April 17, 2014 | 1437 users online

Liquid - Maybelline - Dream Satin Liquid



image 0

rated 3.5(105 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.5
  • 61% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.9
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 3/13/2014 2:27:00 PM More reviews by StrawberryHead

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I have used it for years, especially when I was younger. Now I'm using Clinique's pricey foundation which is very good, but this Maybelline is still good for its price.

It fits my dry skin,it's soft, well blending, covers well and leaves a natural look!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 2/5/2014 7:50:00 PM More reviews by jdarvs

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I am very pale and have always struggled to find a foundation that doesn't make me look pink or orange.
My current foundation which is by GOSH is absolutely perfect but it's out of stock at the moment so I had to buy a different foundation including this Dream Satin Liquid in Light Porcelain 004. I was very disappointed as soon as I applied it to my face as it was ridiculously pink. It did have good coverage but I would not recommend this to any pale person unless they want their face to look slightly sun burnt.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/19/2014 1:28:00 PM More reviews by becka1991

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Kinky, Fine Eyes: Brown

I Love this foundation!, this is one of the only foundations that actually caters for lighter skin tones , I normally find even ivory can make me look orange especially in the winter months , but Maybelline make the colour Light porcelain , the Price for this foundations is usually around £8 but sometimes Sainsburys/Asda have it half price or Boots and Superdrug have it on a buy 2 get the 3rd free on products so normally i stock up , even without the offers i would recommend, its great if you have dry skin and it would probably work just as good on combo skin also as said before i find the range of colours to be very nice and no horrible orange undertone which most foundations have ,it stays put all day without being to thick on the skin so definitely light enough for everyday use ( with setting powder ) , 10/10 and this is coming from someone who has take years to find my perfect foundation .... P.s the only downfall is that when you start getting to the end of the tube the pump dose not reach the bottom so its best to take that off so you can use every last drop of foundation :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 12/18/2013 2:17:00 PM More reviews by Andiec100

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Ran out of my usual foundation so ran to the nearest pharmacy to see what they had, tried this and thought that for the price it could be a good buy. At first I really liked it, it is very smooth and the coverage it offers is great. However, this coverage is short-lived. The make up tends to fade away very quickly after application (doesn't look great even after just three hours on the face). I have really pale skin so I got the Ivory shade, it was a small bit orangy which I HATE in foundations as my skin has more of a pink pigment. I used the entire bottle because it wasn't the worst foundation - I even wore it on a night out and it looked fine. Having said that I wouldn't buy it again, it just doesn't last long enough, needs constant touching up and tweeking, doesn't make you feel the most comfortable. But for the price you really cant complain!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 11/1/2013 5:55:00 PM More reviews by elenaxxx

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Dream Satin Liquid....this name is not fitting, perhaps Nightmare Suspicious Liquid would be better suited? I expected a lot more from this 'pore less look' achieving foundation. I tried applying it using a foundation brush, my fingers, a sponge but nothing can make it look nice for more than ten minutes after application. Firstly, I put on my oil free moisturiser I did use a primer which I thought would help to make the makeup last longer and help to give even coverage. Instead it glided on....and off. It did not last long at all and wore off even faster when outdoors. As well as that it does not tone down any red blemishes and the makeup that remains cakes on any dry skin or spots and forms lines on my skin which I know I don't have as I'm only a teenager. I also found it clogged my pores. While at first it felt nice and smooth on it made my skin even more oily than it originally was after an hour, therefore it created blemishes. While it was not the most expensive makeup and I did buy it on sale I now know there is usually a very good reason why foundation is on sale. Caveat Emptor- Let the buyer be ware.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 10/6/2013 12:50:00 PM More reviews by Sagerina

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

OILY!!!!!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 10/6/2013 7:56:00 AM More reviews by polivv

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I've had an absolutely terrible experience with this foundation. There are practically no yellow undertones in the light shades, and they didn't match my skin well at all. I have dry, clog-prone skin, and this foundation clogged me up so much over the course of just a week, I spent 4 weeks trying to reverse this.

The texture is liquid mousse, it seems like a good thing initially, but when you put it on it's way too thick, doesn't blend easily, be it with a blending sponge or fingers. It's supposed to be moisturizing, but what it actually did was emphasize every imperfection, cling to dry patches, look cakey without even being layered, and after a few hours sit into lines I don't even have. I'm only 20 years old, and it made it look as if I have moderate smile lines and forehead creases. I have no wrinkles, but this caked onto my expression lines like nothing else. It also made my forehead very oily, and blotting just took the foundation off. Powdering was out of the question because it already looked very cakey.

I've tried many ways of making this foundation work for me: heavy moisturizing beforehand, no moisturizer at all, primer, no primer, oil-based moisturizer, water-based moisturizer, sponge, fingers, blotting, no blotting - nothing managed to make it look decent. And the coverage isn't even that good. Weak medium at most, not buildable.

The only positive things are the pump packaging and the fact that at least it isn't too expensive. I've tossed it in the trash, which I never do with makeup I don't like, I usually give it to friends who can use it, but I wouldn't "inflict" this foundation on anyone. I've moved on to the Bourjois Healthy Mix, and I haven't looked back.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/19/2013 5:04:00 PM More reviews by RoniRamone

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine Eyes: Brown

I like this product for when I wear make up at night before I'm about to go out, because it does make skin look poreless and it doesn't have any SPF. A lot of people say it's bad for pale skin but I am very pale and I think it works great with my skin

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/15/2013 11:39:00 AM More reviews by Perksofdannielle

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I can't remember how much this product was I think it was something like £8 and I was buying the maybellines bb cream and it was buy 1 get 1 free, so I got it for something like half price. My original foundation was Rimmel match perfection in shade 010 (the lightest shade) I have a very light skin tone. When I saw the maybelline foundation looking at the packaging straight away the shades all looked too dark and slightly oragnge, but I got it anyway because when I came back from holiday I would have a tan. I bought it in shade 004 I think it's called. It's a tiny bit darker than my skin but blended well it looks fine, when set with a powder has a great matte look, and when not a fresh dewy finish. I like this foundation because its a medium coverage and I like when my foundation feels like a mask I hate light coverage foundation. So if you want a nice high coverage then this should be perfect for you. Lastly I really like the packaging as you can see how much you have left and glass packaging always seems to make foundation stay fresher, I also love the fact that its a pump. I like to apply with my real techniques buffing brush.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 9/12/2013 12:29:00 PM More reviews by pretty1np1nk

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

made my face very oily and greasy looking! easily rubs off into clothes! wouldnt recommend!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No