December 21, 2014 | 952 users online

Sunscreen - Peter Thomas Roth - Oily Problem Skin Instant Mineral SPF 30



image 0

rated 4.1(9 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.1
  • 88% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 2.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 4/25/2014 12:45:00 PM More reviews by timothybcat

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I really like this product, but as many others mentioned, the packaging is horrible. I could hardly stand using the it not too long after I opened it. For one thing, the brush is terribly scratchy. For another, it gets really grungy because there's no way to clean it! Another reviewer mentioned that this problem would be solved by selling this with a removable brush head, and then selling refills, and I think that's a brilliant idea. I think they should sell better packaging for this rather expensive product, which is $30.00 for just some powdered zinc oxide and titanium oxide! And it's for people with oily skin? Icky brushes are doing us no favors.

Other than that, the product worked well. It's nice to be able to touch up sunscreen later in the day without having to mess with your makeup. It's perfectly translucent and very fine, so it didn't look chalky at all. It mattifies beautifully.

It's such a shame that the product packaging ruins it for me. Until they come up with a better method (and a brush that doesn't feel like a Brill-O pad), I won't be purchasing this again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/18/2014 11:46:00 AM More reviews by Hotpookas

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine Eyes: Blue

Sunscreen is such a dilemma when you add makeup to the equation so I'm really grateful for the powder kind. This one doesn't look cakey or orange like the SPF 45 from sephora or bare minerals. I would give it 5 lippies if the brush wasn't so scratchy and wants to shed everywhere because it is very inconvenient to have to make sure there aren't giant black hairs on your face. I put mine in the bare minerals brush on SPF dispenser which has a nice soft brush and some in a loose powder container to apply at home. I'd suggest just buying the refills and doing this. Overall tho this is good stuff esp for those of us blessed with the type of skin that moisturizes itself.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/13/2013 8:39:00 PM More reviews by fenimore

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I have that classic clog/acne prone complaint: almost all sunscreen - or sunscreen containing products - make me look greasy, clog my pores and cause tons of obnoxious breakouts. Protecting the skin from the sun, sure, but at the cost of stressing it out and inflaming it in a different way - there has to be a better way, right?

I grabbed the PTR sunscreen powder after narrowing my possibilities down to either a powder sunscreen or a serum - I figured those two delivery methods had the least chance of giving me the classic cloggy sheen that most SS does.

Well, I'm happy to say, this one works perfectly for my skin! Absolutely ZERO clogs or breakouts, and it's actually mattifying so the greasy look isn't an issue. The powder is fine and truly translucent - I also don't have an issue with it sweating off personally, even during this spectacularly muggy/hot summer. I wonder if the previous reviewer's issue with the powder falling and sweating off may be related to the type of moisturizer/makeup they're applying this over (or if they are applying it on fresh skin?) or if it's just a YMMV thing. For me, the powder stays put and keeps my face dryer/more matte than it would be otherwise.

It would be a perfect product if it weren't for the packaging. Like others noted, you can't see how much is left (though the opaque packaging is necessary, so this isn't a huge issue I suppose) - but more importantly, you can't wash the brush. If you use this over makeup, you'll get residue on the brush and you won't be able to wash it off. If you put it in your purse for touch-ups during the course of the day, you'll probably get some oil and buildup on the bristles. The only thing I can suggest is carrying blotting papers and using them prior to touch-ups with the brush, but even that isn't the ideal. Also, over use, the bristles do begin to shed. Hopefully PTR will figure out a way to package this that solves those issues, as the product itself is wonderful. Maybe removable brushheads or even selling the same amount of powder (for same price as currently, ofc) in multiple smaller containers so that the brushes don't have as much buildup before you move on to the next? Just... do something to address the brush problem and this could be perfect!

Bottom line: if you've been skipping sunscreen because it clogs/breaks you out or makes you super greasy, try this before you give up and go without SS!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 3/14/2013 8:13:00 AM More reviews by maliciousdelicious

Age: 36-43 Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love the concept of a physical sunscreen that mattifies my oily skin, and that I don't have to wait for it to activate (unlike chemical sunscreens). Unfortunately, I found that this blocked my pores and caused more problems than solutions for my oily problem skin. I have almost given up using powders on my skin, even finely milled ones, as they always seem to block pores.

Apart from that, it's quite easy to use and is not visible on my dark skin. However:

- I went to Goa for a holiday and I felt that the sea breeze was pretty much blowing the powder off my skin
- When I got it in the mail, a lot of powder had spilled out into the cover so it's not the best packaging
- You can't tell how much is left

Update: So although I started reusing this in a pinch even though it had been lying in my bag for a while (often open because of the crappy lid), I now really like it. It actually calmed my skin out after an inflammation and it keeps my skin matte all day. No sign of a breakout either. Will stock up on my next trip to the US.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/12/2012 12:12:00 PM More reviews by kondrey

Age: 30-35 Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Like many, I've been on a quest to find the perfect product to help with my oily skin. Nothing really seems to fix my problem, but I have found that this does help extend the time that I'm NOT shiny. I live in a tropical environment with extremely high humidity so I get oily quickly. I like how convenient it is, I can throw it in my purse and go. As for the SPF factor, it works well too. We have sun over 330 days a year and I have yet to get burned on my face, even after being on the water. I do find that I have to reapply it a few times a day in order to help control the oil, but it never appears caked and doesn't settle in to my creases. It is a bit expensive for the amount you get, but for oil control and SPF, it is WELL worth the price. I will always keep some on hand.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/20/2012 1:09:00 AM More reviews by serenseren

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I am absolutely loving this as a day to day physical sunscreen powder that I can wear over makeup and easily top up during the day without fear of getting in a streaky mess. It goes on like a very fine powder, and while I have found this version does mattify skin very well, it feels very light and not at all drying. For reference, I have slightly oily / combo skin that can react and break out to random products, and I have found it very difficult to find a sunscreen that doesn't clog and cause breakouts. I love LRP Anthelios spf 50, but living in the UK and working indoors, I don't feel the need to wear it everyday, and besides, I trying to fit a cream sunscreen / moisturizer / serum etc into my daily routine gets a little complicated! I love with this brush, I can just swipe over the top of my done face, and know I am protected with the added benefit of setting my.makeup.

The only slight cons (but nothing enough to lose a lippie) are that it could be difficult to tell how much product you have applied or when you need to top up, the brush can't be removed for washing (but its such a light, fine powder, the brush doesn't get cakey or anything), and it's fairly expensive for the amount of product you get ( 23 in the UK). Nevertheless, its so convenient and good at what it does, I will definitely repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/26/2011 3:04:00 PM More reviews by iguana2002

Age: 36-43 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse Eyes: Brown

Was impressed by this sunscreen's performance: Didn't expect much as it seemed to give out too little powder (couldn't see it on my skin or see much powder on the brush). Until I fell asleep a good 20 min in full sun and during the hottest part of the day, and still didn't get burnt or tanned from it. It's pricey and as other reviewers mentioned, the brush can't be taken out to clean or replace, but so far no breakouts which makes it a winner for me. Didn't cake the whole day and gave a nice, matte finish.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 7/9/2011 3:54:00 AM More reviews by Remykat

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Black

Very expensive. Lousy packaging. Buy again? Hell yes.

This is a physical sunblock, so it's stable and there's no controversy about the ingredients. However, being a physical sunblock, it has titanium and zinc dioxides as well as mica (which can be issues for some skin-types).

I found this to be non-irritating, convenient, and extremely effective. Maybe it was because it was so easy to use and it didn't leave a thick, white paste... but I began actually using sunblock regularly! This formula also mattifies well and doesn't cake when being reapplied during the day.

If I could get a hold of the company, I'd tell them to make the brush removable. That way you could WASH it and eliminate any hygiene issues which would probably extend the expiration date of the product.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 10/8/2010 6:00:00 PM More reviews by scopingforyou

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

PROS: Finally, a sunscreen my ppp teen's acne-prone skin can tolerate.


CONS: Can't wash the brush, which isn't great for acne/oily skin. But that is what makes it convenient/portable; the powder comes up through the brush. Also...I can't knock it down to a "5" when I haven't found anything like an alternate spf that has absolutely NO tendency to break her out. Can't buy it a grocery store; have to get from Sephora.


******This isn't the one by PTR that has color. This has no makeup/color. It is simply spf.*******

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No