LUSH Gorilla Perfume - Lust

3.9

69 reviews

71% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 5/14/2015 3:42:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got the solid version in a small tin at $16 in Singapore. The smell reminds me of the LUSH Godiva solid shampoo that I used years ago. So it's a nostalgic scent for me. I love jasmine/oriental scents in general as I find the musky smoky scent mysterious, unique and exotic.

This solid balm has very good staying power and the smell doesn't turn sour over time.

Recently I developed a skin allergy to perfume sprays. So far, my skin doesn't react to this! At $16 it's a good purchase, very reasonable price as the solid can last a long time I think.

The tin is convenient, just pop it into your bag and touch up whenever you want! 2-3 swipes on the surface is all you need to perfume your wrist and the area behind your ears.



Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

This is my all-time favourite perfume and my signature scent. I am not particularly fond of mainstream perfumes (celebrity, designer etc) because I find the sillage isn't that impressive on my skin and also because many of them all smell the same to me - overwhelmingly sweet, fruity/floral and very girly.

This is a divine smelling dirty and warm jasmine scent that comes through strongly on my skin. This doesn't smell indolic, sensual or sexy on me at all - it's sophisticated and more grown up than other floral perfumes because it's not sickly sweet. It's extremely overpowering and heady when applied at first but mellows out into a sweeter jasmine after an hour. Personally, I love the initial smell I can't really smell any of the other notes (ylang ylang, rose, sandalwood, vanilla) because the jasmine is so dominant. This has amazing sillage and is one of my most long-lasting perfumes (along with Lush's 'Sikkim Girls'). It lasts for 7-8 hours and I can still smell it at the end of the day.

A warning I'll like to give: as other reviewers have previously stated, it does leave a light red stain so I suggest spraying it onto bare skin or dark clothes.

I am on my second bottle of the 10ml spritz. A 10ml spritz lasts me 4 months. To date, this is the only perfume I have ever repurchased and the only perfume I've ever finished. It's always with me whenever I go out. My friends (guys and girls) all adore this perfume on me after it's mellowed. Surprisingly, most friends think I smell like milk tea. Very few can smell the sweet jasmine top note. "I smelt bubble tea after you walked in. Did you have Easyway or ChaTime? Was that you? I want some! " Easily my best compliment to date. I highly appreciate this scent on 20 year-old me. For me, this stand-out scent is the perfume equivalent of an engima, wrapped in a riddle and surrounded by mystery. Its flirty, bold and alluring scent delivers for me and I will always have this niche scent in my collection.


on 2/6/2015 9:57:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Kinky, Fine

Eyes: Black

This is indolic jasmine dialed right up to the nth degree. It's sharp, biting Jasmin Jasmin Jasmin...& did I say you get Jasmin? I love Jasmin but Lust never settles down on my skin. It never really melds with my body. This is Jasmin with claws & unfortunately she never sheaths them.

EDIT: Two hours later this dried down to a warm, sensual less screechy Jasmin. Very sexy but you'd have to be patient. I'll add one star for the sexy dry down but it loses points because of the scary 2hr wait for it to mellow out

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/23/2014 1:48:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This is my absolute favorite scent. In the world. It is so sexy!! It is definitely strong on immediate spray, but within an hour, it dials back to be a perfect warm, cozy perfume. I spray it immediately after my morning shower, so by the time I'm at work (2 hours later), it smells just right!

My children all love the smell on me (I love this - my mom has a special smell too that I just adore and brings up good memories every time I smell her ... hope that's what this perfume is for my kids).

It is jasmine absolute, so a muskier deeper fragrance than jasmine gardenis (spelling?). It's not light and floral, but heady and dark. It wears so well, really all day long without fading. I can't say enough amazing things about this perfume honestly.

I am not a perfume aficionado, so I don't know how to describe this perfume in the "right" way :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/14/2014 4:46:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I wanted to love this, a no-holds-barred unabashedly jasmine jasmine, but alas I can't do it. Each time I've sampled this I've sprayed myself once in the shop and then gone for a walk. It's just too over-the-top indolic to be fit for public consumption. The last sampling session, I brought my husband with me, and he was literally repelled by me for the next hour or so. Like literally pushing me away and embarrassed that I was in public reeking of Lust. I wear a lot of weird scents but none has provoked such a strong reaction. If you love this scent (and I enjoy a little jasmine but waaaay dialled down from this) then do the public a favour and bask in its glory at home!!


on 8/3/2014 7:04:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really love the solid version of Lush's "Lust" perfume. The main notes are jasmine, ylang ylang, rose, vanilla and sandalwood. I am not usually one for floral perfumes, but I rubbed this on my wrists and found that the effect with my chemistry is that it is lightly sweet, warm and complex. I purchased it a couple of days ago and find that just a dab on my wrists well blended and rubbed into my neck is perfection. Just enough to smell and feel sexy and confident without having people be able to smell me from a mile away. The price is $10.95 which I feel is very reasonable - particularly in comparison with other perfumes. I'm a little conflicted about the packaging. It looks cute and travels well. I also find it very useable. The salesperson at my local Lush showed me what to do so that I don't accidently "push up" too much product. I would definitely prefer a twist up version of the packaging though. Overall 4/5.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Two words best describes this: STRONG and FLORAL

I adore this perfume. It is all heavy, luscious floral notes with no chemical afterburn. It's like dipping your head into a blooming Jasmine shrubbery with secondary notes of rose, vanilla and sandlewood. This stuff packs a hell of a punch, so one spray rubbed behind the ears and on the wrist is all you need. The smell is almost overpowering when applied but it mellows out nicely within the hour and lasts throughout the day (It interacts with my body chemistry well but this may not be the case with someone else, so you may want to buy the tiny bottle before commiting to the larger one).

I hate most perfumes, especially strong ones because I get an allergic reaction but I am crazy about this one and it doesn't give me the sniffles!

I know that it's not cheap, but most perfumes are expensive anyway so you might as well splurge on a great one. The packaging is nothing special but when it comes to perfume it can come in a 99 cent spray bottle for all I care.


on 5/30/2014 3:11:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have been in love with Lush's Happy Happy Joy Joy conditioner, and was SOOOO happy to find this perfume, because it smells almost identical on me!

I am not crazy about the scent on initial application, since it has a very strong plastic-y smell to me. But that wears off within a minute or so. Longevity on me is very good, as I can smell it the next morning as i wake up :-)

Packaging wise, I am not crazy about it, but given how affordable it is, I'll take take the generic, no-frills packaging.

If you like Happy Happy Joy Joy, or a sophisticated take on Gardenia, give this one a sniff.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/17/2014 4:24:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

HOLY GRAIL this makes me feel confident and gorgeous. it's sexy...and wow, just perfect. i love jasmine smells, and this is outrageously jasminey. everyone who i am around when wearing it says it smells sexy, which makes me feel even more wonderful. i love it, it makes me think of a femme fatal in a tight floor length burgundy dress who has diamond jewels... this literally makes me feel like i'm in a film noir. people on here are saying it's tacky and pornstar like....NO, it is sophisticated. what sort of porn star would wear something so grown up and sensual?
give it a go!


on 4/30/2014 10:23:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm

Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have very mixed feeling about this Perfume!
I absolutely adore the scent in itself. The pure heavy natural jasmine wrapped in other fine essential oils. I think it beats Chanel no 5 and many others!!

But I can't stand the name "Lust", the red colour that have stained my clothes, wall and now some drops on my Mapple bathroom floor, because I tried to spray the perfume into another prettie glass bottle because I don't like the black painted bottle either and the black paint have started to peel off.
I think it is the name and the red scilly colour that makes.the scent "cheap"!
Give it a new name ...PLEASE. A new simple beautiful bottle and make the colour more amber like and Lush would make a masterpiece in my opinion!

OR make it in a refill bottle so I can pour it over in amother bottle, so I don't have to hide it in my bathroom closet, afraid someone might get the idea that I bought it in a porn shop :$
....Just do something, because the scent in itself is beautiful.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1363 Reviews
Si
36 Reviews
Chloe (EDP)
341 Reviews
Gucci Guilty
127 Reviews
Light Blue
1411 Reviews


Top Rated LUSH Products

image

Dorothy

28 reviews
Back to Top