November 23, 2014 | 1244 users online

Pressed Powders - Burberry - Sheer Powder



image 0image 1

rated 3.9(7 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.9
  • 42% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 5.0
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 11/26/2013 6:05:00 AM More reviews by jewelmeow

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

burberry's powders have the best textures - they are very finely milled, easily picked up by a brush and makes you feel like a million dollars when you apply that on your face. This powder is sheer, and goes on translucent - it sets your makeup and makes your face feel silky smooth. It gives a smooth, radiant finish. Unfortunately this isn't enough for me in terms of mattifying power since I have oily skin, however in the cold months when I am not as oily, this powder works wonders for me. I would highly recommend this powder to people with dry to normal to combination skin, but if you have very oily skin, this powder won't be for you.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/26/2011 1:21:00 PM More reviews by BeccaRose89

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Just bought this product and was so excited as I took it out of the very classy box to reveal a very chic velvet pouch containing a GORGEOUS comptact and brush. This is what pressed powder compacts are SUPPOSED to look like. I never understand when companies don't package things nicely, because it is a huge selling point for alot of women, because you take your compact out in public/the powder room and so you want to show off a bit!
The powder is devinely soft and leaves a nice, invisible velvety finish.
The smell is not for everyone. I wouldn't call it outright babypowder as other have. I think it's very similar to some of the Burberry fragrances.
If you want a pretty compact to take out with you, buy this. It's quite expensive ($59 CAD), but I love the whole idea that Burberry has pitched with their brand new beauty line - iconic, casual, yet very sophisticated!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/16/2011 9:11:00 PM More reviews by darkmist

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I have the sheer powder in No.1 Porcelain. I found this to be a great setting powder - I swirl my kabuki brush a couple times and set my foundation with this and it lasts a good 7 or so hours. While so shine does start coming through, it's more of a natural dewy shine rather than an "eww oily face" shine. The packaging is also soooo gorgeous and the mini brush included is really nice. However there is SUCH a strong baby powder scent that when I first opened mine I sneezed (At the counter when the mua used it on me, I didn't smell anything). The scent is so strong that I took away 1 lippy. If the product wasn't so great, I'd definitely return it for the overpowering scent. While overall a great product, the price for this is really steep. Probably wouldn't buy again since I'd want to see if I can find a comparable/better product for a better price.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 11/22/2010 1:21:00 PM More reviews by eanj

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

I bought this at Holt Renfrew a couple of days ago. I love the packaging, but the product itself just did not work for me. I have very fair skin w/ cool undertones and neither shade of powder really worked. I took #2, but it was too dark. I also found that the powder kind of sank into my pores. I will go back to my translucent NYC powder, which does a great job of mattifying at a fraction of the cost.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/1/2010 11:12:00 AM More reviews by Ldv15

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

I bought this powder the 1st week it came out in Canada! The packaging is what initially attracted me to this product. It looks so sleek and elegant and also, I love the fact that no one really has it right now :P

I personally found the smell very elegant and the coverage is great! My skin felt soft and smooth after application.

The price is definitely steep (around $80 including tax) but definitely worth the purchase!

Just be careful not to drop the case b/c I dropped it once and the lever broke :( But I still love my broken Burberry powder!!! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/9/2010 3:11:00 AM More reviews by flowix

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium Eyes: Black

I'll just go ahead and say it: the price for this sheer powder was very steep, it costs almost as much as the foundation. However, my MUA was such a lovely lady, and by purchasing both items I was able to join the Burberry Beauty membership so I ended up going for it.

Unlike the previous reviewer, I actually really love the scent of this powder. It reminds me a little of how baby powder would smell like - which is lovely to me, but obviously off putting to some others. The smell DOES fade within minutes after application though, so I don't see how the scent would be a problem...

The product itself is SINFULLY soft, seriously when I was playing around with the testers at the make up counter, I had a huge spaz about how buttery soft this product was. It is LOVELY <3

I ADORE the packaging, it looks so... decadent! And it came with a lovely velvet pouch and brush, I got this in Porcelain No. 1.

There is SO MUCH product in this, but because of the steep price tag, I'm not entirely sure if I would repurchase it, or try a different brand (been itching to try NARS loose powder).

I brush this on with a brush from Bonjour (a local HK brand) which is basically a MAC 150 dupe and it sets my foundation flawlessly. REALLY loved this, especially the plaid imprint on the powder. Will be extremely heartbroken once I use enough to fade the plaid imprint.

Definitely worth a try at the counter, might not be for everyone but obviously Burberry is a luxury brand and the price will be a factor depending whether or not you purchase. Personally loving it!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 8/20/2010 12:31:00 AM More reviews by dreamspice

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I got this powder sight unseen via a swap. Given that Burberry's marketing has been all about casual, natural, but luxurious beauty, I thought I would LOVE this sheer powder. Especially the packaging is SO gorgeous. Seriously the most beautiful pressed powder package I've ever used. It comes with a to die for brush. Too bad the fragrance was SO sickening and strong. Seriously old lady smelling. Not at ALL what I was expecting. I'm really disappointed - I had such high hopes for this brand. I'm a sucker for beautiful packaging but the product has to perform, too.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No