September 23, 2014 | 1967 users online

Hair - Mane 'n Tail - Conditioner



image 0

rated 3.9(162 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.9
  • 75% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.4
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 8/27/2014 1:40:00 AM More reviews by lushlife505

Age: 30-35 Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

Really enjoy this line. I used it when I was younger and silly me thought I should use other products. I am not back to using this and love the shine and softness it gives my hair.
Even after the first wash you could see a big difference. I love that the scent is not a fruity one and LOVE that the scent lingers on my hair well after washing, none of my others do this.
I use it on my daughter who is now 6 and she has super long healthy haid well past her bottom. We have to keep trimming just to is doesn't get any longer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/8/2014 3:54:00 PM More reviews by BrightEyes001

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

I really like this stuff! My hair is baby fine and quite thin, so it breaks off easily. This is a protein conditioner so it helps strengthen my hair, but if I use it too often it makes my hair drier, I think they call it "protein overload", so I alternate with Matrix Conditioning Balm. I'm not a fan of the smell, it smells like cheap liquid hand soap. And I have to use a lot of it since it's thin and watery, but I only paid $2.50 for it and I bought two 16oz bottles so the price is justifiable :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/3/2014 11:35:00 PM More reviews by anotherwise

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

Two bottles and counting. My hair loves this stuff. It only means one thing: I am part horse! :D

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 6/19/2014 4:28:00 PM More reviews by kyl77

Age: 36-43 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

I just picked this conditioner up at Kroger's along with the matching shampoo, Each was only $5.99 for a huge 32 oz bottle. I actually read the directions for once, and I'm glad I did, or I wouldn't have kept this on nearly long enough. According to the directions, you need to leave this on between 1-2 minutes. I think a lot of people who complain of dryness while using this product aren't keeping it on long enough. I also discovered (through the magic of reading) that this can be used as a leave-in conditioner. Wow, cheap and versatile!

So this is how I use it. First, I cleanse with the matching shampoo. Then I spread a quarter size amount of this through my short hair and wait approximately two minutes before rinsing. Then I towel dry my hair and add a dab more conditioner to my hair as a leave-in. Finally, I blow dry. The result is super soft hair with plenty of body.

One thing that impresses me about this conditioner is the protein in the form of hydrolyzed collagen. According to what I've read, if the protein isn't hydrolyzed don't even bother, because it's just going to get washed down the drain. Hydrolyzed protein is broken down in such a way that it's small enough to attach to the tiny cracks and fissures in the hair shaft making the hair stronger. Just keep an eye on your hair. Some hair is "protein sensitive" and becomes dry if it gets too much protein. In which case, you'll need to rotate this conditioner with other non-protein conditioners.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 4/26/2014 6:21:00 AM More reviews by Reservechic

Age: 36-43 Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I don't know how they can call this stuff a conditioner, when all it did was dry my hair out horribly. My hair was left a very dry and tangled up looking hot mess! This line is horrible.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/20/2014 6:13:00 PM More reviews by laurennr23

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This is my HG conditioner. It makes my hair so strong, soft, and shiney. I have curly hair and my curls absolutely love this stuff. It adds the perfect daily dose of protein to help stop breakage and calm frizz. I would say that this helped my haor grow, however it has also made my hair more texturized or curly so it doesnt appear to be much longer which doesnt realy bother me cause my curls look fuller and prettier overall. And i know it will be really long if i straighten it. The one thing i dont like about this is the smell. It smells very natural and earthy (which means there's no perfume in it to dry your hair out) but i dont mind too much because the smell doesnt linger in my hair. Definitely recommend.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 4/20/2014 3:33:00 PM More reviews by peachyyyy

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

This conditioner is cheap but not very good. I've used it for the past few months and have gotten split ends far quicker after my trims than before, probably because this conditioner is not moisturizing enough. It's not terrible, it just hasn't done anything.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 3/15/2014 11:52:00 PM More reviews by kiwigal99

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This product is all over Youtube. People really love this and the matching shampoo. So I saw it on sale for 2 dollars for a HUGE bottle of conditioner (they were out of the shampoo) so I grabbed it.

It looks like yellow yogurt. And it has the same consistency, kinda watery. It smells weird.

As a rinse out conditioner, it does nothing. I feel no difference and my hair doesn't feel moisturized or softer.

As a leave-in, it makes my hair feel sticky even if I only use a little.

This might work on people with thinner hair, but not on me. I need a bit more moisture than this.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/18/2014 9:49:00 AM More reviews by lidyachu

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I use this conditioner together with the shampoo. This conditioner does a good job for my hair. It makes my hair smoother and manageable. However, I am not sure about the hydrating effect.

The texture of this conditioner is quite thin. I usually applied this conditioner in the end of my hair, as my scalp is really oily.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 2/5/2014 2:50:00 PM More reviews by lovelymallie

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Other, Coarse Eyes: Blue

I have used this with the shampoo (I LOVE the shampoo), but this one... Just doesn't work for my hair!

My hair is dry, damaged and tend to get frizzy easily.
This conditioner did almost nothing. It was okay, but my hair just needs something with a lot more moisture. I found my hair to be not soft or smooth at all after this.
This conditioner is also really thin and runny in texture, and I prefer thicker conditioners or masks since they most times moistruise the hair much better.
(the macadamia hair masque is my fave, together with the tresemme natural condioner)

- If your hair is on the normal/oily side or is just healthy itself, I think this would work great for you! However if you need something heavy moisturising, this isn't it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No