December 22, 2014 | 1711 users online

Hair Styling Tools - Goody - Spin Pin - Brunette

rated 3.9(7 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.9
  • 71% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.9
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 8/3/2014 12:03:00 PM More reviews by akPhilly

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I seriously don't even know what I'd do without these, they are truly a lifesaver & a must for anyone with medium to long hair. I have very long hair, & my hair is 'slippery' I guess I'd say, like it doesn't like to stay put & bobby pins & hair pins just do not stay in, it's like my hair spits them out practically! Even if I hairspray the bobby pins/hair pins, they just don't stay in. Not to mention that even if they did, I'd need about a zillion of them anyway to make a bun or any other updo. With Spin Pins, 2 of them hold all my hair, & my hair is nearly to my waist & somewhat on the thicker side as well. You can use them for basically any style that involves making a bun-a sleek bun, a messy bun, braided bun, any sort of braided style that's incorporated into a bun, etc. I have even used them to make a french twist with. And my hair feels secure, & stays put. In the commercial, they advertise how it makes the 'undone' bun easy & fast, but you can also use these to make a very sleek bun, I do it all the time, I just style it when my hair's damp. I even use these when I'm working out, & my workouts are tough and very high energy. Since my hair's so long, a ponytail I feel gets in the way & is uncomfortable when I'm sweating, so I love that I can keep my hair totally off my face,neck, & back with these & have it stay put throughout the entire workout. Like seriously, these things are a godsend & I'd literally cry if they ever stopped making them! The directions say you don't need to rubber band your hair first into a ponytail before making the bun & it will stay, & that is true, but if you want extra stayng power, I'd suggest trying it where you make a ponytail first with a hair-tie, then twisting into a bun & spin-pinning it. They're only about $6 at the drugstore, so I highly suggest trying them!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/14/2013 8:04:00 AM More reviews by maliciousdelicious

Age: 36-43 Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Not sure why there are separate review sections for the colours but anyway...

I have frizzy, knotty, incredibly difficult hair so I anticipated some problems in getting these pins to spin in. Lo and behold. I can't believe how easy it was to get them in and out, and how secure and comfortable they feel, unlike hair clips that are tight, pull your hair and also easily visible.
I have yet to try this on other styles apart from a high bun, but since this is my usual style, I'm quite happy even with this.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/4/2013 6:05:00 PM More reviews by glamourdoll

Age: 36-43 Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

My sister gave me these as a gift. I have Asian hair (read: silky straight, almost slilppery). Whenever I attempt to put up my hair with bobby pins, they go in but just as quickly, the bobby pins slide right out. Shortly thereafter, my hair falls down. Enter these spin pins! I just twist my hair up, as tight as I can because it will come loose soon enough, and then screw in one spin pin. Ta-Da! My hair is up and done. These are a little expensive but they work really well for me. I lost the pair I had so I went and got another set. Definitely worth trying especially if bobby pins do not work fo you.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 8/4/2011 1:36:00 AM More reviews by IslandGirlSPN

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I was perusing thru my July issue of Allure mag & this hair pin was listed in there as a must have item. So I immediately went looking for it & found it at Wags for around $7. I had high hopes for these pins for some cute flirty updoes but was disappointed to read the instructions inside to make just a plain messy bun (or a not so cute looking double bun thing). For most of my life I've had very long thick straight medium coarse hair. It's been easy to just twirl my hair using itself to create a secure bun with or without an elastic. If I simply wanted just a messy bun then I have most definately wasted my money. The pins are neat though & they do hold well. I admit I haven't gone online as per instruction to find out about other styles but I'm not going to hold my breathe thinking I'll find anything that will
Wow me. Also I know it says to be careful not to interlock the 2 pins so knowing my clutzy self might accidently do just that one of these days. Overall it is a decent product that works well but nothing that my own hair or a plain cheap elastic wouldn't do for me already.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 4/4/2011 8:36:00 PM More reviews by sesame57

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I heard so many rave reviews from YouTube gurus about the Goody "Spin Pins," so you can imagine how eager I was to get my hands on these simple little wire tools. Fortunately, Longs Drugs was having a 50% off sale on selected Goody products a couple of months ago, so I was able to find this hot ticket product. In fact, I got the last box for brunettes.

The box contains two spin pins with instructions on how to use these pins to create a bun. The spin pin is essentially a metal wire shaped into a cork screw with a open bottom and closed off top. You create a bun by twisting the each spin pin starting with the open side on the top of the bun and from the bottom of the bun. Just two spin pins will hold your bun together. The instructions say for best results to use the pins without an elastic hair tie. Just two spin pins are supposed to hold your bun securely.

For context, I have medium to long hair (my hair falls is just below my shoulder blades) with gradual (not chunky) layers. The pins are relatively easy to insert into your bun, but you do need to be careful that the two do not become twisted and caught in each other (as cautioned in the instructions). I tried a bun with and without a hair elastic. I found that while my bun held more securely with an elastic tie, the spin pin can easily get caught in the hair tie.

If you are expecting to create a tight and perfect bun out of this product, then this is the wrong product for you. These spin pins create a loose bun, and, due to the layers in my hair, created a ton of loose strands poking out of my bun. While I liked the loose bun look, I didn't feel like these would hold my bun securely throughout the day and ended up placing a few extra bobby pins for some added insurance.

All in all, I thought these pins created a good look for me for the weekend or evening look (with a few extra bobby pins and lots of hair spray), but not so much for work. My office enforces a strict dress code and a loose bun doesn't quite measure up to my office's standards as the donut bun would. Thus, I am glad that I bought it, but can't totally rave about it either. It all depends on the kind of look you are going for.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/12/2010 5:23:00 PM More reviews by hallready

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This product is a godsend! The little pins are easy to throw into your bag and have on hand if you ever need to throw your hair up in a quick bun, which I often do in the summer time or at work.

Easy to use and create a classic style. They don't tug or pull on the hair, either.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 10/17/2010 7:41:00 AM More reviews by ayngemac

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

These were a big fail for me. I have really long, thick straight hair, maybe that's the problem. These are corkscrew shaped hair pins. You get two in a pack for six bucks, and they had blonde and brunette colors. But these slid right out of my bun. Maybe my hair is just too slick, and it works on folks with curly hair. I don't know.

Is this review helpful? Yes No