Laura Mercier Daily Face Shield with Adaptogens SPF 40+

4.1

14 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredient: Octyl Methoxycinnamate (7.50%), Titanium Dioxide (5.00%). Ingredients: Water, Cyclomethicone, Butylene Glycol, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Dimethicone, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Titanium Dioxide, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Caprylyl Methicone, Polyacrylate-15, Polyacrylate-17, Glycerin, Panthenol, Dipropylene Glycol, Silica, Sodium Chloride, Methicone, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Acanthopanax Senticosus (Eleuthero) Root Extract, Caprylyl Glycol, Rhodiola Rosea Extract, Rhaponticum Carthamoides Root Extract, Alumina, Phenoxyethanol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Disodium EDTA.


on 7/8/2015 7:07:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This was my favorite SPF for years and then the cost of it made me stray to other brands. I recently rediscovered this and I still feel that it is one of the very best sunscreens for sensitive skin. I can't wear avobenzone at all. I had an awful reaction to one of the new ones La Roche Posay was hyping. I find their Athelios line to be highly irritating and burning. So no chemical sunscreens for me, sorry. I can only use mineral-based SPF.

Also, I love Laura Mercier's Daily Face Shield as an alternative to Laura Mercier's Tinted Moisturizer because it has no added color (so you can apply any foundation you like over it), you double the SPF rating, and the finish is better for combination skin.

PROS:

Titanium dioxide sunscreen is broad spectrum and suitable for sensitive skin

Does not appear chalky

Although you can feel it initially it dries to a weightless feel and can be worn under foundation

Not too heavy or creamy making it ideal for combination to oily skin

Skin feels soft and silky

CONS:

It's not ideal for oily skin.

$45 for an ounce is very expensive.

You have to remember to shake the bottle before dispensing it.

SUMMARY:

I really love this sunscreen and was able to use it even when I was having contact dermatitis, redness and swelling. It seemed to calm my skin rather than aggravate it.

I don't mind that it's a little runny - I think the thinness of it is what keeps it from feeling thick or heavy.

If you have very dry skin you may have to use another moisturizer with it because it isn't thick and creamy.

If you have very oily skin there is always a slight risk that mineral sunscreens can contribute to breakouts. (If the finish of this one is not matte enough for you, SkinCeuticals Physical Fusion UV Defense 50 has a drier finish, but it is tinted and the tint may be too dark if you have fair skin.)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 6/11/2013 4:56:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

Overall I really like this sunscreen, but I have a few niggles with it that stop me giving it top marks. My main niggle is the price, it's expensive for an ounce of sunscreen. I go through sunscreen (and this one in particular as it's so light and slippy) like gangbusters so if I bought this again it would be a spendy treat. Mercier products are pricey and usually you're getting quality for your money. This is quality, but for the price I really want SPF50 or above for a high end, high price sunscreen, and at SPF40 this comes in a little low for my liking. I also wish it lasted longer. I'm still on the hunt for that perfect sunscreen.
As I say it's light and slippy and I worried that I wasn't getting enough coverage to properly protect me, however it does seem to have stable and efficient sun protection despite it's lightness of feel. It's oil-free but it is siliconey, so I can see this either not being a good idea for oily skin or perhaps interfering with your preferred skincare/makeup routine. I enjoyed it's light feel under makeup and the silicone helps makeup glide on smoothly with none of the heavy stickiness of many sunscreens. Another plus is that it leaves no white cast and doesn't look like you have sunscreen on. It's good for sensitive skin. I just seemed to use this up very quickly so it's a bit too pricey to be my everyday sunscreen, but I would repurchase, it's certainly a reliable option.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 2/6/2013 12:34:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I don't have mega oily skin but it doesn't take much to push it over the edge. For that reason, HE sunscreens like this are a good investment because I don't break out and they don't run out quickly. I first tried this a few years ago in a promotional sample kit with the coconut scrub and eye serum. Would gladly have purchased full sizes of any of them but the flawless face shield won me over hands down. The sample alone lasted for weeks, and I was using it everyday. The liquid is kind of sparkly and opalescent, smells expensive, and absorbs super fast. You only need a fine layer and you're protected ... Totally worth going for the 1 oz! Gotta love Laura Mercier face products; I seriously have yet to be disappointed.


on 6/2/2012 10:49:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Was using this for awhile, and liked it then... but just switched to La Roche Posay Antehelios Ultra Light spf 60, and it's soooooo much better than the LM! The LM is greasier, takes longer to "set" to matte, gets greasier as it wears, so makeup disappears, and it also gets "sandy" feeling if you sweat. Check my review of the Antehelios - it wears sooooo much better under makeup, almost like a primer! Colors stay true, my makeup stays on. And it's cheaper, with a higher SPF. So I won't be buying the Laura Mercier again, too expensive for what it is.


on 5/28/2012 6:58:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Divine: oil free, lightweight, readily absorbed, wearable under tinted moisturiser and all with a decent SPF of 40 devoid of whitecast. What's not to like?

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/30/2012 11:10:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

this is an amazing sunscreen! im all about layering my skincare and ive tried many expensive sunscreens such as jan marini's sunscreen, skinceuticals sunscreen (ive used both their skincare systems. currently on skinceuticals), peter thomas roth sunscreen etc. this one outstands them all! ive got oily skin all year around and this one is perfect for me as its not heavy or sticky. its smooth, easy to blend in and most importantly - it doesnt break me out! :D will re-purchase this forever.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I'm not a big fan of layering multiple products on my face, which means that in the summer everything gets nixed for sunscreen. Until I met this product. This is the only sunscreen I am able to wear with foundation or TM (make sure the sunscreen in the TM or foundation you use doesn't make this unstable). It works as a great primer and doesn't bead or splotch even in hot weather. I wear on my chest as well if my shirt is cut low, and I haven't had any breakouts down there. I have dry skin and it is a little drying on the coldest days of winter, but the rest of the time it is fine. I am in love.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/21/2012 8:23:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am returning this product. I was told that this is a day cream with sunscreen. I noticed that my skin still felt a little dry after I put it on. When I read the packaging carefully, it said that this be applied OVER moisturizer. I am not paying $45 for sunscreen only when I can get a combination day cream with SPF. I was misled by the saleswoman, which is disappointing.


on 11/14/2011 10:47:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love love love this product. It is a runny consistency but leaves the skin feeling silky smooth. A little goes a long way. It is awesome under makeup and can be used instead of a primer. It's oil controlling and supposedly helps your skin adjust to extreme climates. I like that it is SPF 40 and feel extremely lightweight. Definitely recommend.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/9/2011 12:35:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

D*mn this is expensive and yet worth every penny for me. It doesn't cause ANY type of irritation, breakouts, or greasy oil slick. It works as both a light moisturizer and primer. It helps my foundation go on even more smoothly and last longer. I think it is slightly water resistance because even when I perspire I don't find that it breaks down. Also, no white cast :)

It is a very runny liquid. The best way to spread this without using half the bottle is to make sure your face is slightly damp. I spritz water lightly on right before and it works great that way. I dab it on forehead, cheeks, chin and spread then go back and do around the eyes with a teeny bit more. Sinks in quickly.

Pricey, but def HG for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top