'll reach for it a lot. It's perfect for days when you want to look pretty without looking over the top.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/26/2014 7:57:00 AM More reviews by JazzyDazzle

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I got this lipstick on discount at the pharmacy for NZ$ 4.00 which is a complete steal because Revlon lipsticks usually retail for around NZ$ 22.00. The full price is ridiculously expensive, but I would still recommend this lipstick at full price.
This lipstick has a sheer, slightly frosty finish. It is a gorgeous peachy pink with gold micro-shimmer. This lipstick is perfect for everyday because it is comfortable to wear and stays on for around three hours with drinking (no eating). I should mention that, even though it has a frost finish, it doesn't give you the dreaded frosty-mouth look. It gives your lips a very natural, healthy shine.
There isn't any detectable smell to this lipstick at all which is a plus for people with really sensitive lips. The texture is smooth and glides on easily. The pigmentation is lacking, although that's not necessarily a takeaway; you can reapply easily without looking at a mirror.
The lipstick case is your classic black and gold Revlon case which I really like. The top of the case is clear, so it's easy to locate the shade you want. The packaging is sturdy and looks very elegant.

Summary:
Pros:
- Smooth, creamy consistency
- Sheer coverage, mirror not required for reapplication
- Elegant, sturdy packaging
- Not scented
- Looks natural, perfect for everyday and all occasions
- Decent wear time
- Is not drying

Cons:
- Pricey in New Zealand and Australia
- Hard to get hold of in certain countries

Recommended to:
- Women on the go who don't like applying lipstick with a mirror
- Women on a budget or looking for good drugstore lippies
- Women with sensitive lips
- Women looking for MLBB shades
- Women who want their lips to look glowy but hate lipgloss

(and by women, I mean pretty much everyone. If you're a dude and you wanna wear lipstick, by all means go ahead :P )

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/1/2014 10:39:00 PM More reviews by JustCakey

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

This pink is beautiful, light, not quite nude, a bit rosey, peachy. A couple swipes of this color and I was swooned with it's delicate, classic kind of beauty. I wish it was a little bit more creamy, the lipstick isn't really ALL that super lusterous, (why I took away a lippy.) I put on a little bit of chapstick with this lipstick.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 2/15/2014 11:12:00 PM More reviews by blushie

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This colour is so lady-like, subtle and is almost the same as my natural lip colour, so I feel comfortable wearing it during the day. The texture is very creamy and silky, and it sits lightly on the lips-even when you put on a few layers, it never looks cakey or heavy, which in this case is good since it needs a few layers. This might be an issue for people with more pigmented lips than me, but being pretty ghostly white, I don't mind. Plus I love the texture so much I really enjoy applying it. I'm currently on Roaccutane (accutane), and it's so hard to find lipsticks that don't enhance or aggravate my dry lips even more, it's a nice change to wear something other than plain lip balm. I got this half price in a closing down sale, but i would buy it again full price, as it far surpasses some lipsticks I've bought from department store brands. I'm really sad to see that it's LE though-I'll need to start rationing myself!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 11/15/2013 12:19:00 PM More reviews by jianing23

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I bought the Makeup Forever lipstick N37 Rouge artist for 23$ and i thought it was kinda pricy, i then went to walmart and went on a dupe hunt!
turns out that Demure is like almost the EXACT dupe! woo and itwas only 6-7$
yay for revlon :)

**EDIT: its extremly sheer i find, and i have kinda pigmented lips so it doesnt turn up well sigh :(

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/30/2013 2:09:00 PM More reviews by dlbaker

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

I came across this color when I saw that Alexa Chung wears MAC Shy Girl (saw a beautiful pic of her with nude lips and smoky eyes). This color was listed as a good dupe, since Shy Girl is d/c. I have SUCH a hard time wearing pale nude colors. I am freckle-faced fair to medium but have lightly pigmented lips; thus lots of lighter color tend to make me look dead. I think I finally found a peachy nude that does not! Mostly creamy, slight sheen but not glittery (another problem with the lighter colors), feels good on the lips. Color comes out perfectly peachy pink nude without being too much of anything. Glad I found it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 8/27/2013 12:23:00 AM More reviews by Rachel1234

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

Demure: A slightly peachy/pinky/flesh color with soft golden micro-shimmer.

Texture: Very moisturizing, luminous, glowy finish.

Demure is NOT: Not frosty. Not very pigmented, but still too peach/pink to be nude.

Demure IS: A true MLBB color. Same exact color as my natural lips, but the luminous golden micro-shimmer add a pretty, glossy, glowy shine. Very pretty. Very natural looking. You could wear this alone with nothing else on your face, and it would look beautiful and natural. You could also wear this with a big bold eye, or bright blush, and it would look perfectly balanced. Easy to wear with anything. :)

.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No